{preparing for a breathing lighter escape}

I need to refresh and renew. It’s been a long, hot summer.

I am heading out to meet a friend and I’m going on my own. Not that a two-hour trip south is a grand act of independence, but it’s been awhile since I’ve just struck out on my own, unless you call the twenty-minute drive to work some “me” time.

And while I’m gone Jay has the solemn duty of keeping the animals safe. We have a rabbit and look who was walking up our street this morning?

IMG_5870

I’ve been hearing the coyotes howling at night, but this is a little too brazen. This was between 6:30 and 7:00 this morning; just taking his morning stroll.

And then in our own backyard this weekend Darwin was up to his old tricks. Once again we’re scrambling to keep him safe.

Our son was visiting this weekend and brought his buddy, Obi, who is always very curious about Darwin. Good thing he was!  Obi drew attention to Darwin’s climbing antics. I’ve been wondering when he’d be big enough to hoist that huge and heavily armored body up on the banks of the railroad. While he’s busy munching on my cactus all I can think about is that he’s two feet from rocks that could give way and he’d plummet into the pond.

We’re quickly running out of optimum housing options for him, but we’re currently tackling that issue by immediately restricting his freedom. He won’t be active in the winter, so we have a little time to figure out what to do with our problem child.

I could use a break.

I’m glad to walk away from some of these concerns, if only for a couple of days, and I’ve been looking forward to this week for quite a few months now!

Many of you are familiar with blogger-author Andra Watkins and her experience walking the historic Natchez Trace. Andra wrote about the walk and her relationship with her father who accompanied her as wingman on that amazing journey in “Not Without My Father, One Woman’s 444-mile Walk of the Natchez Trace.”

Andra has been touring all over the country with interactive discussions inspiring her readers and friends to turn “I wish I had” into “I’m glad I did,” and to Make a Memory. She’ll be speaking at the San Diego Public Library Thursday night and I’m going ahead of the event to spend some time with her in San Diego.

I’ll have more to tell when I return, I’m sure. But until then I hope you have a good week and your own adventures to share. I’ll have to speed read when I get home.

I’ll leave you with a little  humor.

I needed toothpaste.

IMG_5868

I didn’t really think about how much I’d bought until I came home and had to put it away. I am certainly very optimistic about my future. And I guess about my teeth as well!

I’ll be off Making a Memory with a friend, and meeting some new friends as well. I’ll be breathing lighter upon my return, I’m sure.

If you live in the San Diego area, come join us!

 

 

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “{preparing for a breathing lighter escape}

  1. Kristy

    That will be an amazing talk I’m sure. Such a powerful message too! Enjoy your trip Debra. You deserve some me time for sure. Absorb every beautiful minute of it. 🙂

    Reply
  2. nrhatch

    If you run out of candy for Halloween, you can hand out tubes of toothpaste! But, hey, at least you’ll have FRESH breath for your get away in San Diego.

    Have a blast from first to last!

    Reply
  3. lifeonthecutoff

    Enjoy your memory making and San Diego, Debra – and most importantly your time with Andra. That library looks fantastic, and almost as big as Darwin.:)
    I know people who had out toothpaste. Really.

    Reply
  4. hotlyspiced

    It sounds like you are very ready for a little mini-break. I hope you’re having a great time in San Diego. That’s incredible to see a coyote just wandering down the street! Yes, you will need to keep your rabbit safe. And as for Darwin! I had no idea a tortoise could climb! xx

    Reply
  5. PigLove

    Snorts and rolls with piggy laughter – “problem child”. I’m so glad to hear that I’m not the only that is told this. My mommy calls me this sometimes when my deviled ham side comes out to cause havoc. XOXO – Bacon

    Reply
  6. Stacey

    Have a wonderful time in San Diego! Oh how I do miss the ocean…say a little hello to the ocean side for me! And enjoy that drive and some real “me” time…all of us need it every now and then! Some of my best “me” times have been on the plane when I would travel to conferences or visit friends on my own. It’s like a little sanctuary up in the clouds 🙂 Looking forward to hearing about your travels!

    Reply
  7. 2e0mca

    You can never have too much toothpaste 😉 Hope you have a great week away 🙂 Darwin confirms my belief that I should stick to my featherweight friends 😉

    Reply
  8. Pingback: {coyotes and rabbits and dogs, oh my!} | breathelighter

I always enjoy hearing from you!

