Aiming for a week in slow motion

I sometimes feel my life is perpetual motion, but once in a while I manage to slow down, and even STOP! This weekend was quietly delicious as I fully let the air out of my tires!

I had plenty of time to watch the birds.

 

DSC_9524

Every year about this time we have an Oriole or two stay for a few days of feeding before moving on. I’m so glad I didn’t miss his arrival.

DSC_9588

This little guy has been hanging around. I’ve never seen him before. Does he typically live near you?

DSC_9581

I caught sight of these two prospective parents pulling nesting material out of one of our lighting torches.

DSC_9548

 

DSC_9556

The finches are frequently on the spillway, but I’ve never seen this particularly colorful hummingbird in my garden before. It’s amazing what one may observe when sitting quietly.

DSC_9619

Someone else was caught in the act. These little thieves are a nuisance, but they need to eat, too.

Even a couple of hours of rain! Every drop brought celebration, and the doves thought it worth celebrating with a little meal.

So how am I going to carry the slower weekend pace into the new week?

Honestly? I’m not sure. But I’m going to try. And perhaps if I feel I’m getting in the way of that peaceful intention, I’ll just have to think about one of my other favorite creatures. He takes life in stride.

You’ll definitely want to read  HERE about this patient pet-owner on the most unlikely stroll! 

I think this gentleman may just have the right idea! If I get moving too quickly this week, I’ll have to see what Darwin has to say about it.

I hope the week moves at just the right tempo, whatever that may mean to you.

And be sure to breathe lighter!

65 thoughts on “Aiming for a week in slow motion

    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I hope this was a good day for you, Rob. Do you refer to it as ANZAC Day in South Africa, or call it Remembrance Day? However it was spent, I know it has meaning for you.

      Reply
  1. Cathy

    Glad you got a chance to slow down at the weekend. I also just sat in the garden for a while without getting tempted to go and do some weeding! Your birds are completely different to ours. Do they sing nicely? Our blackbirds have been singing so beautifully this spring, albeit a little too loud at times! The humming bird is lovely Debra. And that story about the tortoise is heartwarming! Now you could start walking Darwin in the evenings, and get the neighbours talking! 😉 Have a good week, and take it nice and slowly!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      It is always so enjoyable for me to notice the birds this time of year, and to realize that many are on their migratory path, headed home now that their “home turf” is warmer. The black bird is completely unknown to me! There is just one, and I’ve never seen them before. I haven’t had a chance to look through any of my books, but I hardly know where to start since I don’t think he’s “from around here.” 🙂 Your weekend sounds equally enjoyable. I don’t know that I have the patience for walking Darwin, but he isn’t even half the size of the tortoise in the article, and I already can barely contain him. He may get so large he will try to walk me. LOL!

      Reply
      1. auntyuta

        I watched a lot of the Anzak Day commemorations on TV, Debra. They are always sombre services with some haunting singing. Makes me think about the futility of war. So many lives sacrificed, so many families affected by wars, many war veterans needing help for the rest of their lives because of serious injuries. War veterans are honoured but do they always get sufficient support?

        Reply
  2. Jacqueline King

    Thankyou for introducing us to some of the wildlife in your garden, Debra ~ your birds are very colourful compared to the species we commonly find in the UK. As a recent retiree, I’m learning to take life at a more leisurely pace but it’s not easy ~ there’s always something I could be doing! Hanging out with Darwin should slow you down ~ espescially if you decide to take him for a stroll to the shops! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you for taking the time to look at the link about the tortoise on his stroll, Jacqueline! I was so amused by that. I have retirement clearly in my sights and I frequently think about how much I am going to enjoy being home more during the day and I always find watching the birds to be both amusing and relaxing. I hope you have a wonderful week. It’s always nice to hear from you. 🙂

      Reply
      1. Jacqueline King

        Good luck with the ‘being at home more’ once you retire, Debra ~ what with clubs and groups and meeting friends and going for long walks with my man and the dog, I don’t know how I ever had time to go to work!! I love it, though, it’s great! 🙂

