What are you looking for this week?

Thank you for being a friend

Traveled down the road and back again

Your heart is true, you’re a pal and a confidant.

And if you threw a party

Invited everyone you  knew

You would see the biggest gift would be from me

And the card attached would say thank you for being a friend.

(Lyrics from Golden Girls theme)

Kay, Debra, Bev, Joy and Ginny (left to right)

Wonderful friends are nourishment, boosting reserves for the next leg of the journey! This year we each mark  our Diamond Jubilee…it sure is easier to go the distance with smiles on our faces. And the best thing? We may be “Golden Girls” but we can still laugh at the same memories and for a short time feel like we are 18. It was a lovely weekend.I am expecting good things “going forward.”

We had another unexpected visitor. Sitting on the patio Ginny, Kay and I enjoyed watching the birds. And look who found us?

Expectation!

“Well, you can go on looking forward,” said Gandalf. “There may be many unexpected feasts ahead of you.” J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Hoping you’re anticipating a good week. Let’s be on the lookout for a variety of feasts!

Monday breathing lighter…Debra

58 thoughts on “What are you looking for this week?

    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thanks so much, Frank, and yes, we did raise a glass (or two) and I only hope they weren’t tired at the end of the weekend from me recounting so many of the interesting blogs I read…and what I enjoy most! I definitely shared about your church wine group! We agree that you have a really wonderful social outlet that isn’t often replicated! 🙂 Debra

      Reply
      1. aFrankAngle

        Glad the group had a good weekend and was able to partake with the glories from the vine. Thanks for the promotion to the group, and who knows, maybe someone will drop by. Note to self: Write a post about having a church wine group.

        Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thanks you SO much, Andra. I had a wonderful time! I think nothing makes me feel younger than when I’m with these women. We actually sat together on Saturday evening going through 40 year old Seventeen Magazines that one of the gals held on to all these years. The models were Cheryl Tiegs, Twiggy…we giggled our heads off! That’s got to be good for our overall health! 🙂 Mr. Hawk was just icing on the cake. You are just so dear to have thought of me. Thank you! D

      Reply
  1. foodblogandthedog

    That song makes me cry (sad I know) I think it’s because I hardly ever see my best friend Tara but I know she’s always there. Beautiful bird! Birds and butterflies when you connect with them or they connect with you feel so special, I think they have a message for us!!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      My goodness, Natalie! That really is sad to be so far from a wonderful friend. I know what that is like, too! 😦 Some of these dear women had been such good friends from young childhood through high school, and then we went our separate ways for 40 years! The reunion about two years ago was most amazing. I wish I’d been blogging then, because it was incredible to reunite after that long! I hope you do have times ahead when you can further enjoy Tara’s company. Our friends are indeed special and carry something unique in them for the shared memories! The young hawk was incredible, too, and I tend to agree with you that they are there for a purpose…and I always try to listen!! Debra

      Reply
  2. Dee Ready

    Dear Debra, I so liked your liking “The Golden Girls” theme song to the photo of you and your friends of so many years. For me–unmarried and without grandchildren–my friends are family and they are the macronutrients of my life! Peace.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I’m glad you liked the song choice. We are definitely in the right age range to be Golden Girls! 🙂 Every single person in our little group has a different story and a different family complexity…we aren’t all the same, by far, and that makes our sharing even more rich, I think. And for me, as I’m getting older, I do think my friends are going to be important to navigate some of life’s complexities. They make a tremendous support group! I’m sure you have many wonderful friends, Dee! oxo Debra

      Reply
      1. Dee Ready

        Dear Debra, yes I have many friends who give salt to my life. We talk about ideas–politics, movies, religion, spirituality, television shows, cooking, recipes–the whole gamut! I’m so blessed that they have chosen me as a friend. Peace and happy 4th!

