It’s family pumpkin carving time again!

Autumnal pumpkin carving is a long-held family tradition and this year we made the decision to turn a birthday celebration into a pre-Halloween event!

The birthday girl turned 6, and was allowed for the first time to carve her own pumpkin.

Birthday Girl with Jack

Adding in hair and whiskers completed the look, although Sophia is a realist. She took one look at her finished product and said, “I think next year when I turn seven I’ll do a better job.”

Minions made an appearance this year.

Minion

Some artists prefer drawing to carving and Karina was very happy with her Minion.

Karina with her pumpkin

Creative hands at work…including a battery operated pumpkin knife!

Not a bad way to spend a day, I’d say.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Backward, turn backward,

O Time in your flight

make me a child again just for to-night!”

Elizabeth Akers Allen

43 thoughts on “It’s family pumpkin carving time again!

    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you, Colleen. I had such a good time watching all the pumpkin carvers chatting and helping each other. It was really such a simple day, and sometimes those are just the best!

      Reply
  1. aFrankAngle

    Hooray for the family effort … and for Sophia’s first! Love the one using the stem as a nose!!!!! But the fountain is my favorite pic .. simply a thing of beauty!!!!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      We did enjoy having a nice afternoon of being together. We have had a family birthday every weekend in October, so we needed to do something a little different for Sophia’s birthday. We had such a good time I think we’re going to do this every year on Sophia’s big day! She loved it. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I think next year we need to remind everyone to bring their own tools! 🙂 I think some of our artists would have done better if they had better knives. But it didn’t matter! We had such a nice afternoon just being together.

      Reply
      1. PigLove

        Oh yum. My pot belly is already growling. Thanks my friend. Like mom says here at the Hotel Thompson, nothing goes to waste with her oinkers pot belly – snorts. XOXO – Bacon

        Reply
  2. nrhatch

    Love the pumpkin with the mouthful of teeth and how Sophia created a spikey mohawk.

    Sophia, the Sophist ~> I’ll do better the more practice I get.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Sophia, the Sophist! I won’t forget that…she is quite consistent in this kind of thinking, sometimes really amazing me. It was fun to watch the process. Some really put a lot of effort into the carving and others were more interested in the food and drink! LOL!

      Reply
  3. Time With Thea

    What fun for the family! Happy Birthday to the six year old. My daughter is 22 years old and attended a pumpkin carving party with her cousin and her friends. The fun continues even with older girls! ~Thea

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Hi Sharyn! My future daughter-in-law is an artist and responsible for the full set of teeth! Most of the rest of us kind of struggle in the “art department.” LOL! Sophia did make me laugh with all those toothpicks. What she doesn’t have in artistic ability she does have in imagination! 🙂 So good to hear form you!

      Reply
  4. Grannymar

    All this Pumpkin carving makes me want to try it.

    When I was a child Halloween was a family time. We had not heard of the American trick or treating. We ate colcannon, apple pie and barmbrack. Apples and nuts were our treats and we sat round the open fire and listened as our elders told stories. We heard all about the banshee, a ghostly old woman who sat on a gate post, keening and combing her long grey hair. There were scary ghost stories too, that made us frightened to climb the stairs to go to bed.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I love the sound of your Halloween memories! Just the idea of the family gathering around an open fire swapping ghost stories sounds really memorable. I have never really thought much about Halloween trick-or-treating. It was always a good thing that when the children were young their dad was a big kid, because I could barely tolerate it! LOL! But family gathering…that I love. 🙂

      Reply
  5. dandyknife

    The most frightening time at Hallowe’en for me as a child was watching my brother cut the top out of the pumpkin with the (large, slightly bendy) roast knife. That electric knife you’ve got there is brilliant!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I must admit I was a little worried about all those knives myself. When someone asked me for a razor I said “No!” That seemed a bad idea with the thick skin of a pumpkin! 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by!

      Reply
  6. lifeonthecutoff

    What terrific fun and creativity, Debra, reminding me of the nights we carved pumpkins as a family. The girls always had fun, but, having an artistic daddy always provided challenges of its own. tee hee
    Karina and Sophia seem to change so much from picture to picture. We have two goblins visiting us right now, though we won’t be doing jack-o-lanterns this year, making your post all-the-more-special.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Oh I’m so glad you have your little goblins visiting, Penny! What fun! And I can imagine the jack-o-lanterns “the artist” would have carved! I enjoyed watching all the methodologies. Some were very careful and took a real effort to create something special and others, like my Jay, how quick can we push the eyes out and get a candle in there! LOL! It was great fun, I will admit!

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I liked the way Sophia wasn’t happy with her jack-o-lantern but went for the tooth picks to liven it up! Thank you for the birthday wishes…I can’t believe she’s six! 🙂

      Reply
  7. ChgoJohn

    A battery operated pumpkin knife? It really is a brave new world! How happy Sophia must have been to be able to use a knife to create her art. She certainly looked proud of her creation but, like all true artists, she already sees room for improvement. Karina looks equally proud of her Minion.
    Belated happy birthday wishes, Sophia! What a great way to spend a birthday! May the year ahead be equally special for you.

    Reply
  8. Beth Gramling

    Very festive– and I can’t decide if the “Girls” grew more this year or if the pumpkins did!!! Well, there are certainly more of the pumpkins!! Happy Hallow’s Eve to you and the Family! Blessings!

    Reply
  9. Hotly Spiced

    What gorgeous images and so celebratory for the season. I love the carved pumpkins and I think both granddaughters have done an excellent job and I have never carved a pumpkin (we don’t have your variety available here in Oz) so I’m suitably impressed – it doesn’t look easy xx

    Reply
  10. Heather

    Hi,

    Great blog! What fun we had. 🙂 Can’t wait til next year.

    Hope to see you next week,

    Heather

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  11. Pingback: A quiet Halloween night. No ghosts, goblins or zombies at our door! | breathelighter

  12. Perpetua

    What a fun way for your granddaughters to hone their creative skills, Debra. There are plenty of pumpkins in UK supermarkets nowadays, but to mundane me they only signify soup. 🙂

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