        Reply
  3. Chatter Master

    Enjoy Debra! After days of non stop “go” we found our selves with time yesterday and I told my husband we should be doing ‘something’. But I was so exhausted I couldn’t think of anything to do. I looked at him and said “rest” is a good thing to “do”. So we sat. 🙂 It felt good. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I hope that one day I will be completely comfortable with the idea that sometimes doing “nothing” is doing something just as important as accomplishing a task. Sounds like you struggle coming to the same conclusion. But isn’t it wonderful when we do make that choice? I felt rested when I went to work this morning and didn’t have the same level of Monday morning angst! Let’s keep that up. 🙂 Thank you, Colleen.

      Reply
      1. Chatter Master

        And today …..well, tomorrow my post is about today. Though I did enjoy doing some things I also enjoyed doing some nothings. And it was glorious. My problem is that any more I don’t want to end my days. Though I am exhausted….I don’t want to close my eyes. I have to much I want to read, or think about, or do. And it’s all wonderful things for the most part. 🙂 Here’s to us being good to us!

        Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I think the fact that it felt like such a relief to have no appointments, deadlines, or even an enjoyable social event on our calendar tells me I was in need of real rest. I am so glad I listened to myself. I admit that isn’t always true, but it was a wonderful weekend–I plan many repeats of the same. 🙂

      Reply
  4. stregajewellry

    Your bird pictures are beautiful! This is one of my great joys of warm weather. After a day full of toddler chatter, it is so peaceful to go to the back yard in the evening and watch my bird and squirrel buddies. I have a little cardinal family that has been coming for years. I learned to whistle like the cardinal and we “talk” to each other. It’s so nice to slow down and animals are the perfect incentive to do so. LOVSED the post about the pet tortoise! Awesome!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I really agree with you about animals! Watching the birds and small animals that come into our garden can amuse me for hours! The cardinal is really just a very brief visitor. He usually stays no more than a couple of weeks, and I’ve never seen a couple. How charming that you’ve developed the ability to communicate with them! I haven’t been able to discern a whistle or call, perhaps because he’s on his own! But I have noticed other birdsong in the area that is unfamiliar, and unfortunately I can’t always see the birds, but it’s so delightful to know they’re visiting. I hope you have a wonderful week…also hope that warm weather is here to stay. 🙂

      Reply
      1. stregajewellry

        Those little cardinals will hop right down on the wires and keep up a running conversation. They are our state bird and very common around here. I love watching them in the wintertime. The males come down first, but do not eat, then they signal to the little ladies. They watch while the girls eat, then it is their turn.

        Reply
  5. Kate Crimmins

    Great peaceful pictures. The birds are very active here as it’s mating season and there are probably eggs in nests. In a month or two we will see tiny babies learning how to eat at our feeders but until then the parents are stocking up!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I don’t tend to see any babies at our feeder, Kate. I always think we have a good environment for nesting and there are some minimal signs that they’ve at least tried, but I would love to see more. I would imagine your birds are doing a happy dance now that winter is finally over. From what you describe they are having a party. 🙂

      Reply
  6. lifeonthecutoff

    I always enjoy it when you share your visitors, Debra, especially those who stop by for a drink on their way further up north. Isn’t it amazing what birds will use to build their nests. They are such enterprising creatures. I’ve heard the call of the Northern Oriole, though haven’t see him yet. He comes first to find a good location, then she follows. I’m always excited when I hear his call.
    Lovely, uplifting post, my friend; perfect to slow down and enjoy the day. Wish I had a turtle to take for a walk. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Isn’t it wonderful when you realize that you know the call of a returning bird, Penny? I have never heard the oriole’s call, and it may be in part because as far as I can tell he’s on his own. Or at least there isn’t a mate nearby! I’ve been trying to think back to past years and whether or not there have ever been two, and I don’t think so. That seems interesting to me. And the little black bird is completely unfamiliar to me. I’d definitely like to learn more about the migratory patterns, but I suspect those are changing with the way the weather patterns flux. I don’t know that I would even know where to start. I just enjoy. I know that when I retire this is going to be one of my favorite things to do. We are spending a small fortune on birdseed at the moment, but somehow I can always justify it. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Nancy, I know you’re having a hard time right now, so I hope you got some rest over the weekend. I’m just now getting to my computer today and I need to hop on over and see what you posted…I think you have an update for me to read. I was exhausted going into this weekend, but I got caught up on my rest and I’ve made a promise to do this much more often. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I fantasize that when I retire I am going to recluse and take away all demands. I sense that may very well be a fantasy, but I’m holding on to it for now! In my mind there isn’t a “too slow,” but we’ll see how I do when that time comes. It’s getting closer all the time. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Judy Hutchinson

