A busy Halloween, and now on to November!

Last Saturday we had a large birthday party at our house. My favorite six-year old turned 7–with a giant bounce house and all the excitement that comes from a large family with happy, young cousins running all over the place. Aimee simplified the occasion with catering –tacos made on the spot. Everyone could eat to full contentment, no personal fuss or muss!

It’s been quite a rush of activity. For the first year in decades we couldn’t even fit in our annual pumpkin carving. The best I could manage was assisting the girls with a glue gun and succulent pieces. In the first few days of October we were eager to add a little fall color, but with triple digit temperatures it wasn’t likely a pumpkin or two on the front porch would do more than draw flies. These little guys still look good 30 days later.

 

Succulent Pumpkins

October was a busy month–multiple birthdays and reasons for gatherings at our house-so I am fairly “partied out,” but I held on with just a little more “oomph” in reserve to enjoy Halloween.

 

Our very own Madeline Hatter and Princess Jasmine waited all week for the big day. They wore their costumes to school and shared parades and festivities with their teachers and classmates.

 

Beautiful witches hat and marvelous gloves, Disney princesses in abundance, dinosaurs and dragons, Roman soldiers and butterflies and a beautiful orange snail– I love to see the personalities of the children (and teachers) in the choice of costumes. The Principal officiated as an excellent “Doc” Brown from Back to the Future, and my favorite, a charming little Pinocchio, was popular with everyone. The “cloud” drew attention, “dripping” a little rain.

I spent many years teaching 4 and 5 year-olds and being the person-in-charge of so many Halloween parties. It brings me so much pleasure to watch all the parents in their excitement, doing all they can to give their little ones a happy Halloween experience.

The ante has been raised in creativity as all the moms now go right to their Pinterest Boards for snacks and treat suggestions. Sophia’s teacher requested parents bring a few healthy options to balance out the usual sugary treats and Aimee went to her own Pinterest Boards.

What a nice way to end a week…and end a month!

Oh, one more little piece of happy to share.single rain cloud

See that little dark cloud? That was earlier this morning. He invited some of his friends to come and play and can you hear me doing my happy dance? It’s raining! I don’t know for how long…but it’s raining! What a nice way to go into the weekend.

I hope each of you also has a happy weekend exhale and you take the time to push your re-set button!

And did I mention? It’s RAINING!!

 

 

 

 

96 thoughts on “A busy Halloween, and now on to November!

    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I was watching the satellite photos of the rain and could see how hard it was raining north of us! We didn’t have nearly as much, but we had enough to wash everything clean. And it was delicious. 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying your weekend, Kathy.

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      The rain was so needed, and I surely did enjoy it. I am looking forward to a quieter November. All the happy occasions of October have worn me out! 🙂 So good to hear from you!

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      LOL! Halloween isn’t my thing either, Rob, but I know a lot of adults who go all out! The children are mostly interested in the candy. And they sure brought a lot of it home. Now I have to keep my hands out of those bags. Chocolate talks to me.

      Reply
  1. hotlyspiced

    Rain? How unusual for CA and how wonderful for your city. I hope it lasts a while. The birthday party with a jumping castle sounds like great fun. I love the Halloween costumes – so much creativity there and I do hope you had a wonderful Halloween xx

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      The rain didn’t last long, Charlie, but it was absolutely delicious. I hope it’s a good sign that there’s more to come! The birthday party was great fun as well as Halloween…I think even the children are exhausted, though. Time to move into a quieter month. LOL! Hope you’re doing well, too! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Grannymar

    Bouncy castles are fun for folk of all ages. Your celebrations sound wonderful and I am glad you have rain, although I bet it is warmer than the kind we get!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      You are right, Marie. It is a very warm rain…I slept with the doors open to enjoy the sound and wasn’t at all cold! Wouldn’t it be fun if we could exchange our homes for at least a week…let’s make it at least a month. 🙂 I probably wouldn’t fare too well in the cold, and I can guarantee you’d get tired of the heat. It’s a fun thought, though, isn’t it? ox

