Backyard conversations. Are we listening?

When I get very busy…

I need to refine my balancing act.

Blue and Orange Dragonflies

And pay attention…

Blue Dragonfly

Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things. Robert Brault

Blue Jay with Peanut

Curiosity is one of the great secrets of happiness. Bryant H. McGill

Darwin eating succulents

No valid plans for the future can be made by those who have no capacity for living now. Alan Watts

Rocky in his bath

Smile, breathe and go slowly. Thich Nhat Hanh

Migrating Bird

All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on.  Havelock Ellis

Rocky and DarwinStress is caused by being ‘here’ but wanting to be ‘there’. Eckhart Tolle

Pensive Blue JayDon’t wait for the perfect moment. Take the moment and make it perfect. Unknown

Climbing DarwinEveryone wants to live on top of the mountain, but all the happiness and growth occurs while you’re climbing it.  Andy Rooney

RockyHappiness is not a station you arrive at, but a manner of traveling.  Margaret B. Runbeck

ButterflyIt worked…

I’m breathing lighter.

Hope you are, too.

47 thoughts on “Backyard conversations. Are we listening?

  1. lifeonthecutoff

    Wonderful, Debra, and just what I needed as I call it a day here, breathing a bit lighter for all these great quotes and photos.
    You may know that I keep a “commonplace” book, where I write quotes and words of wisdom. I will enter these on its common pages and think of you each time I see them.

    Reply
  2. Hotly Spiced

    I love the images of the dragonflies. They’re such pretty insects. In a previous home we had a large pond with fish and lily pads and the lily pads used to attract the dragon flies. I loved to sit around the pond and watch them and yes, it did make me breathe lighter xx

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      This is the first year we’ve had blue dragonflies. I’ve never had them grace my yard before. It is so wonderful to realize how just watching a beautiful insect can be calming! I’m glad you enjoyed, too. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Frank

    Darwin looking at the camera made me smile! … Meanwhile, a wonderful post with great quotes. The Andy Ronney one my favorite.

    PS: Graeter’s at Ralph’s

    Reply
  4. Inger

    Thank you for this Debra, one just has to read your posts a few times to know you only need the occasional reminder to stay on the right path in life. I am smiling now, it feels great.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Rocky is a little box tortoise we found in our yard more than ten years ago. He has grown very little. He’s a sweet little thing, but he really doesn’t do too much because we can’t let him roam. When he escapes he really does disappear for days! But you’re right, he really shows how huge Darwin is getting. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I don’t share Rocky too often, because he really doesn’t do much. LOL! We found him in our yard more than 10 years ago. He’s a box tortoise and a sweet little thing. He really does escape and disappear from time to time. I have my hands full with these tortoises. LOL!

      Reply
  5. ChgoJohn

    A wonderful post, Debra. I recognize Darwin but who’s the new guy? Did you already introduce us and I’ve forgotten him?
    My favorite part of the day is spent sitting in my yard with my first cup of coffee. My time is limited for the Sun soon rises over the trees and garage, bathing my refuge in light. Not long after it’s too warm to sit comfortably but that’s OK. Without that nudge, I’d sit out there all morning. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I have said over and over that the most wonderful thing I look forward to in retirement–not quite yet, but I’m getting there–is to be able to spend my mornings just as you describe. I’m out the door at 6:30 in the morning and I just can’t get up any earlier than I do to enjoy time outdoors in the morning. That’s #1 on my wish list! 🙂

      Rocky is our little boxed tortoise. I did introduce him once some time ago, but he doesn’t do much, and I haven’t given him much public attention. We found him in our yard more than 10 years ago. I’m going to share about him again soon because lately we have learned more about him and in contrast to Darwin’s needs, he is quite interesting, too. We have to watch him very closely when he’s not in his little terrarium home, because if he gets out he moves very quickly. I’m sure he was some local child’s pet when we found him in our yard! I hope you are having a wonderful day, John, and that you had your morning time! 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Getting out in nature, even if it’s just in my backyard, is my fastest route to letting go of stress–taking a little breather from my duties and responsibilities! I highly recommend developing a pattern of doing the same. I’ll keep encouraging that. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I think you must be right in the middle of such a lovely landscape, breathing lighter must come a bit more naturally, Perpetua. But I know we all need to let our minds rest and somehow these little creatures do speak to me. I’m so glad they do, and that you enjoyed them, too.

      Reply
  6. Kristy

    Sigh. I needed that! Thank you Debra. It was very good timing that I read this post. Been a rough night with little Miss A. I don’t know where she gets her stubbornness! 😉 (My mom might have an idea though…)

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Oh poor little Miss A. I know precisely what those meltdowns are like. The funny thing for my daughter is that she wasn’t like that at all…her brother was! 🙂 We moms and grandmas need to stick together and look for ways to release the tension. Life is moving SOOO fast, I think even our little ones must feel it. ox

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I’m so glad you could enjoy the walk around my backyard with me, Barbara. The whole idea was to slow down, so I’m glad you did. I am sure the earth is spinning faster–I can feel it. 🙂 We need to do what we can to hold on. ox

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Life has been going at entirely too fast a pace for me right now, Kate, but when I get going with the camera I automatically seem able to slow down! And somehow these little creatures really do seem to speak to me! Your gorgeous walk in the forest indeed must serve much the same purpose. Aren’t we glad we can put our attention elsewhere from time to time. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Sometimes I need to remind myself just to slow down and enjoy what’s right under my nose! This is one of those seasons, Uta. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the quotes, also.

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      He really does know best, but I must say he really did some serious damage to some of my succulents this weekend. I’m really up against a quandary! Ha! I never thought of a tortoise as destructive, but he sure can be. Good thing I’m attached to him. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Promenade Claire

    What a wonderful post Debra, fab photos, and fun action photos of Darwin too! And so many great words, each and everyone a gem. I hope you are breathing lighter this weekend my friend x

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

