I prefer my sand at the beach, thank you!

The last time I met you here I was lamenting that our “home improvement summer” was leaving me a little frazzled. I am pleased to report we’re making progress, but the only sand this beach lover is enjoying right now is in the backyard.

IMG_5835

I look forward to a new driveway and outdoor entertainment space. I also look forward to a clean dog.

 

IMG_5813

I much prefer beach sand!

DSC_7496

When we returned from Kauai in January I dumped all the photos onto the computer and backed them up for safety, but I have a long way to go before hundreds of memories are organized and placed either in digital libraries or printed for enjoyment.

That doesn’t mean I don’t look at them. I often do, remembering the tranquility of such a gorgeous place. Offer me a long stretch of sand and I can’t wait to walk and explore.

It’s been years and years since I saw the movie South Pacific, but Hanalei Pier is a featured location. I don’t know how it may have changed since 1957, however. Hurricane Iniki badly damaged the pier in 1992 and it required rebuilding.

Fortunately there were no hurricane warnings in January!

DSC_7489

 

DSC_7493The pier has had a number of changes since constructed in 1892. The thriving rice industry necessitated changes and the pier was lengthened and completed in 1912 with reinforced concrete and a wooden deck.

DSC_7491

The shed roof was added in the 1940’s. It’s a serene spot offering beautiful views of the Bay.

DSC_7494How’s this for a relaxing spot to take a stroll?

I guess I could bury my toes in the backyard sand…

Who am I kidding?

Island life is calling me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “I prefer my sand at the beach, thank you!

  1. Mustang.Koji

    Ahhh… South Pacific… I remember having a crush on TWO of the actresses: Mitzi Gaynor and France (Frances?) Nguyen. 🙂

    And Zena looks so perturbed! Who’s messing up my yard??!! But I gotta ask… Why all that sand in the backyard?

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      It does look odd to see all that sand in a backyard, doesn’t it, Koji! For a few days we had the equivalent of a large litter box. But the sand is for driveway and landscape pavers. It takes so long because all the perimeter first has to be placed in cement and that first requires a lot of cutting. Once they delivered the sand for the rest of the project it moved much faster. We’re nearly done.

      I really loved the movie South Pacific, too, Koji, and I think it’s time for me to see it again. I certainly recall Mitzi Gaynor, but I’d forgotten about France Nuyen being in that movie. There weren’t that many (still aren’t) Vietnamese actors, and I thought she was a definite standout. I was glad to see her many years ago in The Joy Luck Club. I think our age is showing that we know those two actresses. 🙂

      Reply
  2. lifeonthecutoff

    Ahhhh, the lure of the surf and sand. Maybe if you have one of those wave machines you can pretend . . . No. No pretending the actual beauty of Hawaii. 🙂 These are gorgeous photos and scenes, Debra. Thanks for sharing them. We are feeling fall already here, though great sleeping with the windows open.
    I hope this project comes to a close soon for all of you, including Zena and Darwin. Hang in there, my friend.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      How interesting to me that you’re already seeing signs of fall. We have at least a good six months of “summer” yet to go, and will probably have heat until the end of October. But in a way, that is our autumn, so I guess I’m seeing signs of it, too. LOL! Once the sand was delivered the pavers followed quite quickly, and we are very near the end–and then we can clean up all the areas that have been neglected during the project. It has been disruptive to the pets, including a wandering Darwin found later by one of the workers. I am just eager to have our routines back in place. But it will be nice and clean.

      I still have so many photographs from Kauai that haven’t been shared yet. LOL! I’ll continue to look for opportunities to do so. They’re much prettier than anything I have going on around me at the moment. 🙂 I hope you have a very lovely weekend, Penny. Enjoy those last few days of summer. ox

      Reply
  3. Promenade Claire

    Some of those photos from your holiday are stunning – wonderful colours but most of all I love seeing the different scenery – the hills! Trust me 🙂
    Good to hear things are progressing, the weather is hampering our decorating, but is happening, all be it a bit slowly……

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      Isn’t Kauai just beautiful, Claire? We were there in January for our son’s wedding and everything about it was just wonderful. I would love to be able to get back there again one day! Our project is slowly coming together and we’ll be all cleaned up in just a few days, I suspect. Weather can be such a hindering factor in accomplishing projects. We haven’t had any significant rain in a few years, but we were in a hurry to finish up “just in case” this winter finally delivers! I hope you are doing well! So nice to hear form you, Claire. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      The job is nearing completion and it is really nice–and will be clean again soon! I think Zena will simply be very glad when all the workers are off-site. She has been cooped up in the house during the day and she’s not used to that. I think we all just want our routines back. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      The pavers are in place and except for some detail, it’s a job nearing completion. And the good news? We won’t need to do this again. Maybe one more week and Zena can take a little trip to the groomers. 🙂

      Reply
  4. colonialist

    Much better on the beach. Which also (hopefully) has driftwood in place of hacked-off bits of wood, pebbles instead of chunks of concrete, and seashells instead of sawdust.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      I can see you feel about the beach the way I do, Col! Sand and surf is always appealing. I think the sand in my backyard temporarily looked like a litter box! Fortunately, we have pavers in place now and they contractors are finishing up. We won’t need to do this again! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Karen Snyder

    I’ve never been to Hawaii, but I feel much the same about the Caribbean; sand, sun, exotic foliage and WARM!

    Improvements always seem to take twice as long as the initial estimates for them, but it’s good to hear there’s been progress, and soon the upheaval and mess will be only memories.

    Reply
    1. Debra Post author

      We’re working on it, Karen. Even Zena is growing accustomed to all the changes in habit. And I’ve never been to the Caribbean! I think tropical is tropical and I happen to believe I’d be well-suited to a steady diet of it. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Kristy

    That’s one of the places we visited with the kids back in ’12. They spent their time looking for Puff. 😉 The pictures are gorgeous. Makes me crave an ocean. I’m glad you’re making progress on the construciton. It will be well worth it.

    Reply
  7. hotlyspiced

    I do hope you are through the worst of your renovation ordeal. That sure is a lot of sand and I can imagine the dog must be walking it in and out of the house! There’s nothing worse than a gritty floor! I agree – sand is best kept at the beach. The images of Hawaii look stunning and I sure would like to holiday on the Hawaiian Islands – it’s a true paradise xx

    Reply
  8. Andra Watkins

    I don’t know if I ever told you, Debra, but I starred in South Pacific in college. I love seeing a relic from my past here in your tranquil photos of Hawaii. Here’s to relaxing times together and some sand between our toes very soon. xo

    Reply
  9. Anonymous

    I love tropical I would love to retire to some tropical Island. My question is would it be lonely and once older it seems harder to build relationships then do they want us there is my next question and how often would my grown kids and grandkids visit! Probably not as much as desired! Well it’s nice to dream a bit! Love your pictures! Love Deborah

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

