Care to join me on a walk around the campus?

It was light by most standards, but we don’t turn up our noses at moisture in any degree.

I think Mark Twain said it best when he said, “In the spring I have counted one hundred and thirty-six different kinds of weather inside of four and twenty hours.”

In between light showers I thought it would be nice to take a little walk Β around the campus.

Take a little break today and see what spring surprises you can find. I highly recommend a mid-week nature walk to help you breathe lighter– maybe you could share a photo or two of your own. I’ll be waiting to see what you come up with.

“The front door to springtime is a photographer’s best friend.”~Terri Guillemets

35 thoughts on “Care to join me on a walk around the campus?

    1. They are just little turtles, and aren’t they sweet? I could spend all day watching them. They don’t do much, but the babies like to try to crawl on the parents’ back and that’s fun to watch. πŸ™‚

  1. What a nice stroll you shared with us, Debra. I could sit and watch turtles for hours. There aren’t many “turtle ponds” around here or at least places where the turtles allow themselves to be seen. To b able to watch them, even if only sunning themselves, is a real treat. And the blooms are really beautiful. We’ve finally got some of our own starting to open up. It’s a wonderful time of the year.

    1. Spring is really special to us all, but I can imagine that it would mean even more in regions where winter puts most flowers and plants to sleep for a few months! I took my coworkers for a little morning walk to say hello to the turtles again this morning. I don’t know the mechanism, but isn’t it just incredible how watching a little creature like that can bring a sense of peace and harmony. I had no intention of posting about the walk yesterday until I realized that hours later I was still smiling after spending my lunch hour with them! I’m glad you enjoyed, too, John. Thank you!

  2. what a gorgeous walk debra! flowers, fish and turtles, all so entrancing … i can just imagine all the fragrances too … how lovely to have this beauty on campus (my last one was very dull!)

    1. It’s true that Azusa Pacific University is a very lovely campus. It’s relatively small, but the grounds are really quite special. When I begin to feel a little claustrophobic in my office I can go outdoors and have a nature walk. I do feel fortunate! πŸ™‚

    1. I am so fortunate that the university where I work has lovely grounds. When I get claustrophobic in my office I can take a nice walk outdoors and the seasonal changes are nice to observe. I am glad to have you enjoy the walk with me! πŸ™‚

    1. It pleases me to know that you can identify my photos at a glance, Koji. I’d like to say it’s all about the photography, but on the other hand, who else takes photos of turtles. LOL! Thanks so much for your kind words!

  3. What a lovely campus Debra! I need to do that more often at lunch. I just seem to get stuck in my chair and work the hour away. As the weather gets nicer I vow to change that though! I wonder what kind of nature I’ll find in the urban environment I work in. It could be a real adventure!

  4. Actually, I do have some very recent pictures of turtles that I hope to post soon, Debra, and was thinking of you and our daughter Katy who loves turtles when I spotted them at a little lake nearby. Don’t you just love how they all gather and bask in the sun? We had some gorgeous weather here, for a few days. Alas, it has turned a little cooler, but still nicer than winter for sure.

  5. Lovely, Debra. πŸ™‚ Sadly our beautiful spring weather has turned very wet and windy, but inspired by your example I too will take a nature walk once the rain stops.

  6. Wow, such lovely pictures to look at. I may surprise you one day, and take photos of walks in nature and share them; you certainly are very encouraging. πŸ™‚

  7. Dear Debra, I will take a walk today–around the small park that extends beyond the President Truman Library. I’ve been trying–amidst days of rain–to walk by the Little Blue River, which is a mostly deserted spot out in the countryside east of my home. Highway 24 goes by and there’s an overpass over the trail I walk.

    I didn’t realize that I was afraid until a bad dream woke me yesterday morning. In the dream I was walking and I passed a young man and walked on and then I felt something stir behind me and glanced back. The man threw himself at me and I fall on the ground with him on me. In the dream I realized he was going to rape me. And that woke me up. On reflection I realized that I was nervous–and fearful–about the isolation of where I was walking.

    So today, I’m going to go in town and walk in the small park that abuts the Independence Library on its east side and the Truman Library on its north side. Around the other two sides are family dwellings. So that will be much safer.

    I have no camera so you won’t be receiving any photographs of the surroundings! Peace.

    1. Your dream was terrifying, Dee, but I think I would be inclined to think of it as a warning, too. Our subconscious can sure speak to us in a dream! I am very reluctant to walk in areas that are too isolated. Unfortunately it’s just part of the realities I think we are living with in this age. But I do hope you’ll continue to find good and safe places to get out and enjoy. I hope you are continuing to take good care of yourself, Dee. ox

I always enjoy hearing from you!

