{three stories that made me smile this week}

August was a long month.

Between our extended home improvement projects and intermittent Internet disruption I’ve had a hard time putting much effort into blogging. Perhaps that’s not stated correctly. I’ve put a lot of effort into it, I just don’t have much to show for that effort.

Short on time and a bit of a limited attention span tonight, I think I’ll share three stories that made me smile this week.

Two stories highlight people defying stereotypes and expectations, continuing to love life well on their way towards 90 years of age.

The first name is a notable if you live in Los Angeles or closely follow Major League baseball.

Just a few days ago 87-year old Vin Scully announced his decision to return as the “voice of the Dodgers” for one more year. In 2016 he will begin his 67th consecutive season as the play-by-play announcer.

My dad listened to the Dodgers and although I don’t remember really caring about the outcome of most games, there was always a soothing familiarity in hearing Vin Scully’s voice as he shared stories and bits of information about players while calling the game.

I still enjoy hearing his voice and I was happy to hear the announcement of his return. I want to still be making plans for the future when I approach 90!

To hear just a bit of his charm as he compliments the sun and the moon during a recent Dodgers-Cubs game, click HERE. What a guy!

The same day I heard about Vin Scully’s return for another season I also heard a radio personality talking about a YouTube star, “Dancing Nana.” I had to check it out and found this elderly but vibrant “sensation” visiting with Ellen Degeneres on her show, “Ellen.”

This charming Nana was 88 when she danced her way to her granddaughter’s car and 90 when she appeared on “Ellen” this past spring.

Don’t you feel inspired when you see people refusing to be anchored by stereotypes and limited thinking? I’m confident that neither Vin Scully nor Nana let thoughts of age hold them back from anything that matters to them. I want more of that!

And for something totally random, I’ll address border security.

When I saw the following photos of what stands as boundary division between parts of the United States and Canada I was so amused. I’m not sharing it to poke fun of Governor Scott Walker’s Canadian “wall” comments. I didn’t even stick around long enough to hear him out. I just thought the photos were so funny in comparison to what I perceive as border security.

I’ll share it with you HERE.

And if you have any questions concerning border delineation this video just might help explain it.

Well, it’s getting close to the time of evening when our Internet has been deciding to go to sleep, so I’d better close up shop for the night.

This may have been a bit pointless tonight, but the common thread is that all three stories helped me breathe lighter.

And it’s that time in the week when you’re probably needing a little lift as well.

I hope you found something here to make you smile.

And you might think about smiling more. I think smiling is the best anti-aging cream. Vinny and Nana look good to me!

37 thoughts on “{three stories that made me smile this week}

  1. Kate Crimmins

    Loved the border video. Would definitely make any math major nuts. As for the dancing nana, I first saw that when it came out and I watched it over and over again, sometimes with tears in my eyes. That woman was so like my own Mom. She even has the same body type (or maybe we all look like that at 90). Still one of my favorites. Just keep dancing….

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Oh Kate! You’ve share stories and photos of your mother and I can really see how “Dancing Nana” would be familiar to you. Each time you talk about your mom I have been able to see the twinkle in her eye and imagine the “pep in her step.” You talk about your brother’s sense of humor a lot, too, and it seems very clear that your mom was someone very special and her children carry many of her special traits. I’m glad the videos reminded you, as they sure did me, that age doesn’t need to define us AT ALL! 🙂 Hope you have a delightful weekend. ox

      Reply
  2. raisingdaisy

    I love the stories about Nana and Vin! I admire people who defy stereotypes and make lives of their own, not caring what anyone says. And I really like people who don’t let the “numbers” of their age slow them down. Cheers to them! 😀

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I sure do admire people who really live their lives with such gusto, too! Both Vin Scully and our dancing Nana remind me that we’d better be authentic and real now in preparation for those “golden” years! I loved the granddaughter in the Nana story as well. She was a gem to be so loving and supportive. Hope you have some time Labor Day weekend to enjoy yourself as well!

