Wild and Untamed–for the most part

I’m always thinking about my garden. Often it’s the tidying up that preoccupies me. Where some climate zones provide respite, we in Southern California continue to witness growth and change over the next few months, perhaps less so than in the active growing seasons, but it’s a mistake to think the maintenance can be deferred indefinitely.

I was reading one of my favorite books, Stanley Kunitz’s “The Wild Braid,” a beautiful reflection on the poet’s century of gardening and his words connected. 

“The garden is a domestication of the wild, taking what can be random, and, to a degree, ordering it so that it is not merely a transference from the wild, but still retains the elements that make each plant shine in its natural habitat.”

The Wild Braid

Sometimes I’m a little overwhelmed at my wild. And how to handle the domestication?

I am in close connection with the Theodore Payne Foundation (TPF) not just for the purchase of the native plants, but also for education. I don’t have years of experience with native plants to fall upon, and as the season turned from summer to fall I wasn’t sure of the “when and how” of pruning.

Bee’s Bliss Sage, Salvia Leucantha, Allen Chickering Sage, and Mexican Bush Sage are predominant anchor plants that serve as backdrop to an array of lavender, herb and succulent species. 

Plants continue to grow and begin to crowd in a tumble that surprises me. I cut and trim and before I turn around the plants continue to put out new shoots. The insect population keeps the birds well fed. One of the things I have had to adjust to is not cutting back too severely. The plants can take it, but the instruction I received at TPF was to live with a little chaos in benefit of other living organisms.

I’m full to almost overflowing, but there are pockets around the property I’m yet to fully transform with natives. And with this in mind, I was off again to the Theodore Payne Foundation for one of their highly anticipated fall plant sales.

I enjoy my visits to this non-profit organization “run by a collective of plant lovers and optimists with big dreams,” in Sun Valley, California. I always come home with plants, books, seeds, and enthusiasm for expanding my knowledge in support of sustainable and ecologically sound gardening practices.

I did come home with packets of wildflowers in anticipation of a colorful spring. Every year the California Poppies planted a dozen years ago in my garden return and being self-sowing I let them go to seed before I pull them up. I’m trying to weigh months ahead of time if I have the energy to “tidy-up” again if I more liberally sow a wildflower “prairie” among the established plants. 

If we have anywhere near the rain we had last year we may be treated to another gorgeous superbloom. With some planning today I can create a miniature meadow! Well, I can’t dream of a white Christmas, so…

45 thoughts on “Wild and Untamed–for the most part

  1. >>>to live with a little chaos in benefit of other living organisms<<< I can see how this might be a problem.
    I love your approach to a domesticated, native garden and from what I can see, you must have exceeded your expectations. I can't wait to see what you are going to plant next spring. Don't ever feel overwhelmed by your 'wild' side. 🙂

    • Thank you, Frank. I’m grateful that I can still do the work involved. We have lived in this house for 49 years…not that my physical capabilities have changed much. Ha! 🤣

    • Thanks, Ray. I will give Darwin some of the succulents. He likes that. But I have to be careful with most things because I really don’t know what he can tolerate. This summer he’s been enjoying a steady diet of watermelon rind and he’s been very happy. He is starting to slow down quite a bit, and his version of hibernation will begin soon. I get credit for giving up a great deal of gardening space to this crazy guy! LOL!

  2. So why not dream of a field of golden joy and then bring it to reality ?! 🙂
    I’m glad you have a super place for advice (and occasionally solace), dear Deb; having a plant provider you can trust is worth knowing you’ll never again have a banker you can .. imnsho, that is. [grin]
    Let it just – go ! I have friends with a small rising back garden who do nothing to it but a bit of weeding, every now and then – and only a bit. It’s heaven, their garden; and yours doesn’t need much more before it too can become part of the celestial spread.

    • Thank you, Andrew. You do experience more winter than I do. Sometimes I really wish the growing season was a little shorter, to be honest. It feels like we never get a break. LOL! But I also completely understand it when you say you’re already planning for spring. People who don’t enjoy gardening probably think that’s a little early for those thoughts. 😉

  3. A lot of work, but a lot of pleasure too, Debbie. Those poppies are fabulous! We only have a small space so I have to make do with the ‘real wild’, almost on my doorstep. Thank heavens I don’t have to look after it!

    • There is pleasure in getting my hands dirty, Jo. We’ve been in this same home for 49 years, and the work that it takes for a large space was a little easier when I was 22! LOL! I will keep at it until I can’t. 😉 And if you had more work to do in this area it would take so much time you might miss out on some of your adventuring, my friend!