    I love, love, love your posts.. So glad I am getting them at last.. Catching up, actually. Such fun…

    *Judy*

    Reply
  8. hotlyspiced

    I love your photos of all the animals and I’m always amazed at how clever birds are to be able to make their own nests and have them stay in the trees – what an engineering feat! Good to see Darwin again xx

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I hope the little birds nest nearby and perhaps I can watch them, Charlie. They are very resourceful! Darwin hardly moved for at least three months. He doesn’t technically hibernate, but that’s a technicality. He didn’t eat and he hardly moved! So now that it’s warm he’s up and about and keeping us entertained. I’m sure I’ll be sharing more photos of him as we move into summer. He’s a popular fellow. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I agree with you, Robert. I have often commented that I admire the tortoise’s pace! I think my active pace often gets the best of me! I can learn a lot from Darwin. 🙂

      Reply
  9. Andra Watkins

    I love, love, love the pink outfit for the Japanese turtle……..though I suspect Darwin would refuse to wear it. 🙂

    I hope you got my rambling email reply. I’m glad you got some downtime. Thank you for sharing the birds with me. You see so many we don’t have on the East Coast. That hummingbird is definitely new for me.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I always pay close attention to the birds when we travel. I am fascinated with the differences and wish I really knew more about them. Darwin has been known to come to the back door and “beg” for food, so I know how smart these creatures are! And trainable! I’m not sure I have the patience to walk him, though, and you’re sure right about him not wearing costumes. I can’t imagine how dirty that would be. LOL! Yes, I got your email reply. Thank you, my friend. We’ll continue to make some plans. 🙂

      Reply
  10. Three Well Beings Post author

    LOL! Oh you have just given me such a good laugh with your “only in Japan” comment. I’m inclined to agree with you, and I don’t know all that you’re thinking, but I’m amazed at the patience this would take! I’m wondering how the routine started in the first place. So interesting! Zena is still her high-strung self. She occasionally still does damage to the back fence and gate, but at last she isn’t eating the back door any more. We love her, but she sure is neurotic! Thanks for asking, my friend.

    Reply
  11. Choc Chip Uru

    I wish my life was lived in slow motion, right now it is the mad rush of uni and friends and life! Guess I have time to slow down later 😛
    Your shots are beautiful, I love watching birds as well!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  12. aFrankAngle

    Gotta love the variety of birds that pass through, but don’t stick around. The unknown one with the brown head appears to the a cowbird, which I have seen in Cincinnati.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thanks for suggesting the Cowbird, Frank. I had another blogger say she, too, knew it and that her belief was it was primarily a midwestern bird. How’d he get all the way out my way? I’m very interested as I’ve never seen one before this last week. I would like to think he’d stick around, but I doubt it. I have really enjoyed the introduction, though.

