We Three Queens

No disrespect intended. Anyone who knows me at all also knows I respect Queen Elizabeth. And I’m very pleased about the celebrations commemorating her Diamond Jubilee. One of my oldest and dearest friends purchased these masks and had them sent all the way from England. When I opened the unanticipated package and chuckled at her consideration to send me TWO, I knew we definitely needed a picture to mark the occasion.

You may recognize my crown from March when I celebrated my own Diamond Jubilee.Β When I’m with my two princesses I always feel like a Queen.

I don’t sit for photos very often…I’m usually the photographer. But while we were having some silliness,Β I decided to take advantage of the (Royal) Β family visit to compose a new Facebook profile picture to represent my good wishes to the Queen. That, and a little silliness is good for the soul!

The Queen and her two princesses wish you a celebratory week of your own.

37 thoughts on “We Three Queens

    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      I’m glad you enjoyed! We had so much fun on Sunday. The rest of my family thinks I’m a little goofy with my interest in the royal family…so I have to grab my granddaughters and get them interested while they are so young! LOL! Debra

      Reply
  1. Cindy Montgomery

    The pictures were too cute! We could all use a little more silliness in life! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you, Sharyn. I’m afraid I wasn’t even a very silly child…but now that I’m “this age” and have these little girls to play with, I’m probably more playful than ever! πŸ™‚ Debra

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      If you’d received these masks I just know that you’d have had fun with them, Andra. I didn’t know they were coming, so when I saw a package from the U.K. I first wondered what I had ordered, and forgotten. When I opened and found the two identical masks I just couldn’t stop laughing. I knew what my friend intended! I had some mixed feelings, though. Imagine being the Queen and having your visage plastered on such inane objects of hilarity! I trust she knows my true feelings, don’t you? LOL! I’m glad I gave you a giggle! Debra

      Reply
  2. lifeonthecutoff

    A most lovely queen and her two princesses. By the look of those smiles, both the cardboard ones and the real ones, it looks like you were having fun celebrating and years hence, when these two darlings are somewhere around 60, they will remember the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee – and having fun with their grandmother. Add my own smile to the day, Debra.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thanks, Penny. We were being silly, and one reason I kept laughing hard was trying to get the photo without everyone else getting into the background and being rude! I take a lot of ribbing for my appreciation of the British monarchy as a whole. Let’s just say that I’m in the minority in my family πŸ™‚ So I have to grab the girls early and indoctrinate them like my grandmother did me. Ha! Debra

      Reply
  3. kateshrewsday

    The Queen has always given children a very special place in her schedule, Debra. If she could see your two little queens she’d have a smile on her face…

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Those two little girls are going to be the most responsible for keeping me young, Marie. I laugh so much when I’m with them. You have no idea how long it took to take two pictures! They are wriggly little things! πŸ™‚ Debra

      Reply
  4. Hotly Spiced

    I love those masks. They would be very handy! Great for fancy dress. Good that you’re celebrating the Jubilee. I’m looking forward to watching the concert on TV tonight. xx

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      We just aren’t getting much coverage, Charlie, and I think it’s just wrong! But I’m following the pageantry and celebrations as I can. I’m hoping that post-celebration maybe there will be a good documentary or video that captures the highlights. And yes, the masks are great fun. I now have them safely tucked away with some of my special British memorabilia…I don’t want them to be trashed. LOL! Debra

      Reply
  5. Kristy

    This just fills me with warm happiness Debra. Three queens indeed! πŸ™‚ And while I know you feel so lucky to have your granddaughters, let me tell you from a granddaughter’s perspective…Your granddaughters are so lucky to have you.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Oh thank you, Kristy! That is such a wonderful thought! Sophia and Karina always make me know I’m important to them, so I think we are very interdependent these days! I’m so fortunate that my daughter includes me so much in their lives. I know that you are part of a tight family, too, and you know how much each one adds to the other. I have friends who are not allowed this much closeness, and it breaks my heart for them. I just want to soak up as much as I can with all the time that I can…Sophia is starting Kindergarten in August, and things will begin to shift! Each stage is precious, but the preschool years are coming to a close! Thank you so much Kristy. I always love hearing from you! Debra

      Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      Thank you, John. Yes, there was a lot of giggling…and some of it was at the other adults who were giving me a hard time! My interest int he royal family is indeed not fully appreciated by everyone. LOL! I have to get the girls interested early. Strength in numbers! πŸ™‚ Debra

      Reply
  6. brain injury self rehabilitation (BISR)

    Thanks for sharing your adorable granddaughters and the cute masks! I wanted to join in! Looks like a lot of fun to me, and life is so precious to pass these wonderful moments up. Imagine, pretending to be the aging Queen and turning back the clock in less than a fraction of a second! Wow…now that’s powerful and something most of us can’t do! It’s like magic and these little girls don’t know how magical it is yet.

    Reply
    1. Three Well Beings Post author

      What a wonderful observation! Thank you for that! I will be able to show the girls the pictures when they are much older and they may get a kick out of it. I have a very large collection of British royal collectibles that came from my grandmother who was born and raised in Scotland. She loved the Queen (mostly the Queen’s Mother), and taught me all about her when I was young. So I guess I will be passing this along! I’m glad you shared the experience with me πŸ™‚ oxo Debra

      Reply

I always enjoy hearing from you!