      Reply
        1. Three Well Beings Post author

          My grandmother was born and raised in Scotland. She came to California as a teenager and she never did get used to the heat! She avoided the sun as much as possible, which isn’t easy to do. 🙂

          Reply
  3. Cathy

    I can hear that pitter patter of rain from here… or is it your heart jumping?! So glad you finally got some relief. I hope it cools down a bit for you now too. The girls’ costumes are lovely. They both look gorgeous! 🙂
    We have got lovely sunshine today and it’s lighting up the golden foliage. A national holiday too (All Saints Day) so double weekend relaxation. After all, you can’t work on a holiday can you?! Have a wonderful weekend Debra!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      We celebrate All Saints Day in some of our churches, Cathy, but I didn’t realize it was a national holiday in Germany. I would like to know more about that–I’m going to google my questions! And your day sounds lovely with lots of sunshine. I enjoyed the whole day today, Cathy, with everything smelling nice and fresh. I’m glad you have also had such a good weekend. And now we’re on to November. 🙂

      Reply
  4. auntyuta

    To have a Halloween party at school must be wonderful for the kids. I love all the costumes and your description of what everyone was wearing. Great that the Principal joined in the fun too. Very creative healthy Halloween food looks very good.
    🙂 I enjoyed this post, Debra. I can understand how you love to have some rain. Have a good weekend. pushing your reset button. We had a very hot day today, some bush fires west of Sydney/ But it has cooled down now and we also had a bit of rain. Cheerio, Uta

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Oh I don’t like hearing about the bush fires, Uta. And you’re not yet into summer! Our rain wasn’t too plentiful last night, but it was more than we’ve had in a very long time and I enjoyed it. I opened the windows at bedtime and went to sleep with the sound of rain and I loved the smell of everything wet and clean this morning. Of course, we also had to contend with a wet dog today. LOL! Thank you for being so appreciative of the photos of the children. I really enjoyed watching them have fun yesterday! I hope you’ve had a good weekend. How is it possible we are already into November. 🙂

      Reply
  5. raisingdaisy

    What a wonderful week and the girls look stunning in their costumes. I love seeing all the kids in their Halloween finery, it’s such fun. We’ve been having a lot of heavy rains lately and I keep thinking how much I wish there was a way for the east coast to share it with the west coast. I’m so glad you’re getting some rain at last!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      The rain was so enjoyable, and I’m going to consider it a positive omen of more to come. Thank you for thinking of us in the midst of your plentiful rain! They can invent almost anything. Why not a pipeline? 🙂 I loved watching all the children at the girls’ school and just seeing their excitement and watching their parents beam! It was a fun week…but I’m ready to move on to a quiet November. LOL!

      Reply
  6. dandyknife

    Wouldn’t a home-visiting taco station be a change of pace for a party in foggy Saint John!
    Live pumpkin decorations will deteriorate here too, once the squirrels have nibbled them. They don’t really eat the pumpkins, just vandalize them, the naughties.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I never thought about squirrels getting the best of the pumpkins! That is quite naughty to just make a mess of them and then move on! I don’t know when they first started catching on, but it was a very enterprising and successful idea. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Aren’t all the costumes just delightful? I think it’s so much fun to watch the children in their excitement. I was teaching in the years before I had grandchildren so I have had a lot of elementary school Halloween experience, but this is a lovely season as a grandparent. You have many years of enjoyment to look forward to, Lori. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I went to sleep last night with windows open thoroughly enjoying the lullaby of the rain, Karen. It was delightful. I am sure it wasn’t much in total, but it was enough to be extremely pleasant, thank you! I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Robert, if I didn’t have grandchildren to keep me in the Halloween loop there wouldn’t be much for me either. We only had three children stop by our house last night–and one was my two-year-old niece! 🙂