        Reply
  3. Hotly Spiced

    What a lovely photo of you all. I’ve heard that theme song so many times and I just can’t believe I didn’t recognise the words. Great choice for your post. Lovely photos of your other visitor xx

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thanks, Charlie! It sometimes doesn’t feel like it, but we are the right “vintage” to be called Golden Girls! LOL! We laugh like teenagers, but that’s about it! Ha! I’m glad I could share all my visitors with you, too. Debra

      Reply
  4. raisingdaisy

    How lovely that you have such a close circle of good friends! I could hear the Golden Girls theme as I read the words. 😀 Good friends are among the best nourishment for the soul.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      These are such wonderful friends, and we don’t see one another often at all, but with email and Facebook, there is still an opportunity to peek in on one another. A couple of them follow the blog and I can share that way, too. It’s special indeed! Friends are so important! I am glad I could share mine with you! 🙂 Debra

      Reply
  5. ChgoJohn

    Glad to read your reunion went so well, Debra. It’s always good to reconnect with old and dear friends. It’s good, too, to make new friends, and that hawk is a good-looking one to have. They’re such amazing creatures and did you get a load of those talons? I’m glad he’s your friend. I wouldn’t want to be an enemy.

    Reply
      1. Three Well Beings Post author

        Yes! This whole Spam issue was complex. Odd things were happening on many different fronts! I got different answers from different sectors and that didn’t help, but in the end, I think it’s okay now. I also learned that it’s probably best not to ask too many questions. Just wait it out! 🙂 D

        Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I was really afraid that Mr. Hawk was going to “take out” one of the birds feeding at the rear of the yard while we were sitting there! I get so torn between watching in wonder and anticipating a death! But the birds all scattered the minute he came on the scene and that’s one reason we saw him! And my reunion was just wonderful. I think getting older reminds us that we need to take advantage of the times we can be together, and not to foolishly think we have unlimited opportunity. We never talk about such things, but we are all aware. It makes these times particularly special and meaningful. I’m so glad I could share these old friends with my “new” blogging friends! Thank you, John. Debra

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I had a wonderful time, Meg. I really did. Since we don’t see one another more than perhaps once a year (if that) we made as much of the time as we could, and will have some wonderful memories as a result! Thank you! Debra

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I’m glad you made a comment, Arlee, so I could rescue you from my Spam folder! I’ve had the same problem, so I check it regularly! Such a bother, but it did eventually work out! And thank you, too, for mentioning how much “wealth” is indeed associated with having such good friends. I’m only now wrapping my head around the fact that I actually labeled us Golden Girls…my head hasn’t yet caught up with my chronological age! 🙂 Debra

      Reply
  6. Ginny Rood

    Bill said this is a Sharp-shinned Hawk. Sure was frightening when it flew toward us. Such a fun couple of days Debra. Thanks so much.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      You can call me Debbie! LOL! I’ll let you hang onto that…you made the cut! Thank you Bill! We have never known, nor quite figured out how to research. The other hawks we have had lately are definitely the same, so now I can do a little research. We did have fun, didn’t we? I’m ready to plan next time! 🙂

      Reply
  7. sufilight

    This made me smile and smile, how nice to see life time friends getting together. I smiled when you wrote you may be the Golden Girls because my girlfriends and I used to love that show, and to think we now are also the Golden Girls. Time flies! I can’t wait to see my friends when I travel back to New York, most likely early next year.

    Reply
  8. Kristy

    Looking forward…with a smile for sure. 🙂 Debra you’re always a breath of fresh air. Love the picture of all the girls – the smiles on your faces say it all.

    Reply
  9. Promenade Claire

    I now have the Golden Girls theme tune in my head 🙂 A lovely dedication to friendship, how special for you Debra.
    And your hawk is still hanging around, exciting!
    Hope you have a super week 🙂

    Reply
  10. Perpetua

    How lovely to see you so smiling and happy with your friends, Debra. I’ve been reading (quickly ) and enjoying your posts, but no time to comment because of being so busy with DH’s mother here. Things will slow down a bit when she goes home this week after her holiday with us.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I’m glad to hear from you Perpetua, and I am sure you are VERY busy! I don’t know about the slowing down, though! I keep thinking it will, too…I just think the busyness changes shape! LOL! I propose we just be grateful we can keep up at all! 🙂 I’m glad I could share a little post about my friends, though, since they are so important to me! You take care!! Debra

      Reply
  11. kateshrewsday

    Aw, what a lovely group of friends, Debra! The smiles on your faces say it all….and what a great sighting as well, I am green with envy….love the Gandalf quote.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      My friends are so important to me, Kate. The older I get, and the more I contemplate the changes in life that just come with age, I think about the importance of good friends! We enter new life seasons with some of the same concerns…I find comfort in that! 🙂 D

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thanks for sharing my friends with me, Sandi. Good friends are critical to my stability! 🙂 And the Golden Girl theme makes me laugh…when did I become one? Yikes! Debra

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      You’re talking about the wording above the comments section? It wasn’t hard at all…but let me go back to check out the steps and I’ll share that with you (I’ll email you the steps). Super simple, but I can’t remember which page it came from. Debra

      Reply
  12. munchow

    Hardly anything beats long-lasting and true friendship. Friends encourage each other, they tell each other the truth, and they correct you when you are doing a bad turn. Take care of your good friends! (And by the way sorry for having been absent lately, I just haven’t had time to comment the last couple of weeks).

