We’ve Got Rain!

I must admit I was skeptical, even though a different, more optimistic tone to the weather prognostications. Local meteorologists have been beaming widely and almost jumping up and down for the last couple of days as they organized “Storm Watch” command posts.  But any rain at all and we proclaim “storm watch.”

Yesterday’s reports predicted two to five inches of rain in the foothills. There’s a big difference between two and five inches. So it was simply wait and see.

And then this strange and foreign moisture began to accumulate. Some of it even fell to the ground!

DSC_6314

It wasn’t much, but it was delightful. I hadn’t seen puddles in quite some time.

DSC_6335

Well, look at that! I don’t remember the last time I saw water actually moving down the street. I’m so excited I don’t even start worrying about the lack of catch basins.

IMG_4888

Oh boy! We could light a fire in the fireplace! The inside temperature still registered 72 degrees, but I WAS damp!

DSC_6332

Oh look at that! The decomposed granite we put down a couple of months ago–replacement for drought-parched grass–you can really see that the water is pooling! Percolate little drops of water! Our water table needs you!

DSC_6325

 

Oh shoot! It’s coming down really hard now! They weren’t kidding! I wonder if we should have moved more of the patio furniture. Do you think wooden tables will float?

 

DSC_6328

It hasn’t rained since we brought Zena home to live with us. White dog…eighteen inches of muddy water…I don’t even want to think about it!

IMG_4887

There’s a slab patio under there somewhere. This should be interesting! One thing is for certain, I am loving this! No matter what! The same meteorologists who were jumping up and down in excitement are now reminding us that all this lovely rain doesn’t mean the drought is over.

Well, it’s over for this week! And if it keeps up, I’ll have a small lake in my back yard. Isn’t this wonderful?

60 thoughts on “We’ve Got Rain!

    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I don’t know yet, M-R. It will be interesting to see what comes from this. We don’t have the best catch basin systems so sadly a lot of this will runoff right into the ocean. If the mountains get enough snow that will go a long way towards solving the problem for now. I am really enjoying the sound of the rain tonight. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Jeff Fetterly

    I’m thrilled for you and the rain that you got today. I geuss I don’t realize over here how badly California needed that before reading your post. It really is a serious circumstance you’re in with such a lack of rainfall over there. I hope Xena had fun in the decomposed granite lake & I hope you’re all well & dry! Talk to you soo., Aloha, Jeffrey.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      We are in the middle of a multi-year drought cycle, Jeff, and it has really been difficult. Flooding in the backyard is just fine with me today. It’s still raining tonight and we should have more tomorrow. I think Zena is actually a little afraid of the backyard lake, which works for me. LOL! We are warm and toasty…thank you. 🙂

      Reply
  2. J9

    RAAAAAIN! It is making me so happy! Avoiding puddles felt like a silly first-world problem today. It has become such a luxury to have superfluous pools of water just lying about on the ground. Just lying there!

    Reply
  3. ChgoJohn

    I was so happy to read of the rains in California, Debra, and more so now that I know you’re a beneficiary. How wonderful! Even though it’s nowhere near being a drought-ending event, it must be nice to look out and see things wet again. I bet it won’t be long before some of the plants respond and a bit of green returns to the landscape. May this storm be the first of many yet to come. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      The rain has been absolutely delicious, John. It was so great to see all that standing water just percolate down into the ground and to know that even if this storm is considered somehow aberrational, it had to do us some good! And if we can have one freak storm we can surely have another. I am not ready to give up my optimistic nature quite yet. 🙂

      Reply
  4. dandyknife

    That’s terrific, Debra, as is your attitude — out there, dancing around with your camera, grateful for and excited about every drop that comes your way — enjoy!

    Reply
  5. dandyknife

    Am having trouble with my blogging platform or iPad or something; the screen doesn’t seem to line up with the whoozits underneath (e.g. I pressed Publish on a comment to CJ and got his flag counter info). I wanted to add, “Thank you for the blast from the past from Sonny and Cher!”

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I often have trouble with blogging on my iPad. It doesn’t always work for me, either! I’m so glad you enjoyed Sonny & Cher. I get such a kick out of the clothing…wish I still had my bell bottoms (not that I could squeeze into them!). 🙂

      Reply
  6. speccy

    I love your reaction to rain Debra- few things highlight the difference between Ireland and Los Angeles more 🙂 Keep up with the rain dance x

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      It’s probably as hard for me to relate to heavy natural rainfall as it is for you to know what it is like to go four years without more than a sprinkle, Fiona. It’s been funny this week because I have indeed loved the rain and no one in their right mind would complain for even one second, but I had to take note of how inconvenient it was. LOL! I picked up the granddaughters from school and ruined my shoes. We don’t even own boots! And the dog…that was a real mess. So it’s kind of funny, but I realized that it is easier to operate without rain, but I would be very willing to buy rain gear if we could improve the odds towards more rain. Thank you for being happy with me! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Kevin