      Reply
  7. lifeonthecutoff

    Yea! I could just hear wee rumblings of a happy dance way over here, Debra.
    What a busy and fun time you are having. The girls are adorable and those treats; oh yum. Our niece was just saying this afternoon that their kids’ school encourages snacks that come in their own skin. It made me smile.
    Enjoy the rain and cooler temperatures. We had snow flurries yesterday. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Snow flurries? That just makes me want to giggle, Penny. It hardly seems possible that we are at that time of year, but of course we are. October is really our family birthday month, from ages 70 to 7 and several in between! :-)It has made for quite a lot of celebrating and I think we are just ready to take it easy for a while. The rain was so wonderful and just washed everything clean. I’m so glad you stopped by to hear our good news, my friend. I hope you, too, have had a very nice day. ox

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I’ve been smiling all day, Colleen. It’s been overcast and cool and I just enjoyed the change! I’m sure if we had rain more than once or twice a year–lol–I wouldn’t be as happy about it. It was delightful!

      Reply
  8. Choc Chip Uru

    Seems like Halloween brought luck with the rain 😀
    Hope you enjoy it!
    And all these costumes? SO cute, I absolutely love the Princess Jasmine one (my fave princess :D)
    Hope you had a wonderful day!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      It was a bit funny that it rained on Halloween after so many months with no rain, but it didn’t seem to upset anyone’s plans! It came later than most children were out trick or treating. Princess Jasmine was a very popular costume from what I could see at the girls’ school. I actually heard something on the news just today about how much money was spent on Disney princess costumes in the U.S. this season. It was astronomical. LOL! I think you would be a beautiful Jasmine, CCU. Next time you’re invited to a costume party, I vote you go in that direction. 🙂

      Reply
  9. NancyTex

    Oh I’m so happy to hear that you’ve finally gotten some rain, Debra! I was chatting with a colleague from SoCal who was also in the Atlanta office this past week, and he was lamenting about the drought conditions. How wonderful that the rain clouds have finally arrived. May they drench that parched soil!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you, Nancy. I think that one reason we are all so “hyped up” about the drought is that the media just won’t let it go! So much of the coverage is apocalyptical. According to many, we are completely doomed. LOL! After awhile, it’s hard to turn that message off. I took Friday’s lovely rain as a sign of hope and I’m sticking to it. It was wonderful while it lasted and maybe we’ll have more soon! 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you, Inger. I’m so pleased you enjoyed the photos of the girls and their Halloween festivities. Did you happen to get a light snow with that last rain? I”m sure you at very least got a good soaking. It was so nice, wasn’t it?

      Reply
  10. Time With Thea (@TimeWithThea)

    Loved your post! The costumes were fabulous. This may sound silly but I truly got goose bumps for you when I read that your very dry state got some rain. YAY! I wish we could send some of our moisture your way. We had a big snowfall yesterday and now it is all melting. My three rain barrels are overflowing with all of the snow melting. Have a lovely November.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Wouldn’t it be great if somehow there was a huge pipeline connecting us to the water you don’t need? We wouldn’t have to be too greedy–just enough would be great. LOL! I have been thinking about getting a rain barrel. We talk about it but haven’t yet prioritized the purchase because, well…you can imagine how sad a rain barrel would look in our garden with absolutely nothing to do. 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by, Thea. It was nice to hear from you.

      Reply
  11. Kristy

    The girls look adorable! I hope they had a wonderful Halloween. It’s so odd to me to see a costume parade without winter coats! We actually even had snow on Halloween this year! I hope you had a good rain the other day and that you got some good exhaling time this weekend. It looks like October was full of excitement and fun! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Kristy, I really appreciate your comment about the Halloween parade without coats! I honestly do forget sometimes to even think about such differences–especially this early in the season. It’s supposed to be 90 degrees again tomorrow. LOL! It’s just crazy, isn’t it? The climate isn’t cooperating, but Darwin has officially started his fall-winter slow down and hasn’t eaten in a few days. He knows it’s time to shut it down. If we could just get Mr. Sun to go into hiding a bit, I think we’d be better off. 🙂

      Reply
  12. Dee Ready

    Dear Debra, it’s so exciting that you got rain! I’m wondering how long the rain fell and how much collected in your rain gauge. I’m hoping the rain fell anywhere that forest fires still creep over the countryside.

