Tempus Fugit

In my daily experience there are few time-related mysteries. I don’t need to question where time goes, I know where I spend the precious commodity. But I do believe time flies.

A few of you have very kindly contacted me to find out if I’m still planning to continue blogging. I didn’t at first realize so much time had passed since I last left you with tales from our whale watching experience.

I really hope you enjoyed some of what I was able to share from our wedding trip to Kauai, because I have more to share at some point.

Our son and daughter-in-law have been married six weeks and it’s been that long since we  returned from Kauai, but the festivities continued into this past weekend.

Jay and I were amused to note that January’s island charm, seclusion and beauty stood in dramatic contrast to the boisterous family and friend post-wedding reception at the Ace Hotel, Los Angeles.

IMG_5180

The Ace is definitely a “happening” place. In fact, young people congregate at the rooftop bar in intimidating numbers. I wandered up that way to see for myself, and commented upon returning to the rest of our party that I’m sure the poolside revelers were quite impressed I was getting along so well without my walker! I was more than a little out of my element.

DSCN1881

Other facets of the hotel were very interesting to me. The Ace was built inside the 1927 United Artists Theater building. The decor is starkly urban with few, if any, “soft and plushy” seating areas and the use of concrete and hard surfaces suit the neighborhood environment. The urban modern complements the original vaulted ceilings and detailed plaster and metalwork, also sensitive to its location in Los Angeles’ historic core.

The guest rooms are industrial, modern, functional and spare, but the reception area was warm and beautifully transformed to reflect the couple’s wish to create intimate and personal space. I found the dinner and overall ambiance to be delightful, but that isn’t what I’ll be talking about in years to come.

What most impressed me was the warmth and life brought to the occasion by a gathering of friends and family.  How special it was to see our children’s old friends, now mature professionals, enjoying the occasion along with children of their own. What a hopeful combination of family history and toasts for the future shared among close friends. Each person represented a distinctly unique relationship to the bride and groom.

I suppose it is true that the curtain has come down on this special wedding season, but as we move on to new seasons in our lives I think  the memories that were made during the last several weeks will continue to infuse us with a deep joy.

And I also predict that I will experience a little reclaimed time and energy that might be devoted to contributing more frequently to this blog. I have quite a backlog of story possibilities. Maybe next time you’d like to hear how I experienced the midnight “club scene” at the Ace Hotel?

That was a first! It’s a wonder I still have my hearing. But that’s a story for another time.

I’m glad you didn’t forget about me in my absence, and thank you for stopping by and reminding me how much I enjoy hearing from each of you!

51 thoughts on “Tempus Fugit

  1. bruce thomas witzel

    Sounds like wonderful festivities. Congrats to yourself as mother (& in-law) of the newly weds.

    Laughed out loud with your walker joke. And been there and done that with the loud deafening music. When we were younger did we take it better… or have they turned up the music? Guess we’re just aging a bit…. hopefully like fine wine and not bitter ale.

    Thanks Deb, for reminding me of family weddings.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thanks so much, Bruce. I’m feeling very grateful for the way my kids have included me in their lives with such intention. They really thought nothing of including me in some of the very high energy activity, but I think it’s rare for me to be so suddenly aware that my age truly made it impossible to just blend in! It was a real wakeup call–maybe a reality check! I’ll be laughing about that part of the experience for a long time. I’m glad you understand! 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Life gets really full sometimes, doesn’t it, Rob! I enjoy relationships so much that I always miss blogging friends when they don’t come around for a while, but I sure do understand! I do feel like I’m playing catch-up a lot lately. We do the best we can, certainly. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I think I already told you that I thought of you and your wonderful camera while I was in Kauai. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    You have got some beautiful photos as memories Debra! The Ace hotel has such a stunning facade and I do hope you will post more about your experiences there, clubbing! Thanks for sharing your warm and happy wedding season with us.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you, Cathy. It has been a really full time, and I am so glad I did take a lot of photos. I learned that I was the only person in our little group who took photos of all the little mundane things…setting up party tents, in the kitchen, someone doing a puzzle by themselves. I think I just wanted to capture it all, and I’m now so glad I took so many! And you’ll be hearing about my “midnight rooftop experience.” It was so funny to me! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Chatter Master

    I had checked to make sure I had not accidentally unfollowed you. 😉 I know how time flies. And there is so much wonder out there that it’s a wonder we have time to blog at all. 😉 I love the pictures!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Colleen, you are so sweet! I have done the same thing, though, with other bloggers. I do notice when they suddenly get quiet. I have a lot more photos, so I’m glad you enjoyed them. 🙂 Thank you so much!