      Reply
  3. aFrankAngle

    I bunch here to make me smile. As a baseball fan, I know Vince Scully is a treasure … but what I truly not know is what he dearly means to the people of the Los Angeles area. In other words, I know he is bigger than I imagine.

    Cheers to the dancing grandmother on Ellen, and gotta love the video about the border you provided. Hope your internet access returns in time of Act 2 of Dance: The Musical.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I think to put Vin Scully’s place in the heart of Dodger fans is to be reminded that he’s the only voice some of us have every known. And he’s a very honorable and nice man. I’ve never heard anyone say one thing about him that wasn’t praising him for his character. He is saying next year will be his last, and I almost hope it’s true so that he’s here to receive the crowds appreciation. The Canadian Border video really did make me laugh. Silly as the boundaries are, they were at least pretty! We have a technician coming to the house this morning and I hope they figure out what’s going on with the Internet. Last night around 9:30 it just died again! I’ve had that at some point every evening for two weeks. Since I work during the day, it has made blogging very frustrating. I don’t want to miss Act 2!

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I am always happy to begin changing stereotypes related to aging. I think the older I get that becomes more important to me. LOL! I’m so glad you enjoyed the stories. Come again. ox

      Reply
  4. lifeonthecutoff

    My smiles for the day, Debra. I loved this and will swinging my ample hips to Runaround Sun all the live-long day. 🙂 First, I need to go move my flowerpots out to the road so no comes down the drive. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      You gave me a laugh, Penny! I’m sure on the Cutoff you have some perimeter land you could indeed surround with some of these US/Canadian “wall” techniques. They at least try to beautify, right? Dancing Nana is a hoot, and I think her granddaughter must be a good sport, too. One article I read said that she came to pick her grandmother up every week for lunch, which is why she was ready with her camera. I loved to hear about that special relationship. Let’s hope we CAN still swing our hips at 90, Penny! LOL! I hope you have a good weekend. I also hope we get our Internet issues taken care of today. Last night I was booted off again! Aargh!

      Reply
  5. Kristy

    Don’t you just love when you see older people defying stereotypes and still loving life! It always brings a smile to my face. One of my great grandmas was the same way. She lived into her late 90’s and even the last time I saw her, despite being bed ridden, she was all smiles and full of jokes. Wonderful! Dancing Nana and Vinny are definitely inspirations. Thank you for the smiles this week Debra. I hope you are breathing a little lighter as the weekend approaches. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I loved Nana, and I thought it was wonderful the way her granddaughter obviously adored her. You’re so right–LIVE-and have a little fun while we’re at it. 🙂 Tomorrow we have a technician coming to hopefully remedy Internet problems. I wrote this response to you about an hour ago, Nancy, and then couldn’t send it! Aargh!

      Reply
      1. nrhatch

        I hope your internet problems are just dust in the mists of time by now.
        And that your backyard fuss, muss, and dust has settled down too.

        Happy Labor Day!

        Reply
  6. madlyinlovewithlife

    Ha! Ha! I love your three fun stories, Deb. Vin Scully’s appreciation of the sun and the moon was positively delightful, the dancing Nonna made me laugh out loud, and the US-Canada border video was extremely well-done and highly entertaining! Thanks for bringing laughter to my day—I totally agree that it’s the best anti-aging treatment out there.~ Jeannie :))

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the stories, Jeannie. I had some fun with the border video, too! In SoCal we spend so much time focused on the southern boundaries and I have little to no experience with the northern! I was highly amused. As we head towards Labor Day I hope you have a very nice weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  7. hotlyspiced

    It’s so fantastic that a man of that age is able to keep on keeping on with the job he loves – and why shouldn’t he! There’s a Christian radio station I listen to that has a man who’s not quite that age but close, and he keeps coming into work and doing his segment and no one wants him to retire. And as for the dancing granny – she certainly has better moves and a whole lot more rhythm than me. Good on her for having a moment in the sun at her age! xx

