A new week…

It’s a new week, a new month, with fresh opportunities. Take a deep breath and exhale last month, last week, yesterday…

Early morning fog over the rose garden.

Early morning fog over the rose garden

“There is nothing permanent except change.” Heraclitus

I don’t want to rush or hurry through the end of the year. So I won’t.

Christmas the week of Halloween

Christmas the week of Halloween

“Forever is composed of nows.”  Emily Dickinson

Just be.

Car parked in front of San Gabriel Mission. Original!

Car parked in front of San Gabriel Mission. Original!

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.  Steve Jobs

And don’t forget to nourish imagination.

Santa Catalina off the coast of San Pedro, Los Angeles

Santa Catalina off the coast of San Pedro, Los Angeles, November 2, 2013

“Imagination is the highest kite that one can fly,”  Lauren Bacall

…Breathe lighter…Debra

 

55 thoughts on “A new week…

  1. Cathy

    Aaah. Thanks for reminding me to breathe deeply and exhale! That first picture is so pretty Debra! Autumn mist certainly has its up sides too. November is often such a grey month I shall use it to prepare for Advent and then just relax all December! (She says!) Have a great week! 😀

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I am definitely enjoying the cooler mornings and when we have a little fog I just drink it in, Cathy! I hope you can definitely approach December with at least a relaxed attitude if not relaxed schedule. 🙂 That’s my goal, too!

      Reply
  2. Chatter Master

    I felt much lighter just looking at these. As I scrolled down and the pale blue and white of the sky above the ocean came in to view I caught myself holding my breath. It was so soft….. Have a wonderful evening. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Hotly Spiced

    That’s a beautiful Christmas tree but surely it’s a bit soon? It will be dusty before Christmas arrives. I love the purple car – what a bold statement. And your roses are gorgeous xx

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I loved that purple car, too, Charlie. I would have liked to see the owner. A true original! 🙂 Christmas is all over the place right now and has been for two weeks. It fatigues me every time I see a display. LOL!

      Reply
        1. Three Well Beings Post author

          I have read some warm, lovely stories over the last week with writers sharing memories of cooking potatoes in the coals and other Guy Fawkes celebration traditions. Not a one said, “tonight Britain celebrates burning Catholics.” You are quite the truth teller, Jim. 🙂

          Reply
  4. Aussa Lorens

    Is that YOUR rose garden? It looks beautiful, I just love the fog! And yes– it’s a good reminder. I want to really slow down and enjoy this time of year… it’s been such a great year, can’t wait to see how it all turns out 😉

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I love your attitude about finishing the year with real enjoyment and celebration, Aussa. Your statement that you can’t wait to see how it all turns out actually helps me. I find myself “white knuckling” it a bit when I think of how busy it will turn. You’re awesome! And yes, the roses are ours. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I love the ocean, too, Fiona. I live about an hour inland, but I find reasons to get a glimpse as often as at all possible. Just a few minutes staring at the sea and I’m a different person. 🙂 I hope you have a good week, my friend.

      Reply
  5. dadirri7

    wonderful photos and quotes Debra, I love the purple car, my grandfather always wanted a purple car!!! …. but the best one is the rose garden in the mist … gorgeous 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I’m glad you enjoyed the photos and quotes, Christine. The foggy morning was so welcome! I loved the purple car, too. When I was a child I had a great uncle with a purple glitter motorcycle. We kids thought it was just amazing. Although that was at least 50 years ago we still talk about it…and him. He was an original! 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I know you have a very BIG week with your surgery, Perpetua, and I am sure everything is going to go well. Won’t you feel relieved when it’s behind you! I hope the quotes and photos offered a moment of quiet. ox

      Reply
  6. Grannymar

    Wonderful photos and thoughts to focus on. I refuse to mention the ‘C’ word for another month, although I did see someone with a red hat on their avatar the other day. Crazy!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Everywhere I go there are full displays of Christmas decorations and reminders to “shop early” etc. They started in mid-October. I am also just refusing to get into that thinking, but I notice I’m already feeling a bit burdened just by the visual reminders! LOL! I’m the one who needed those quotes and photos. I’m glad I could share them with you, too. 🙂

      Reply
  7. AirportsMadeSimple

    I love the car! Great photos, and thanks for helping us all “Breathe Lighter.” 🙂 Have a great week!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Isn’t that car just amazing? When I was a very young child I had a great uncle with a purple glitter motorcycle! I thought he was just so cool. hahaha! I saw that purple car and wondered about its owner, thinking, “There’s an original!” I hope you, too, have a wonderful week. And thank you for stopping by. 🙂

      Reply
  8. Kristy

    Wonderful photos and thoughts Debra. Even though I haven’t been by to visit as often as I would like, I have to tell you that you are never far from my thoughts. I think “exhale” very often and often remind myself to breathe lighter. You’re words have become mantras for me. 🙂 I hope that all is well with you and your family – Darwin included of course!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you so much, Kristy. You just warmed my heart with your comment. I hope that you and your precious family are doing well. The children are at such a wonderful age, but I do recall very well what those years were like. Busy! 🙂

      Reply
  9. ChgoJohn

    Thanks for the gentle reminder, Debra. November and December tend to get lost as we rush to the holidays. Before you know it, it’s January and we’re wondering what happened. We’ll get to January soon enough. In the meantime, let’s just enjoy the ride. 😉

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I am so interested in trying to slow down and enjoy the end of this year, John, and it is so hard! Everywhere we go the messages are already coming at us to make plans, accept invitations and of course, spend money. I’m determined to cut back on energy all the way around, but I’m going to have to really work at that! I’m a planner, and sometimes that translates into the mind rushing ahead. Someone said to me in a comment that they were just so eager to see how it all turned out. I loved that! I translated that to mean that I didn’t have to have every moment either planned or spoken for. That alone would be a big step forward. Let’s neither of us rush! 🙂

      Reply
  10. lifeonthecutoff

    Even though I’m finally reading this several days hence, this post really resonated with me, Debra, with your fabulous quotes (of which I will commend to my commonplace book) and wonderful pix.
    Love the car.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Good morning from California, Claire. I’ve really been enjoying the roses. This year I think they are more beautiful and abundant in November than I can remember in recent years. I’m grateful for the color, as everything else is going into a nice fall sleep! I hope you have a wonderful weekend, my friend. I always smile when I see you’ve been by. 🙂

      Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

