Views of Spectacular Yosemite Falls–before and after

I’m never short on wordy description, but I think I’ll let my photos tell the story of our “before and after” visits to Yosemite National Park.

September, 2016

Last September we entered the National Park by way of Tunnel View.ย  Bridalveil Fall, the 620 foot plunge that captivates visitors when the sun hits the spray creating a lovely rainbow prism, was visible, but not abundant.

We were lured to a return trip upon hearing how full Yosemite creeks, rivers and waterfalls are this spring and I wanted to see for myself.

June 1, 2017

A very short hike and we were rewarded.

The fullness of Bridalveil Fall surely meant we would find Yosemite Falls in full splendor!

September 2016

Don’t see any water? We didn’t either.

In September, we found the results of a five-year drought and long, hot summer–not one drop of water!

But after five months of above average rain and record snowfall…

Awesome!

Up close?

I wrapped my Nikon in my shirt to protect it from taking a bath, and all I could do was aim my iPhone and hope for the best. The spray was so heavy I couldn’t see a thing.

We were delightfully drenched!

This was a quick trip with only one day in the Park. We really did go just to see the Falls.

We had plans to make our way to Tuolumne Meadows, but late May snow resulted in closure of the Tioga Pass. This really is a record year!

No problem. We’ll gladly make a return trip!

 

 

 

42 thoughts on “Views of Spectacular Yosemite Falls–before and after

  1. Anonymous

    Fantastic! You even caught the rainbow in the falls picture from 2016! I didn’t think that was possible! I’m looking forward to your 2018 pics, Debra.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Thank you for commenting on the rainbow! I was lucky that day, I think. The sun’s angle must have been just perfect. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  2. Jim Stewart

    One of the most spectacular places I’ve ever been. And I always sit on the starboard side of the plane on the way back to Oregon from San Diego, just so I can catch a glimpse of the valley if it’s clear enough. Great shots. Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Oh Jim! I’ve never flown over Yosemite! I would love that view. I think we’re going to try to visit again when we learn the Tioga Pass has been opened. Our National Parks are such a treasure! I feel very moved every time I walk through Yosemite and experience the magnitude of those giant granite peaks!

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I do hope you can get up there again, Andrew. I have never even seen the Merced River this turbulent and full, although I’m not up there in spring very often! I don’t think I can even relate to the idea that there has been enough snow that the Pass will be closed that late into the year! I sure won’t complain, however! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  3. nrhatch

    I’ve visited Yosemite twice and LOVED it both times. Great park . . . and great pics! Glad that the rains have replenished the fall’s falling waters!

    Hiking to waterfalls and enjoying the spray ~> BLISS!

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      i’m so glad to learn that you’ve been to Yosemite, Nancy. Each of our National Parks is a treasure and i love to see how each one has something just a bit different to offer. I did love getting quite wet at the falls. It was also delightful watching others quite literally “soak it up.” Made children out of all of us! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
      1. nrhatch

        We’ve been to quite a few of our National Parks ~ Yosemite, Yellowstone, Acadia, Great Smoky, Grand Teton, Zion, Grand Canyon, Bryce, Shenandoah, Joshua Tree, Badlands, Petrified Forest, Rocky Mountain, and Carlsbad Canyon. They are treasures!

        Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the photos! I almost didn’t take the photos of the “dry” falls last fall, as it wasn’t very pleasing, but I’m so glad I did. There were many international tourists and I’m glad they had a good representation!

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Thank you, Linda! Quite a difference, isn’t there? I hope we can get up there one more time before the heat of summer. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. Retirementallychallenged.com

    Your pictures make me so happy! We visited Yosemite last fall and were so sad to see the drought’s impact. I had heard that things had improved, but it’s nice to see how much! Fingers crossed for another wet winter.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I am so glad that you were able to enjoy the photos! One of the purposes of my posting was in hopes that other Californians might be both encouraged to see the abundant falls, but perhaps before long make another entry into the Park. I was the same way last September–just so sad! It really was a little frightening to see so many dead trees, wasn’t it? I am just hopeful that we’ll have a few good years of rain. Thank you so much for stopping by to share. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  5. Dee Ready

    Dear Debra, thanks so much for the video. As I looked at the photos of the falls I wasn’t thinking of any sense but sight. With the video came the pounding of the water and I was so surprised. How awesome. Mother Nature sharing her power and her beauty. I’m so glad you took the trip, even if only for a day. In times of loss, we all need to let nature renew us. Peace.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      It really was a delightful time of refreshment, Dee. I’m glad you took the time to listen to the video, my friend. It was a very powerful experience for me!

      Reply
  6. Gerlinde

    My husband and I are going to Yosemite next week. I can’t wait to see the waterfalls. It’s unbelievable that Tioga and Sonora pass are still closed . Did you read the story of Honnold climbing El Capitain in four hours without robes?

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I’m so glad you and your husband are are making the trip, Gerlinde! You’ll be so surprised. Maybe you should bring a light waterproof poncho! LOL! I did read about Honnold, and really couldn’t believe it! Have a wonderful time, my friend.

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Thank you very much. I have certainly lived through many droughts, but I think we were all beginning to wonder if it would ever end. I don’t think we’ll take rain for granted ever again. And Yosemite is surely a happier place as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  7. 2e0mca

    Looks really good Debra. Great to see the drought has been well and truly broken. I really loved hearing the rushing water in your video ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      It really was a very severe drought, Otto. I think Mother Nature decided we’d been through enough! ๐Ÿ™‚ The falls and a very green Yosemite was such a boost to my overall well-being. I hope we can visit again when the meadows are more accessible, perhaps sometime this summer. Thank you.

      Reply
  8. lifeonthecutoff

    Oh, Debra, these are wonderful shots and video. I can imagine the sound of the water and the ionization (at least that’s what I think it is) must have been revitalizing for all present. Sorry it took so long to view this. Life’s been a wee bit hectic lately. Thanks for this post. JUST what I needed to see right now.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I haven’t made it over to “see” you, either, Penny. Life does get a little stretched at times, doesn’t it? i hope you’re finding some peace and calm in the midst of all that is “uneven,” and you have hopefully found some time to refresh in nature as well. This was a very quick trip to Yosemite, but even that was thrilling to me as I realize we really can do this more often, which is exactly what I need. The power of the water coming down those falls continues to put a smile on my face. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  9. colonialist

    Waterfalls compete with breakers as scenes of constant fascination, and this one is a real beauty. You have done a wonderful job of capturing it from dormant to full spate!

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

