Do you plan to see the new Star Wars movie?

Q: Which program does a Jedi use to open PDF files?

A: Adobe Wan Kenobi

Q: Which website did Chewbacca get arrested for creating?

A: Wookieleaks

Ok. I’ll stop. But I just heard those jokes tonight and I’m so amused at all the “Star Wars” talk.

I didn’t say “hype.”  I’m enjoying the enthusiasm.

People have been lining up for days, not to buy tickets, those have been purchased in the $100 million in U.S. presales, but to guarantee “the best” seats at the theater of their choice. It may seem a little overblown, but I enjoy watching other people have so much fun!

The countdown to opening night has been heavily anticipated in our home, as well.

I was the designated babysitter tonight while mom and dad joined other diehards at the 7:00PM showing of  “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.”

It shouldn’t be a surprise that a man with a Storm Trooper in his family room would purchase tickets two months ago guaranteeing a spot in the first local showing.

IMG_6356

Anthony saw “Star Wars” in its first 1977 release following his Kindergarten graduation. He’s been like that little kid for weeks now, humming “The Imperial March” (Darth Vader’s Theme) and counting down the days. For the past week or so he and Aimee have re-watched and reviewed all six previous episodes.

I never saw the prequel trilogy and it has been the full 38 years since Jay and I joined friends in Hollywood to see “Star Wars,” followed a few years later by “The Empire Strikes Back,” and by the time we got to “Return of the Jedi,” in 1983, our children were old enough to join us.

Our son was about six years old when he saw “Empire,” and he was hooked. He loved the movie, but it was probably the massive ad campaign and Kenner toy company’s production line of action figures that fueled the passion.

Up in our attic we’ve stored his Millennium Falcon, a set of Star Wars bed sheets, a stuffed Ewok, various transport and ground vehicles, along with who knows what is in those boxes. He had all the figures at one time, and his small original collection would have some value if they were still in good condition.

But he really played with his toys and I have wonderful memories of my “little boy” completely caught up in the fantasy of the characters. I still remember trying not to over-react when I walked in to find several of his storm troopers melted  to the ceiling light. He’d  hung them precariously as they performed some elaborate scene from the Galactic Empire.

I have to admit that I can recall only the barest outline of the Star Wars movies. I am fairly certain that if it weren’t for an interest in seeing the original cast I wouldn’t be planning to see it, but I do get a little thrill when I hear the music and nostalgia certainly kicks in when I think of seeing Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher and Mark Hamill reprising their roles.

And I can’t be at all critical of the millions of fans who really eat this up!

People in glass houses and all that…

I watched all 121 episodes of LOST. For six seasons that was my “galaxy far, far away.”

So how about you? Do you plan to see Star Wars: The Force Awakens?

Aimee and Anthony gave an enthusiastic report when they came home. I overheard something about a plan to see it again.

 

 

 

48 thoughts on “Do you plan to see the new Star Wars movie?

    1. Debra Post author

      My interest at this point is primarily nostalgia, Cathy, but I’m amazed at the thousands of young people who are really caught up in the series of movies. George Lucas must be smiling!

      Reply
  1. Deborah the Closet Monster

    I suppose I’ll be roped in, but I have no special plans for it!

    I recently watched the first movie with my husband and older son. I enjoyed my son’s running commentary far more than the movie itself.

    Like you, though, I love the enthusiasm! I have far too many of my own nerddoms to scoff at anyone else’s. 😉

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Ha! From conversations I’ve overheard today, I think many women are being “roped” into seeing the movie. All the men have turned into enthusiastic little boys and it’s really quite sweet. I think it’s delightful that you saw one of the movies with your son and he was sharing his commentary. I had a male friend tear up today telling me about how excited he was to share this new movie with his two sons this weekend. I just loved seeing how important this was to him. I like your word “nerddoms” and think that needs to be used in wider circulation. I have more than a few of those myself. 🙂 Enjoy your weekend, Deborah. It’s such a busy week for most of us. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    I’ll watch it, my dad would kill me if I didn’t, but no special plans to rush out – but I love the enthusiasm of everyone else, I have a couple people in my life that have been anticipating this greatly, and their joy is contagious, so I’m glad you could be honorary baby sitter for this special occasion!

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I have also noted how contagious the enthusiasm and pure joy and delight of some of my friends and family members and it really is contagious. I agree with you, Kate. So your dad is quite a fan, huh? You won’t want to disappoint him, so I hope you’ll manage to see it soon. 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your thoughts! I hope you have a good weekend.

