Steeped in wonder…

 

Yosemite National Park

“The national park idea, the best idea we ever had, was inevitable as soon as Americans learned to confront the wild continent not with fear and cupidity but with delight, wonder and awe.” Wallace Stegner

Sequoia National Park

“For in the true nature of things, if we rightly consider, every green tree is far more glorious than if it were made of gold and silver.” Martin Luther King

Moro Rock, Sequoia National Park“Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.” Lao Tzu

Sequoia National Park“Come to the woods, for here is rest. There is no repose like that of the green deep woods…” John Muir

From Moro Rock, Sequoia“Study nature, love nature, stay close to nature. It will never fail you.” Frank Lloyd Wright

There will be more. I won’t be able to stop myself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

51 thoughts on “Steeped in wonder…

    1. Debra Post author

      I certainly hope you’ll be able to fit in a trip to King’s Canyon at some point, Andra. I often think it is overlooked, and certainly should not be! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  1. Beth

    Oh such good times in the National Parks!!
    Yosemite – first one I camped in as a child -of course, Grand Canyon- always awesome!! Hoping to see Yellowstone ! πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I have never camped in a national park, Beth, but I’m sure that would be delightful. It’s been years since we’ve visited the Grand Canyon, and I think that may be next on our list. πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I kept taking photos hoping I could somehow convey the enormity of scale, Colleen, but I just couldn’t quite capture it. All the parks in our National Park system are really glorious, I think. I haven’t been to them all, but I would love to! πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I’m sure you’ll find the time, Andrew. There are several to choose from! We want to get up to Redwood National Park sometime early in the new year. I haven’t been in decades. We do have some beautiful trees in our California National Parks, don’t we!

      Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Was just sitting here yesterday wondering what you were up to. I guess now I know, at least some of what you are doing. May be joining you soon. I need some adventures of my own.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Thank you, Frank. I’ll be stopping by later tonight to see what you’ve shared. I would have been by last night, but I was watching THE debate! LOL! I know you haven’t been watching them, but I doubt you can avoid hearing the sound bytes. We will all need a good walk in nature following the election, just to shake it off!

      Reply
      1. aFrankAngle

        Not only will you love Walktober, and yesterday I posted my election thoughts before the final debate. I finally let out a lot that has been on my mind concerning the crazy election year.

        Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I was so exhilarated walking the trails, Stacey. It only took us 3.5 hours to the entrance of Sequoia, entering from the south. That was a very nice surprise. Now we have no excuse for staying away so long. πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Each was indeed very quiet and peaceful, Kate, even though there were many people. I think more people should visit the woods just to bring down blood pressure!

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I am so glad you could enjoy the view, too, Robert. Yosemite was very dry and looked a little parched. I’d love to visit sometime in the spring to see the difference, but it was still majestic!

      Reply
  3. lifeonthecutoff

    I just remembered I had not yet checked this post out. Blame it on the boot. haha
    These photos are magnificent, Debra, and you’ve married them to such lasting quotes. This would make a wonderful keepsake book for you.
    Have you seen Ken Burns PBS series on America’s parks. He calls them America’s best idea, taking the words from Stegner.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I did see the Ken Burns series, Penny, and I think I can credit him almost directly with why we’ve been trying for the past few years to visit our more local ones. Jay did not see the series, however, so I’m hoping to have the opportunity to watch it again. As soon as I can I want to share more about the giant sequoias, too. I just couldn’t get a whole tree in a photo. πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. lifeonthecutoff

        Tom only saw bits and pieces of Ken Burn’s series, Debra – and I couldn’t get enough of it. I’m sure this series compelled many to seek out our national parks.
        Our daughter and son-in-law up north have been doing what they call Parktober. They started it last October, and resumed it this October. Every weekend, the visit a state park, sometimes two, in MN.
        I look forward to seeing more of your sequoias. πŸ™‚ You might consider reading At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracey Chevallier. A good part of the book is about harvesting sequoias and redwood in CA in the 1800’s. It’s a novel, which I wrote a post about, and I think it is waiting for you. πŸ™‚

        Reply
        1. Debra Post author

          I put Tracey Chevalier’s book on my reading list after your post, Penny, but I think I need to move it a little higher in priority. I’m currently so interested in the trees, now is the time! Your daughter and son-in-law will certainly be enriched by their park visits, won’t they? These parks are such treasures and I continue to be so amazed at the men and women who recognized the threat to the land and saved it for us. It really is a wonderful thing that we recognize their efforts by appreciating the parks. I know you have your favorite trees as well. πŸ™‚

          Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      The Sequoias are definitely stressed from climate change, Cristina. They are really parched and a lot of orange-dead trees is NOT fall foliage we want to encourage!

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I never camped at Yosemite, or Sequoia either, Philip. But we usually stay just outside the Parks and come and go fairly easily. We did say this last time that maybe NEXT time we will try a cabin. Yosemite is truly monumental in its beauty, but I fell in love with the Sequoias this time and think I’d almost prefer the hiking trails in Sequoia and Kings Canyon. I always enjoy hearing from you, Philip. Thank you for stopping by.

      Reply
  4. roughwighting

    I’m fortunate to say that I’ve been to many of these places. And the amazing peace and solemnity of these places have affected me for years later. πŸƒπŸƒπŸ™

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I do find it more and more difficult to find quiet in my life, and getting out to walk among the trees or near the ocean is good for recalibrating. It sounds like you agree with me. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. ChgoJohn

    I’ve been lucky enough to visit Muir Woods and to say the trees are astonishing is an understatement, Debra. Photos cannot possibly capture their immense size. I walked around that day with my mouth agape virtually the entire time. I’ve always wanted to return to stroll through a couple of the other parks One day …
    Thanks for taking us all there today.

    Reply
  6. Amy

    Great quotes accompany your fantastic photos! The first photo ought to be posted on the Nation Parks website.These trees are majestic 😍
    Thank you, Debra!

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