      Reply
      1. Chatter Master

        🙂 I’ve done it before, unfollowed before when I thought I had ‘liked’ something. Then I see that blogger like something and I think…where have they been so I go check and I’ve missed one or a dozen posts. 😉

        I love your pictures, there’s never too many pictures of parts of the world we haven’t been to. 🙂

        Reply
  4. aFrankAngle

    I noticed you’ve been MIA, but i haven’t panicked. Then again, this is a reason I try to announce my absence – thus readers don’t worry and wonder.

    Nonetheless, good to have you back in the saddle, and I look forward to your other delightful posts in your pleasant and engaging style. … especially the future post about your club scene encounter. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I do all of my blogging after about 8 PM, Frank, and I have had good intentions almost every night! I didn’t plan to fall away, but then that’s the problem, I didn’t plan to fall asleep! LOL! I am hoping to do a little better. I have missed my blogging routine, such as it is. 🙂 I will definitely get to the clubbing story soon. I can make fun of myself without too much hesitation. 🙂

      Reply
  5. raisingdaisy

    I missed you in your absence (in fact I just commended to DD about that last week!), but I had no doubt you’d be back. I don’t see you as the type of person who’d just drop your blog without a word to your blog buddies. 🙂 Time does fly, and I have to admit that sometimes it slips away without my knowing what happened to it. Looking forward to hearing about more of your experiences and seeing more wonderful photos!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you so much! I really appreciate knowing I was missed! I didn’t intend the absence or I would have said something, you’re right about that. I found that someone I had really enjoyed suddenly just pulled their blog and it isn’t even there anymore. That really caused me to feel concern and I realize that somehow we are all connected in our sharing and it would feel very strange to just stop posting! It was nice to actually realize I felt I was missing out. So thank you! I’ll definitely share soon about my “night club” experience. LOL!

      Reply
  6. Kate Crimmins

    Good to have you back. I wasn’t worried because I saw you buzzing around on blogs. I loved your comment about the adult friends of your kids. My adult nephew (almost 50) traveled in a posse (no other word for it) when he was young. When they get together I am always amazed that that collection of kids have turned into doctors, pastors, actors, PhDs and Moms. I have been blessed to see the transformation and I do wonder where time went….like the last 40 years!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      My son dated his wife when they were 15! I have photos of them in their prom clothing. There were a lot of years in between when they weren’t together, but the reception really was like old home week! They have mutual friends that go back 20 years. Of course, I’m not any older, you understand! 🙂 I think I’ve been a little emotional during this time, too, which made blogging a little harder. I’d have written some really sappy posts! LOL! It was best I waited, I’m quite sure!

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you for such a lovely compliment. Vlad. I appreciate you stopping by. I hope that you will one day visit the United States and I’m glad I am able to share a little bit of California with you. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Inger

    I missed the trips you took, but hope to catch up some time soon. I always enjoy your stories from our beautiful state. It must be interested for people from other states and countries to learn more about California. Also, thanks for your kind comments.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I have really had a heavy heart for you, Inger. I know what you’re going through is all-absorbing, as it should be! It’s very kind of you to take the time to leave such a lovely comment. I know that right now you have almost no time for blogging. I do enjoy highlighting a little bit of California. I always think of it as an opportunity to give a little different look than what usually ends up in the headlines. 🙂

      Reply
  8. Andra Watkins

    Read this at 4am EST. Coming back to comment at 10:30pm CST. Very packed, fun day with Penny. We want to FaceTime with you while I’m here. I hope we can coordinate a time. AND I hope you’ll come back and tell your clubbing story.