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      You have a longer way to journey ahead of you than I do, Charlie, but when I see such wonderful examples of “youthful aging” I am reminded that it isn’t as much about the years as the way we choose to live them. I thought that Nana was hilarious in being such an extrovert. She has probably been a fun person her whole life. My husband is well past retirement age and refuses to do so. When people ask him if he is going to retire, he puts a mock-confused expression on and says, “Expire? You think I should expire?” We do get told age is just a number, but it’s good to be reminded by people who really challenge themselves. I hope your weekend is good, Charlie. My Internet was off again last night! A technician is coming today to try to figure this out, so I’m a little bit behind in visiting my friends at other blog sites! ox

      Reply
  8. Kevin

    Debra — leave it to you!! Perfect timing for a humorous post when we could all use something to smile about. I’ve seen the Dancing Nana before — but the US-Canadian border piece was priceless!! Thanks for the laughs!

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Thank you for such a kind word, Kevin. I do appreciate it when others enjoy something that amuses me! For me this was a whole new introduction to Nana. I don’t know how I missed her, but I’m so glad to have seen the original Youtube, and then I loved her with Ellen! I truly stumbled on the US-Canadian border video and thought how funny that would be juxtaposed against all the wildly outrageous border conversations that are taking place in the political circus. Hope you’re doing well. It’s so good to hear from you.

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      How nice to find you here, Kate! 🙂 Yes, I think I’m quite slow to have found Nana! Apparently she has been very popular for quite some time. She seems to be quite the spitfire at 90 and wouldn’t it be fun to know more about her life and what has given her so much spunk. She is inspiring. The week has ended well, Kate, thank you! I hope you, too, are doing well. I’ll be seeing Andra in a little under two weeks and I look forward to hearing more about her time with you. ox

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Nana was completely “new” to me, Colleen. I heard someone else talking about her with such admiration I had to Google her. I just loved her spunk and sass! I hope to continue to keep a positive attitude and look forward to the future as long as I’m able. I think that good health in old age probably has a lot to do with maintaining optimism, so we do need to take care of ourselves. Keep riding your bike, Colleen! 🙂 ox

      Reply
  9. Otto von Münchow

    I do love people who break with the stereotypes, so unnecessary to say – maybe – that I enjoyed the stories about about Nana and Vin. I hope you home project is coming together in a good way.

    Reply
  10. Anonymous

    I agree I don’t want age to define me! Although I am dressing a little bit more mature these days but still love jeans and sweats and tennis shoes! I love the Dance! Wow that is a long walk good for you! Physical therapy has got me thinking and doing more movement! Hope things will start coming together with your home project! I love your blogs! Deb Wilden

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Isn’t that the truth, Cristina! I, too, looked at the video of “Nana” and thought what a blessing to be 90 and still so vibrant and enjoying life as she is! So wonderful! 🙂

      Reply
  11. Stacey

    This is so great, Debra! Sometimes we have to break away from all the traffic in our lives and in our heads and just laugh a little and enjoy it, too! Now that “Dancing Nana”…that is just too good! What a great picture of how we all should live each day – caring less about what others say and more about what brings true joy and love into our hearts 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post and the things that made me smile last week, Stacey! I think it was the sense of abandon that this dear elderly lady exhibited that inspired me as well! Isn’t it amazing to see someone this age still enjoying life with such joy? 🙂

      Reply
  12. 2e0mca

    Having had a break, I’m busy catching up. Whilst your first two stories are heart warming I was consumed by a mixture of interest and mirth over the last one! If the Canadian’s hadn’t been so busy debating whether they were French of British – still unresolved – they might have decided to build a wall themselves. I suspect that Govenor Walker lives on that special planet populated solely by politicians 😉

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Fabulous analysis, Martin! Governor Walker, as well as many, perhaps most, of the declared Presidential candidates, are most definitely living on their own planet! The circus has come to town! 🙂 I’m glad you had the opportunity to see the Canadian border video. I found it so amusing!

      Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

