Pressing the PAUSE button

 

dsc_5232

I’ve tried to pick up my blogging pace. Many times. I seem to need a blogging break.

dsc_5228

A few days before Thanksgiving we lost an incredibly special family member, and it feels like the lights went out. We’re a little lost.

dsc_5224

This week brings a fresh challenge and all attention is focused towards my dad. Progressive Parkinson’s Disease makes every day a struggle, but sometimes that struggle is full-blown and he needs our full attention.

dsc_5219

I need to be as present as possible, attending to the needs of my family.

I may not be able to post for a while, but if I pop in to say hello you’ll know I count you as a friend. That is true of course, but also, I’d like to ring in the new year with each of you.

I’ll be back…before too long.

32 thoughts on “Pressing the PAUSE button

  1. Andra Watkins

    Your family has borne too much this year. I’m sorry to hear your dad is struggling even more. It isn’t easy for your mom or for you. I hope you all receive an extra dose of strength for Christmas. Xo

    Reply
  2. lifeonthecutoff

    Hard to hit “like”, but, wanted you to know I stopped by, Debra. Family always comes first, and you need to do what you need to do. Here’s to moments of joy and hope in a season of love, even as you deal with these heavy, hard times. Love and hugs.

    Reply
  3. Slow Happy Living

    Sorry to hear of the difficult times you and your family are facing. Hardships can seem even darker when the days are so short. Pausing and breathing are surely among the best things you can do. Be well, my friend.

    Reply
  4. Retirementallychallenged.com

    You have a lot on your plate and taking a “time-out” is a good way to manage your time and focus. Caring for your aging father is an important calling and one that can bring great joy as well as high stress. Don’t neglect to take good care of yourself too.

    Reply
  5. Cathy

    Sorry to hear you and your family are going through a hard time Debra. My thoughts will be with you this holiday season and I wish you a peaceful Christmas with family and friends. All the best! xx

    Reply
  6. aFrankAngle

    As I’ve written many time, “Blogging breaks are good.” … let alone when you have as much on your plate as you do now. Take the time you need and be strong. Nothing but best wishes to you.

    Reply
  7. Karen Wan

    Debra, I totally understand the blogging pause, it’s sometimes the best thing you can do for your family. So sorry to hear about your loss and your Dad’s health challenges. Sending you love and blessings for now and always. Big hug to you.
    Karen

    Reply
  8. Stacey

    Debra, I so get where you are…of course, for very different reasons, but no matter the situation, when it comes to the health of those closest to us, that becomes the most important priority. It’s funny just how short that list of “the most important things in life” becomes during these seasons. I’m praying for you dear friend, that His grace will sustain you…xoxo

    Reply
  9. ChgoJohn

    Sorry to read of you family’s loss, Debra, and I wish you continued strength for the challenges posed by your father’s illness. Blogging can — and should — wait. We’ll be here when you return.

    Reply
    1. Karen

      I wanted to stop back by to say that I hope you and your family are coping with your loss and that this special time of the year will bring comfort to you all.

      Reply
  10. thefolia

    So sorry for your loss Debra. It’s never easy and even more of a challenge around these gathering times.
    Enjoy the happy memories and the new ones to make with the little ones…they really do keep us young at heart. Courage.

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Currently | breathelighter

  12. reocochran

    So sad to read of your incredible loss, Debra. Hope some comforts in memories and timeless love help ease your family’s pain. No one totally loses a special one, they remain in our hearts. 💞

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