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I always enjoy hearing from you Otto, but I definitely can understand how challenging it is to keep up with each person. Not to worry! I can always tell by your posts how full your life is with the wonderful work you do…and such great travel! Stop by when you can, just to say hello! 🙂 And you’re so right about friendship! My dear friends have added so much to the fullness of my life, and going back as far as I do with these particular women brings the added bonus of great honesty! We have known one another way too long to try to be anything other than who we really are! I hope you are doing well…Debra

      Reply
      1. munchow

        When you can be who you really are with friends, that is what I call real friends. And yes, I am doing very well, thanks for asking. Hope the same for you.

        Reply
  13. JRJ2015

    Hi Debra, happy 4th..
    There was a gal that wanted to charge 150.00 just to add a nesting box on the chicken tractor. so we was in town, i seen this at a thrift store, 20$,I had the screen for windows,and pvc pipe to perch on,
    I bought spray paint to redo it white with red shutters,bout the cinder blocks and ply wood to lift off ground,
    I had the gold knob lol, and bought 2 nesting boxes which we needed any ways, so compare that to what she wanted oh she wanted 500.00 just to build a small coop. I think we came out a lot better 😀

    Reply
  14. eof737

    Beautiful post and glad to meet your friends… We all need that woman’s power. It is very nurturing. 😉
    ღ˚ •。* ♥ ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。* °♥ ˚ • ★ *˚ .ღ 。*˛˚ღ •˚ ˚ Happy Independence Day Greetings! ˚ ✰* ★˚. ★ *˛ ˚♥* ✰。˚ ˚ღ。* ˛˚ ♥ 。✰˚* ˚ ★ღ ˚ 。✰ •* ˚ ♥

    Reply
  15. Eve Redwater

    I love the photo, it’s great to see all those lovely smiles! 🙂

    I’ve been blessed with some great friends over the years, along with those that actually weren’t (a shame, but it happens). It really is the quality of friends I think, not the quantity, and I really do despair when I see so many people on facebook with mind-boggling amounts of “friendships”. Maybe I’m too cynical for my own good sometimes, but like my mum says, you can only really count the best of your friends on your fingers.

    I love the hawk too – what a beautiful creature you get to see, so close too!
    Take care! xx

    Reply
  16. lifeonthecutoff

    Oh, Debra, it sounds like you had a very good time with your friends and what fitting words from Golden Girls with which to toast your time together. Isn’t it fun to feel 18 again and to be with good friends that have known you so well? I’m so glad that you shared this picture, which is much like a picture would look like with my friends. A good time was had – and then such a stately guest.

    I’m smiling here for you and for your friends as well.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you, Penny. I was grateful that my dear friends said “yes” to my request to post their picture. So often I’m with others who say to me, “Don’t put this on your blog…” ha! I understand, but I would share much more personally if I could get a little cooperation. 🙂 I know you fully understand the value of friendships. As I’ve gone through some stages with my dad’s health and some scares, some of my friends are in the exact same place of transition in their lives. Others share how they have navigated difficult stages of their own lives and we learn from one another. I really couldn’t imagine getting older without friendships! So I’m so glad I could share my friends with you…and just when did we become Golden Girls! When that show was on I thought the three friends were really more elderly…ha! Enjoy your weekend…getting caught up at home after your trip! D

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I did do that, and thank you very much! I was delighted to be included in your list of “nominees.” I’ll be sure to respond soon…I’m running a little slow in such matters, but I have good intentions! 🙂 D

      Reply
  17. Kate Kresse

    looks like such a wonderful and precious gathering of treasured friends. so happy you had a chance to all spend time together. we need those moments, don’t we? and as years go by we treasure them all the more.

    Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

