DSC_4270

“Why do they not teach you that time is a finger snap and an eye blink, and that you should not allow a moment to pass you by without taking joyous, ecstatic note of it, not wasting a single moment of its swift, breakneck circuit?” ― Pat Conroy

I don’t know what I was thinking. I honestly thought I’d be able to move through the month of January with ordinary rhythms. I don’t know myself as well as I purport.

My son is getting married this week. He and his bride-to-be have ambitiously coordinated events to bring their parents and siblings together in joint activities that have surprised me from the very first mention. He was born with an independent nature and I somehow missed many of the clues that would have prepared me for his desire to closely meld two families.

This hasn’t been hard for me.  We have known the other half of our now larger family, although there were large gaps of time when we didn’t, for more than two decades. I have a photo of the bride and groom that dates back to high school prom night twenty years ago. Sometimes it takes awhile for stars to align.

So back to my belief that I could be fully present for this special time and also share it. I can’t. Or maybe it’s really that I don’t want to. Every now and then I think about the joy of this union and I realize it’s impossible to capture it in photos. And parents take these things in with a special lens that doesn’t translate anyway.

So I don’t know what you’ll see or hear from me this week. I have every intention of sharing details later. But for now, my only awareness is to open up to the experience and be as conscious as possible through each small moment. We don’t get them back.

The big day is Thursday. The only detail I’ll share for now is that there will be sand under our feet. I don’t think he had his mother in mind when he chose a beach wedding, but he is my son after all…he loves the ocean as much as I do.

For this one week, life will not be rushed. No “break neck circuit” for me.

Breathing lighter…Debra

34 thoughts on “Memorizing the snapshots of a very special week

  1. mihrank

    Beautiful image – words – scenery – Congratulations for your son wedding, wish him a new successful and pleasant journey! Just enjoy and relax, that is the best way!!

    Reply
  2. Choc Chip Uru

    Oh my gosh congratulations!!! I am so so sooo excited for you, the event is going to be incredible! I’m sorry, I will be stalking your blog even more now, I adore weddings and everything to do with them!
    Wish you and your son and your family all the best!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  3. nrhatch

    If one of the activities includes you, a grass skirt, and a lei . . . please get someone to snap a shot to share with us stateside.

    Best wishes to the Bride and Groom.

    Reply
  4. Eric Tonningsen

    Bravo on no break neck circuit. Revel in the festivities and they’ll easily etch in your mind… much better than what digital images can capture. Enjoy it as a sensory delight. 🙂

    Reply
  5. aFrankAngle

    Congratulations to you & Jay! … and best wishes to the new bride and groom. Take you time … so enjoy the week and the event … and just come back when you’re ready. Besides, no Life: The Musical this week. 😉

    Reply
  6. Cathy

    How lovely to have a wedding on the beach, and to marry a childhood sweetheart too! Have a wonderful time and enjoy it to the full! And best wishes to the bride and groom!

    Reply
  7. Grannymar

    Enjoy every moment, you, as mother, have earned it! I look forward to news of the day and realise that photos may have to wait until the Bride and Groom allow their publication.

    Reply
  8. hotlyspiced

    Congratulations on such happy news. I do hope the wedding goes off beautifully. I will be thinking of you on Thursday. A lot of people in Sydney choose to get married on the beach because we have so many beaches and good weather (usually). My sister married a few years ago and she married a guy she met and went on a date with when she was 17. They remained very good friends and he was asked to do the speech at her 21st. How they didn’t get it together way back then is a mystery but some 21 years went by before they married. Their wedding was such a joyous celebration and I know your son’s will be too. Good luck! xx

    Reply
  9. Anonymous

    Congratulations Wow! So excited for you all! I pray many of Gods Blessing over your Son and his Bride! So very happy for you! Love Deb

    Reply
  10. Karen Wan

    How wonderful! I have been absent from blogging for a while. What a nice thing to hear for you! I have to say that I always wanted a beach wedding, so I’ll be eager to hear how everything goes on Thursday. Congratulations!

    Reply
  11. Otto von Münchow

    I think the most important thing is to enjoy the moment of your son’s wedding. Be present and be there for your son and his bride. As others point to, it such a wonderful start to the new year. And if you need pictures, you can always hire me … 🙂 Congratulations!

    Reply
  12. shenANNAgans

    OMG! I love weddings, I plan them for a living, so good thing I guess. I am excited for you, although I can appreciate the thoughts on families merging and all the who-har that comes along with it. When my bro married into a huge Irish family, it was just me and my Ma on his side, totally overwhelming, we felt really out of place. But we did it, and found a way to represent. LOL! Congratulations, I do hope the day was a success and you enjoyed, will have to do a bit of a stalk to see the post wedding post now.
    Happy Tuesday and week ahead.
    Cheers,
    Anna

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Sticking Close to Island Time | breathelighter

  14. Barbara Bamber | justasmidgen

    I’m so glad you didn’t rush this.. what a special special time to be fully present. I look forward to those days with my kids.. somewhere in the distant future, lol. I find being behind a camera can sometimes make me feel “apart” from the experience sometimes.. I’m glad you took some time to just enjoy the experience! xx

    Reply
  15. Perpetua

    I’m so sorry I missed congratulating you and your son before the event, Debra, but I’m sure you’ve had the most wonderful family celebration. It sounds like your son and mine have things in common. He and his bride also had a different kind of wedding, in their case in a country house in the remote Highlands of Scotland! 🙂

    PS I just love your new header photo!

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