      Reply
  3. aFrankAngle

    Unbelievable hype for this movie. I won’t see it this weekend, but will go sometime. Like you (anymore, not surprisingly) I saw the this 3 but none of the 3 prequels. The first two were the best, and I recall being bored with Return of the Jedi (outside of the special effects). … However, my wife wants to watch Return of the Jedi before seeing the new movie – and we are lucky because a neighbor has a copy of that movie.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Everywhere I turned today people were talking about this movie, and the enthusiasm is a bit contagious. I’m beginning to think I want to see it sooner than later before too many details are leaked. I still think my main interest is seeing the three returning actors and enjoying them together again. I think you’re very lucky to have access to copies of Jedi. Suddenly these movies are like gold and hard to find unless you want to pay about $20 a piece, and with so many of them to review, I’m not doing that. I have several people interested in telling me the complete Star Wars history, so maybe I’ll just let them get me caught up! 🙂

      Reply
  4. nrhatch

    Yes, but no rush. It’s in my Netflix queue to watch down the road.

    My younger brother dragged me to the first Star Wars . . . and I loved it.
    And the sequels.
    The prequels, not so much.

    When Carrie Fisher gave a talk at the Sarasota Opera House a few years back, this movie was just in the planning stage and she couldn’t discuss it in detail. But I thought at the time that seeing the reunion of the original cast might be fun.

    May the Force be with you!

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I would have enjoyed hearing Carrie Fisher speak to an audience, Nancy. My impression of her is that she’s quite honest about herself and her life struggles and keeps a dry sense of humor that is easy to listen to. She has such an interesting family lineage and starting her career so young and being forever identified-tied to Princess Leia makes for a very unique personal story. I have almost no memory of any of the movies after Star Wars, but I think by then I had young children and it might have been the stress that made it harder to just relax and watch a movie! 🙂 I’m hoping at some point to review them at least. It feels to me like everyone who expresses enthusiasm for seeing The Force Awakens drops several years of age and channels their much younger selves. We seem to pull from a happy nostalgic place and that’s quite nice. I hope you have a great weekend, my friend. There’s talk we may have some rain tomorrow night. 🙂

      Reply
      1. nrhatch

        She seemed very “real” with sardonic easy wit. When describing her short-term memory loss, a significant side effect of EST (Electro-Shock Therapy), she quipped:

        “Of course, it might not be the EST. I might be losing my memory because I’m getting older. Or because of the drugs. Or a combination of all three . . . E~S~T, L~S~D, and A~G~E.”

        If you’re interested in reading this again:
        https://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/carrie-fisher-at-the-sarasota-opera-house/

        Reply
  5. J9

    I’m not a big Star Wars fan, nor am I a big movie fan. However, I have my own fan theory about the plot, so I want to see The Force Awakens to satisfy that little inner geek. And of course I need to see it in a real movie theater and get the full experience; I haven’t been in a movie theater in years, but I have a feeling this will be worth it.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      It’s so good to hear form you, Janine. I hope you and your family are well. Your little granddaughter must be getting bigger and even more delightful! How fun to wonder about your own fan theory. I hope you’ll really enjoy the whole movie experience. My kids saw it at the Krikorian in Monrovia on the biggest screen and in 3-D. They were able to reserve their seat buying the ticket on-line and they had a good experience even with the crush of all the opening night super-hype. Do enjoy and have a good time. Perhaps you’ll later share your theory and if you were spot on! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Kevin

    I saw the first “Star Wars” when it first opened. I remember waiting on line, eventually making it to the humber two spot and being told that the showing was sold out. So I waited again! I don’t think I would do that now . . . And I have seen “Empire” and “Return,” but it’s be awhile. To answer your question: yes, I will see the new film, once the hysteria dies down, if it ever will! I’m curious to experience the film on the larger screen in a stadium-seating theater. I hope the hoopla matches the film. By the way, I too was a “Lost” fanatic — and after that experience, I promised myself that I would never become so engrossed in a single show. The truth is, though, I loved it — and I probably would do it again. It’s okay to embrace our inner geeks. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I wish we’d known each other during the “Lost” years, Kevin. I was absolutely obsessed, and I had few people to talk to about it. J.J. Abrams was behind LOST and is the director for this Star Wars episode, so that’s a fairly good indication that you’ll not be disappointed. So far, I’m hearing that the die-hards are already seeing it for the second time and very happy with it. Your experience standing in the line the first time gives you a special place of honor as an “original” fan, but I suggest this time you go to one of the theaters where you can reserve your seat before you even show up! My kids did that last night and also saw it in 3-D. I guess they had the full experience. My son-in-law is still smiling…and I admit that’s contagious. They’ve given me more than a few reasons why I’ll probably see it before too long. I hope you have a good weekend, Kevin. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your Star Wars memories. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Slow Happy Living

    I don’t know whether I’ll see it or not. I think I’ve missed at least one of them in the past, and I’m certainly not going to re-watch them all to prepare. I think CFL wants to see it, but he’s in no hurry either. I may get around to it sometime in January….???