    Each time I see a California weather update, I always think of you and wonder how you’re coping. Just yesterday, the news featured a California town where water is being shipped in because wells are dry. And then when it rains, I still worry because of the mudslide risk. I guess what I want to say is go dancing, play with the dog in a muddy puddle, and be careful. I think I speak for all of your readers when I say that we’re thrilled that “we’ve got you, babe.” 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      We may even get a little more rain tomorrow! Thank You Lori. I think Zena has even adjusted. At first she didn’t seem to know what it was. LOL! I wondered about young children. Any children under about four years old haven’t had much experience. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      So true, Frank. I think the mudslides were minimal this time, however. Of course the fire departments are very prepared and the sand bagging brigades were in full force. We may even get a little more rain tomorrow…I’m hoping. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      You’re so kind, Andra. It’s hard not to pay attention when I do so much complaining about the lack of rain! LOL! Even though I ruined a pair of shoes and have almost forgotten how to operate in heavy rain, I had a smile on my face for two days. oxo

      Reply
  8. raisingdaisy

    I was thinking of you this morning when I heard about heavy rains in your area! I’m so happy for you. I did hear about flooding concerns because the ground is so dry, but I’m sure it’s still a very welcome sight! Hope you get more in normal amounts at regular intervals. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      That’s so kind of you to say you thought of me. Thank you! There was some flooding, but nothing like predicted and it really was wonderful. We keep being told this was an aberrational storm and not to get too excited. LOL! Optimism and hope doesn’t sell well. But maybe we’ll have a few more aberrational weather patterns…anyway they come is fine with me. 🙂

      Reply
  9. Slow Happy Living

    I’m glad you’re finally getting some rain! We get so much around here that I’ve often wished I could send you some. Right now, however, I’m glad we have a bit of rain coming over the next few days, as it will finally raise the temperature and melt all the snow that’s been hanging around since last week. Anyway, enjoy your rain while you can!!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      There’s a concept I have never even thought about, Lori—needing the rain to melt the snow! It would be quite a learning curve for me if I lived in your state. 🙂 We enjoyed every minute of rain and there may even be a little bit more tomorrow. I’m currently operating on the notion that every drop counts. 🙂 Hope you have a good weekend,Lori…and rain to melt that snow! I take it you can run in rain but snow must be a real obstacle!

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you for asking about Darwin, Koji. He hasn’t moved out of his little burrow in about two weeks. It always completely freaks me out when he gets this “quiet” but it’s normal. He doesn’t actually hibernate, but his metabolism completely slows down during the winter. He only eats every couple of weeks and mostly just stays tucked up inside his shell. He’s very safely kept inside his little house! The rain was wonderful while it lasted. Let’s hope that wasn’t the end of it!

      Reply
  10. hotlyspiced

    Sonny and Cher! Now there’s a blast from the past. Weren’t her outfits eye-catching! I’m so glad you’ve had some rain; it is long overdue and will be so good for the gardens. We had a huge storm here last night after a hot and humid day. The heavens really opened up and we bunkered down inside. Like you, we really needed the rain as my lawn was so dry it was brown xx

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I was so familiar with the song, Charlie, but hadn’t previously heard it sung by Sonny and Cher. That was fun for me, too! I have really been enjoying this storm. We didn’t get as heavy a downpour today as yesterday, but it was slow and steady and we have sure enjoyed it! 🙂 I know that brown lawn look so well, my friend. Every drop of rain is simply precious. I know you get that. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I’m so glad you enjoyed Sonny and Cher, too…I can’t help but smile when I see them in their fabulous clothing and 60s style! It’s rained here all day today…not as hard as yesterday, but it was enough to be really thrilling! Thank you for being happy with me, too, Jeannie. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Yesterday Zena really didn’t know what to do with the rain. She didn’t approve of moving her food dish, couldn’t get to the back where she normally does her business, and we had to encourage her to eat! She’s so finicky! But today the rainfall wasn’t nearly as heavy and she seemed to like it. It was great to see that all that standing water from yesterday had percolated into the soil and it leaves me at least encouraged. I guess you’ll have to see what the soccer field looks like this weekend. Hopefully the boys can still play! 🙂

      Reply
  11. lifeonthecutoff

    Rain! Glorious rain! I know you are enjoying it for now, Debra, and I don’t blame you; I would be too. 🙂 Love, love, love this Sonny and Cher video. Yikes! 1973! That was the year Tom and I were married.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Ha! It does take you back when you see Sonny and Cher in those funky duds, doesn’t it, Penny? Makes me smile every time, too! Hope you’ve had a good week and all is well. The rain has been so pleasant! We may even have a little more yet this weekend. 🙂

      Reply
  12. Grannymar

    Enjoy the rain, if it runs out, email me and I will send more post-haste, we have more than our share across the pond! By the way, there is a charge for this gift: Six buckets of warm sunshine! 😉

    Reply
  13. NancyTex

    You were the first person I thought of when I saw news reports on the rain. I know how badly your area needed it, Debra. I hope the effect of too much rain, too quickly, doesn’t cause too much damage.

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