    As to those Halloween costumes, they are truly creative and your granddaughters must have felt like royalty. I don’t remember Halloween being celebrated in kindergarten or grade school. But I can remember donning an outfits devised by Mom and trick or treating in my grandmother’s neighbor. She lived in Kansas City whereas we lives outside of Independence in the country so the houses were far, far apart. Peace.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you for your kind excitement about our rain. It rained on and off all night, so several hours, and although mostly a light rain, I think there was enough to do a little good! I did smile at your reference to a rain gauge. I don’t have one, Dee. It just never has seemed worth the effort. LOL! The good thing for the area was snow in the Sierras and we do rely on the snow pack.

      I’m glad I could share a title of the Halloween festivities from the girls’ school. I really enjoyed watching all the children and it occurred to me, too, that we didn’t have any of that Halloween attention at school when I was a child. I think today the school administrators are trying to give the parents an option if they don’t want to go door-to-door later in the evening. Thank you, for stopping by for a visit, Dee. 🙂

      Reply
  13. Kevin

    What an amazing and creative Halloween! It certainly beats the trick or treat activity in my neighborhood. By night’s end, I had zero costumed kids and two huge bags of candy. On second thought, that works for me. 🙂

    So happy that it’s raining for you. May it be a gentle rain — not something that comes down so heavily that it overwhelms the parched earth.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Kevin, we only had three trick-or-treaters on Halloween–and one was my 2-year old niece! LOL! So all that candy….I won’t admit a thing about where it all went. 🙂 I was glad I could enjoy the children at school and to share their excitement. That made up for the dismal door-to-door showing. And the rain was so welcome, Kevin! I am hopeful for more…just not this week. We are having another heat wave. LOL! Oh well…

      Reply
  14. thefolia

    I love the idea of transforming cuties into pumpkins with a sliver of celery. My boys ran into our room and asked what is that when they heard the rain in the middle of the night! It also made for more exciting soccer matches the next day on the muddy field. Cheers to more rain.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Oh Cristina you made me smile with your boys’ inquiry regarding the rain and the strange sound. It reminded me of the dog trainer asking me if Zena had anxiety with thunder storms and I started to laugh. I told her I had no idea! But yes, it was so nice to have a little rain and I’m sure your boys had some fun with the puddles on the soccer field. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      What a fascinating notion, Nancy! We do have a lot of fog in California, even Southern California, so it’s interesting to consider the kinds of technology that may be invented to adjust for climate change conditions. It helps to read things like this Sierra Club article–we have to remain hopeful. If we only listened to what is being reported I’d despair! Thank you.

      Reply
  15. ChgoJohn

    I saw that rain was forecast in your neck of the woods and immediately thought of you, Debra. I’m sure it’s a long way before one can even think of the drought ending but that doesn’t make it any less enjoyable. You sure did have a busy month and your girls looked so cute in their costumes. Not a single child came to my door this year. Sure am glad I bought candy that I like. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      The rain wasn’t too plentiful, John, but it was really so appreciated and reminded me of how refreshing it can be! The next day was just gloriously washed clean! And we only had three trick-or-treaters, with one being my 2 year-old niece. I am not sure what happened to all that candy, either. I admit to nothing! 🙂