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      It’s been suggested that since I don’t remember quite a bit of the “originals” and never saw the prequels, the “best plan” is to watch all six, and in order. I can’t imagine finding the time for that, so it’s very unclear as to how I’m going to proceed. But all the ‘boys” in my family are just giddy with delight. It’s fun to hear them talk between themselves and all the trivia they know; they do remember details! I think you guys are probably wise to wait until January to see it, though. It will give you time to get your costuming all lined up. LOL!

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Sounds like you’re in no hurry, Andrew, and at least that could give you time to research all the trivia and wow the grandkids when you do get around to it. 🙂

      Reply
  8. Ginny

    Ken and Bill went to the first showing last night. They bought the tickets a few weeks ago. They arrived at the theater about 90 minutes before show time and had to sit in the 4th row. They really enjoyed the movie. Ken had to get a new phone in October, but his old phone had a countdown to Star Wars app on it. I remember last Christmas how excited he was to see the first trailer.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      What a fun father-son activity, Ginny! I think that’s great. Anthony’s been watching all the trailers for a long time, too, and now he and Jonathan are talking about seeing it together in a couple of days. Jonathan has tickets for a New Year’s showing, but doesn’t want to wait that long. LOL! All these “little boys!” Ken’s app with the countdown is a hoot! I hadn’t heard of that one. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and that all the boys are together with mom and dad. Let’s get caught up soon! ox

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      It seems like it’s all the husbands and boyfriends who are making the plans and all excited. One of the funniest conversations I’ve heard was between two 45-ish radio personalities I listen to most days. “He” was just giddy with excitement, and “she” kept telling him, much like what you’ve said, that she didn’t really remember much of the plot. He just couldn’t believe how little interest she had and the whole conversation amused me because it is that way in our household as well. I’m sure I’ll see it, but I will take my time! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Carl D'Agostino

    At 66 ever still a fan. But what gets me is the bad guy soldiers in the white armor always get killed so easily so what good is the armor ? Must be more low quality cheap junk imported from China.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Great observation, Carl. Maybe in the new movie, thirty years since we last saw the characters, there are some armor improvements. I think you’ll need to see the movie sooner than later so you can complete your research! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Chatter Master

    I would want to see all of the other Star Wars movies before seeing the new one. So by the time I get around to that it will be old news. BUT. I love your comments about enjoying other’s enthusiasm. It is wonderful to see fun and excitement. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I’m having a bit of the same question and it’s a dilemma for me, Colleen. My son-in-law has encouraged me to see all six in the order of the story before seeing the new one. I’d love to do that, but it’s hard to imagine actually working that out. I’m not sure it’s a good idea to take a few days off work just to get caught up with the movies, but it IS a temptation. I hope you’re doing well on “Christmas countdown.” 🙂

      Reply
      1. Chatter Master

        We have been watching movies on Friday nights, through the winter, with friends of ours. We decided we would hit the Star Wars and it will see us through till spring! 🙂

        I’m doing well. Counting down to Christmas AND time off!!!

        I hope you are doing AS well.

        And if you have the time….take it off! 😉

        Reply
  11. lifeonthecutoff

    I will see it, eventually, Debra. What I’m really anticipating is babysitting the grands when they come down so their mommy and daddy can go see it. 🙂 Our son-in-law is really into. Have you seen PBS’s Star Smores? It is a hoot. Sesame Street take off. I am, I must admit, enjoying all the hype.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      No, Penny. I haven’t even heard of Star Smores! I must look into that one. 🙂 I am suspecting that your clock is on countdown waiting for family to arrive and time with your delightful grandchildren. I’ve made the assumption that it’s possible for you all to be together for Christmas, and I hope that’s so.