    Reply
  9. Three Well Beings Post author

    Oh Face Time! How fun! I’m not very experienced with FT, but I can figure it out! I think the time zone will just make it a little tricky, but I’m flexible on that! Let me also think about when this might work best! I’m just so glad you two are together this week. I was a little out of my element at the top of the Ace Hotel. I’ll be telling you about it. 🙂

    Reply
  10. Perpetua

    I can sympathise with the way time has slipped away from you, Debra, as the same has been happening to me recently. But you have a much better excuse for your blog silence in your wonderful family weeding party. I love the way your son and his new wife have arranged two such contrasting ways to celebrate their marriage – island idyll versus urban sophistication. 🙂 I’m quite sure anyone fortunate enough to have taken part in both will never forget them.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      It really has been a very special season for us, Perpetua. I have enjoyed every minute of each occasion that brought us all together as family and friends, but it’s definitely time for me to slow down. I am looking forward to this weekend with no plans and hopefully no major interruptions. 🙂 I hope you have a good weekend as well, my friend.

      Reply
  11. hotlyspiced

    It certainly sounds like the celebrations have gone on and on and on and how lovely is that. I can totally understand how your time has needed to be channeled away from this blog and onto family matters. The Ace Hotel sounds like the place to be and I’m sure you managed to kick up your heels and party like you were many years younger – why let the youth have all the fun! xx

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      It’s been a very joyful season, Charlie. I’m a little sorry that all the celebrating has come to an end, but at the same time I really do need to place my attention on other matters! I can keep up with the younger crowd just fine, but my recovery rate is a little bit slower. 🙂

      Reply
  12. lifeonthecutoff

    Life does have a habit of getting in the way at times, doesn’t it, Debra? How nice that your readers were checking up on you and nicer, still, that all is well. Such a busy time for you and your family.
    Loved the walker, Debra. When I was in the ER for my knee a few weeks ago, the tech had some trouble figuring out why I was on Medicare. He thought I was too young. 🙂 That sure took some of the pain away.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Oh I do love your experience with the tech and Medicare! That comes as a great boost, I’m sure. I hope you’re continuing to heal well, Penny. I kept up with all the younger crowd reasonably well, but I don’t think their recovery period was quite as intense as mine has been. I’m afraid my response time at work this week was rather sluggish. 🙂

      Reply
  13. 2e0mca

    It is fascinating to read about the building and its modernisation Debra. And also great to read about your ‘family’ experience and the happy memories that you have been able to put away for the future 🙂 I bet that roof-top bar was fun! Looking forward to your future tales of wonder 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I really did have a great time with all the “young crowd” on the roof top, Martin. I was somewhat fascinated observing all the conversation that was flowing despite the earth-shaking music volume. I couldn’t hear any conversation at all. The views were wonderful, though. The city looks a lot better in the dark. LOL! Thank you for your kind words. 🙂

      Reply
  14. Three Well Beings Post author

    Thank you, Cristine! I did spend some time on the dance floor and had a great time, but more than that, really enjoyed watching all the little ones enjoying themselves. That made it extra special! 🙂 My heart is very full! ox

    Reply
  15. Time With Thea (@TimeWithThea)

    Just stopping by to say hello and let you know how much I enjoy your storytelling in your blog. You have a wonderful talent. Perhaps we can connect one day. I do head down your way about once a year! From your Canadian friend, Thea

    Reply
  16. restlessjo

    Debbie, it’s been a joy to travel back with you through these past few weeks. The sun is peeping into my little corner of the world (temporarily 🙂 ) and I have 2 Mother’s Day cards beaming at me (one beautifully hand-crafted, the other totally unexpected). The joys of being a parent are many, as are the sorrows sometimes. I hope that the joy you have from this happy family time stays and stays. Hugs to you!

    Reply
  17. colonialist

    Wonderful experiences. I am not a fan of hard surfaces and the stark urban scene, but a bit of it by way of contrast can be refreshing.
    Kauai, though – oh, WOW!

    Reply
  18. Pingback: View from the top of the Ace Hotel, OR, We were packed in like sardines | breathelighter

I always enjoy hearing from you!