      Reply
  16. Jacqueline King

    What a fun~filled post, Debra ~ your excitement and joy shines through in your words and pictures and your beautiful granddaughters are adorable, no wonder you’re so proud! Halloween parties and ‘trick or treating’ on a wide scale have only become popular in the UK over the past ten years or so ~ although there have been rituals associated with it for centuries, of course. This year we drove through a housing estate and it was fun seeing all the children going from door to door in their costumes, with some of the accompanying adults in fancy dres too! The weather has been mild here (until yesterday, when temperatures dropped) but clearly not as hot and dry as where you live. We actually complain about the rain here, we get so much! It’s been lovely peeking inside your world and comforting the similarities and differences 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I also really love comparing the differences and similarities in our ways of life that are so often affected by geography and climate! I am sure there would be a point where daily rain would grow old, too. We just have to make the necessary adjustments, but I’d like to experience something different. I need to travel. LOL! Thank you for the kind words as to the grandchildren. They are growing up so quickly, I get a lot of pleasure from some of these times when they can have a little fantasy and just be kids! Halloween is good for that exercise. Thank you so much, Jacqueline. I hope you’re having a good week. 🙂

      Reply
  17. Mustang.Koji

    You called that rain? It didn’t even wash off the jihadist pidgeon poop off my car. lol

    Debra, your photos once again complement your writing so well… Its like boy friend and girl friend madly in love. And I am happy you and your family had such a wonderful time – although admittedly it rained a tad on Halloween. The first time that I can recall in quite some time.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      We actually did get quite a bit of rain, Koji. Either that or I was in such a state of delight that I exaggerated how much it was. LOL! That’s possible. 🙂 Thank you for the kind words regarding the photos. I was having such a good time with the children at their school. On occasions like Halloween I do miss my days as a classroom teacher. I remember how much fun it was to see the children enjoying a little fantasy. 🙂 So nice to hear from you, my friend.

      Reply
  18. aFrankAngle

    Halloween in warm weather is a different sight for me. 😉 … Now that your October of celebrations is over … take a rest … but only a short one because Thanksgiving is just around the corner.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I have been thinking that November, even with Thanksgiving, is easier on my than October! We just never stopped. LOL! I never thought about how different it might look to see children in costumes without an outerwear, Frank. That must look strange. Early morning and late evening is sweater weather, but the days are still reliably hot. I keep thinking this can’t go on forever…we hope. LOL!

      Reply
  19. Sallie (FullTime-Life)

    The taco bar is the greatest idea for a birthday party EVER! And all the kids look like they are having the best time. So nice to see. Glad you got your much needed rain.

    And PS: my Oregon pelicans will be blogged on Friday this week . Thank you for visiting FT-L!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      If we get back in synch with a more plentiful rain pattern, no matter how often it becomes an inconvenience, I will not complain (not out loud anyway) LOL! The little that we had was really welcome! And I had a lot of fun with my little princesses. Thank you, Martin. 🙂

      Reply
  20. Promenade Claire

    hello my friend, long to no see / hear 🙂 Lovely to see you are busy and happy and well ! And as for rain, we’ve had our fair share this last couple of weeks, mind you in September we had the driest month on record…. strange weather patterns. Claire x

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      So nice to hear from you, Claire! I have wondered if you’d have the time to come back and visit. 🙂 I would never have known about the shortfall in September rainfall! It is a bit concerning when we note wide patterned weather changes, but I’m still hoping some of these troubling signs are simply temporary. My fingers are still crossed that we’ll have some more rain soon! I hope you had a bountiful allotment this past summer. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      This is hilarious, Nancy. I haven’t seen this one! I will have to keep it close and share it at some point–both for a laugh and as a worthwhile public service announcement. Thank you. 🙂

      Reply
  21. Barbara Bamber | justasmidgen

    I adore little ones in Hallowe’en costumes! It was one of my favorite occasions when I was a Kindergarten teacher.. going on parade around the school and admiring the amazing creativity. I can just imagine how much more inventive moms are these days with so much on line inspiration! I love those little orange pumpkins!! Yay for your rain!! Wishing you more and more rain clouds in your future!!

    Reply
  22. Perpetua

    Halloween has never been part of my life, Debra, but you obviously had a lot of fun helping your granddaughters celebrate it, though doing so in such high temperatures must have felt odd. So glad to hear that it’s been raining. Long may that continue.

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