      Reply
  13. Karen Snyder

    As is so often the case with me, I’m late reading this. Skimming through all the comments though, it seems no one remarked about the “stranger” you’d not seen before. I was surprised to see him, because I thought Cowbirds were mainly mid-westerners. I recognized him right away, but in looking for a good link for you, I also learned something: they’re sorry excuses for parents! 🙂

    http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Brown-headed_Cowbird/id

    Hope your week is still keeping a slower pace.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you, Karen! You’ve confirmed to me then that the Cowbird was just visiting! I’ve never seen them anywhere around here before, and I pay attention to the birds wherever I go. I’ll spend some time on the link you’ve shared and perhaps learn something that explains his migratory pattern. Just this morning I was listening to our local public radio station and they were asking people to share any changes in patterns with birds and small wildlife or trees and flowers, suggesting that with climate change we might all become citizen scientists and help document local changes. I thought about the little Cowbird and thought I might send a photo and share my observations. Thank you for stopping by. You weren’t late. You were doing what I suggested. Slowing down! 🙂

      Reply
  14. raisingdaisy

    A relaxing weekend is such a rare commodity these days. I love the pics, especially of the hummingbird and finch on the waterway. We have some of those birds here too, including the black bird with the brown head – I don’t know what kind of bird that is either. Glad you had such a nice weekend to wind down, and I hope I can do the same sometime!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I found that announcing that I was taking the weekend “off” really helped. Once I put everyone on alert I didn’t feel as guilty. It was so nice I will need to do it much more often. That little blackbird seems to already have moved on, and someone suggested he might have been a “cowbird,” I think it was. He is definitely not from around these parts. 🙂 I love this time of year when I have a visit or two from a bird we wouldn’t ordinarily entertain. I hope you can do the same sometime before long. I think a weekend with no commitments at all must be rare for all of us, though. Thanks for stopping by and admiring the little hummingbirds! They are sweet.

      Reply
  15. Perpetua

    I’m so glad you managed to slow down a relax properly at the weekend, Debra. Watching wildlife is a wonderful way to do this and I love your bird photos, especially the gorgeous tiny humming-bird. I’m not sure I could slow down enough to take a tortoise for a walk, though. 🙂

    Reply
  16. Epicurean Eva

    Boy, I sure do understand the feeling of wanting to unplug. It’s such a necessary act of kindness to oneself! By the way, That banner photo across the top is absolutely gorgeous! Nice work.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you, Eva. The banner was earlier this year on a trip to Hanalei Bay for our son’s wedding. I have so many happy memories attached to that place now. And I like your comment about unplugging being an act of kindness to oneself! That’s just perfect! I need that reminder as often as possible. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I just mentioned to someone, Rommel, that I can remember when I was much younger thinking that people who sat and watched the birds were either very old or didn’t have much else to do! LOL! And now, I could spend the whole day just watching them. They help me slow down and be still! That’s so necessary in our hectic world. Thank you for admiring with me. 🙂

      Reply
  17. Barbara Bamber | justasmidgen

    I’m so glad you’ve found a way to slow things down in your life, Deb! Isn’t it important to do now and then? I love the birds you have in your yard, ours are quite different here, I don’t think I’ve ever even seen an oriole. xx

    Reply
  18. Otto von Münchow

    It is nice to have a slow week once in a while isn’t it! May you indeed have a week that moves in the right tempo. You show some lovely images here, all inspiring peace and calmness.

    Reply
  19. thefolia

    I hope your slow-motion weekend was wonderful and that you are able to enjoy many more. I am looking forward to winding down during the summer months.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      That’s a reasonable aim, Cristina! After moving with a new baby you’re due some down time this summer! Your nest will be full, but won’t it be nice to have a break from some of the school routines! 🙂 Even though my kids are grown and there doesn’t really need to be much of a distinction between the seasons, somehow I, too, just feel like summer gives added breathing room! 🙂

      Reply
  20. Pingback: #400 « The Sophomore Slump

  21. Cindy Montgomery

    Hi Debra… Just found this one… Still so delightful to read your posts, even years old… Missing you.

    On Sun, Apr 26, 2015 at 10:43 PM, breathelighter wrote:

    > Three Well Beings posted: “I sometimes feel my life is perpetual motion, > but once in a while I manage to slow down, and even STOP! This weekend was > quietly delicious as I fully let the air out of my tires! I had plenty of > time to watch the birds. Every year abou” >

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