      I know I’ll see the movie at some point, as well, Penny, but I’m fairly sure my son-in-law will have seen it multiple times before I finally do, however. i hope you have a wonderful Christmas, my friend, and I’m sure you will. ox

      Reply
      1. lifeonthecutoff

        It’s on my FB page.
        We are very blessed this year as we will all be together, Debra. Your suspicions are right. 🙂 Kids coming down Wednesday and staying for about a week. A very Merry Christmas to you, Debra.

        Reply
  12. Karen Wan

    Yes, I already saw it, yesterday, fortunately with no long lines. I am a big Star Wars fan, I guess unlike a lot of women. My 85 year old mom and 13 year old son saw it with me. They both enjoyed it, as did I. I’m a fan of sci-fi and fantasy in general. Probably, the most nostalgic part for me was the music. My son loved the iconic opening with the scrolling text and iconic music.
    Debra, I hope you enjoy it, whenever you get around to seeing it! 🙂
    Karen

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      It really makes me feel good to think of you seeing the movie with your mother and your son, Karen. What a great family memory! I am sure I’ll see the movie soon, too. I have felt my enthusiasm growing daily just listening to the enthusiasm of others, and now I’ll take into consideration your encouragement, too! It’s great family fun, I think. Thank you for sharing your experience, Karen. 🙂 And I hope that you and your mom and son have a wonderful Christmas, and most of all, a very healthy and peaceful new year, my friend.

      Reply
  13. hotlyspiced

    I love their dedication and enthusiasm. I am ashamed to say I’ve only seen one Star Wars film and that was the first one. I’m now so behind I don’t know that I will get to this new movie before it’s removed from the theatres. It’s such an incredible brand and I love how the film has such a loyal and committed following xx

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Don’t feel badly that you haven’t dedicated huge portions of time to keep up with the Star Wars franchise! LOL! I think the Star Wars franchise holds a lot of appeal to many more than have an actual interest in sitting down to watch that many hours of entertainment. My son-in-law is really encouraging me to get caught up with them all, and I, too, just can’t imagine finding the time to do so, almost any time of year, but certainly not at Christmas! I have friends so excited about this (they happen to all be male) that they’ve practically cried telling me about it. Great stress busters! I’m sure Disney stockholders are smiling. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful Christmas, Charlie. I know you will!

      Reply
  14. ChgoJohn

    Oh, I’ll be going, all right, but I cannot imagine camping for days just to get tix for it — or for any film, performance, play, etc., for that matter. That is so not me, Debra. In fact, I’m not one to join the masses who must see a film on opening weekend. Being among the first to see something is vastly over-rated. I’ve made a date with friends to go during the 1st week of the New Year. By then, the hoopla will have died down and some semblance of sanity will have returned to the Imax theaters. Yes, Imax. I may not want to be among the first to see it but it is Star Wars, after all. Nothing short of Imax would be appropriate. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      You have a sound movie-watching protocol, John. No nonsense! My kids told me that people were arriving in costume, too. I know that must be fun for some, but it’s hard for me to think of anything I care about enough to follow with this level of dedication. I also think if I do see the movie I’d like to see it in an Imax theater to get the full effect. I think that when I saw the original Star Wars series of movies I was mostly mesmerized by the then quite new special effects and judging by my recall of the plot lines, I was not paying that much attention. Ii do hope you and your friends have a delightful time and I’m sure you will. I hope, too, you had a lovely Christmas, John. Now on to the new year! 🙂

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Ah! You’re way ahead of me on the Star Wars prep! I keep thinking we will carve out some time to watch them, but I can’t seem to get my husband away from the football! We do have a little time of it getting on the same page when it comes to scheduling entertainment. LOL! I suppose we’ll get to it. If you get to the new release sooner than me, and I presume you will, you can let me know if I should rethink my goals. 🙂

      Reply
  15. thefolia

    I opt out of movies these days, my husband said the original characters with the exception of Harrison Ford were disappointing to watch. I did watch Martian recently and enjoyed it…my husband said he liked it better than Star Wars. I will always love the original, I remember it fondly as a child of the 70’s I saw it a number of times. May the force be with you, decades later and we still use this phrase.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I think I’m more interested in seeing “The Martian,” myself, Cristina. I haven’t decided yet if I’ll actually go see the new Star Wars movie, but the guys in my family are just like little kids about it. I’m so amused by that. 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. I thoroughly enjoyed having my family close, but now I’m needing just a little bit of time to recuperate! Too much joy perhaps. LOL!

      Reply
  16. Pingback: Star Wars Heroes Light Side Mission 4-L

I always enjoy hearing from you!