  4. If most of the garden pictures show your garden, you have it well in hand, Don’t plan your meadow. We have a carved out backyard on the farm. We use it to BBQ, sit outside and grow flowers. It even has a lawn. I bought two packets of English garden flowers. I just tossed then on a piece of the lawn. A couple of weeks later we a had ton of wildflowers.

    • The photos are taken from the front yard, and my thought is to scatter poppy seeds among the paths. I wish I had a crystal ball about rain this year, but I can experiment. Your backyard sounds lovely. I love what we’ve created, but I will always miss the color and beauty of an English garden. Yours sounds like a wonderful place to relax!

    • Thank you, Kate. It’s true about the birds! As soon as we shifted from summer to fall I noticed fewer birds at the feeders. It took me a while to figure out that the birds were feasting on the seedpods and insects. I’m learning all the time. It’s not the prettiest time of year, that’s for sure. 😉

  5. Quite a healthy looking garden, Debra! I don’t do well with chaos, so I’m always pruning excess growth. I’m pleased to note that the Theodore Payne Foundation sells seeds and books online 🙂 Will be placing my order soon.

    • I am learning as I go, Rosaliene. I think if the birds weren’t so abundant at this time I’d have cut back even further, but I just couldn’t do it. I’m so glad to have the color from the salvias right now because everything else is a little drab. I am confident we will be rewarded again this spring. I am sure you’re going to really enjoy working the Theodore Payne Foundation. It’s always so delightful to be among people who are thoroughly committed to supporting the expansion of native plants in home gardens. They also include some of their education on YouTube which has been helpful, and I think you’ll be pleased to know them! 😉

  6. That would look amazing Debra, growing in between your perennial planting. 👍 I love your opening line ‘I’m always thinking about my garden’. Me too! And the quite is perfect… the domestication of the wild is precisely my cup of tea. I remember Piet Oudolf saying something along the lines of we are not trying to recreate nature, but we are using it to create a garden. I think he also said he doesn’t restrict himself to native plants – like me, as there would much less choice. You have some gorgeous plants already Debra. Look forward to seeing more!

  7. What great pictures! You’ve created a lovely garden, Debra. It’s always transforming with the weather, rain, time of year, what plants you add and what you prune. I find it’s easiest to be mindful and centered when in a garden — do you find the same? Looking forward with great anticipation to those wildflowers blooming.

  8. The colours, textures and shapes in your garden shown in your pictures look glorious, Debra and it’s fascinating to see so much “winter” activity compared to our rather dull winter garden. Even at this time of year in our garden, though, there is much that we can do to keep a vestige of control. I like the phrase “domestication of the wild” and we often joke that we have the garden on loan from nature!

    • Oh I like that so much, Philip! “The garden on loan from nature!” I think that says it quite clearly. I appreciate that you see the beauty in our untidy garden. I am constantly intrigued by the way this kind of natural setting seems to polarize people. I can tell when I’m getting the polite response, versus enthusiasm. I am really fine with that! It makes me happy. 🙂

    • Thank you, Karen. It’s becoming more of a trend to garden in this native/natural style and I’ve enjoyed it. We have such a conflict with water shortages, so this works well in support of our natural elements! 😉

  9. Good morning, Debra! What a treat to walk through your beautiful garden. It is a year around work. It’s tough to grow flowers in TX, summer is long and dry… we had near 60 day over 100 degrees this year. I don’t garden like I used to since we move to a townhouse with a small courtyard. But, we are just a mile away from Fort Worth Botanical Garden. They also maintain a large area for TX native plants. I visited there often and also take stuff to their compost bin.
    Thank you for sharing your love for gardening. Hope you’ll get good rain next year. 🙂

  10. What a wonderful, colorful, exciting garden you have sown Debra 😀👌 Chaos is often more beautiful to the eye than serried ranks of Box Hedges, so don’t prune too aggressively😅 Thanks for sharing your wonderful sea of flowers and the detailed images to show the individuals that make up the whole😎👍

    • I’m so glad to hear that you also know Theodore Payne. It’s a gem, isn’t it? And thank you for seeing the beauty in my rather untidy garden! I spent a lot of time this morning pruning and cutting back and I feel like I never have enough time. But I am beginning to see some subtle signs of spring and I hope the birds will enjoy the garden once again. Thank you so much stopping by, Lisa.

      • Yes, Theodore Payne is wonderful. I’ve been adding to my own wildflower meadow over the years and was excited when I discovered them. My latest wildflower love is lacy phacelia. Oh, I love a wild garden! Those are my favorite types. Mine is pretty wild as well. Yes, spring is in the air! Must get my pruning done as well. 🙂 -lisa

I always enjoy hearing from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.