To Live Forever Tour Stop: Ross Barnett Reservoir

Three Well Beings:

Here’s an opportunity for you to capture the flavor of author Andra Watkins’ walk along the 444-mile Natchez Trace and to see how the walk complements her book,”To Live Forever: An Afterlife Journey of Meriwether Lewis. Enjoy the brief video clip and her answer to reader question eleven.

Originally posted on The Accidental Cootchie Mama:

When Em and Merry flee a certain mode of transportation in the rain, they find themselves on the shores of the Ross Barnett Reservoir. 33,000 acres of water. A full eight miles of Natchez Trace along its banks.

I was lucky enough to walk its length in daylight. No rain. Majestic herons flew along its shoreline, while geese lounged on one bank. I asked several folks if they had any luck with fishing, and I marveled at power boats that disappeared on the horizon.

While Em and Merry skirt the lake in record time, it took me several hours to walk its length. I listened to their voices splash with the waves. And I breathed deep. I even paused to survey all that glorious water.

I wasn’t running from anyone. Maybe that’s why walking The Rez was one of my most peaceful days on the Natchez Trace.

Click here…

View original 101 more words

15 thoughts on “To Live Forever Tour Stop: Ross Barnett Reservoir

  1. Great share, Debra. I had just read Andra’s post when I saw yours and thought it was hers. Weird the way the new Yahoo email works. I can’t figure out what is what. I get post notifications in my inbox. Hope you are doing well.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • To be honest, Kathy, there are times I miss posts, too, simply because viewing options seem to change from time to time. One night not long ago I had to “close shop” because my Reader was so disorganized I was frustrated. I have a couple of non-blogging friends who told me they didn’t know how to access Andra’s blog, so I just decided to repost and let them read her through mine. It’s always good to hear from you. :-)

    • I’m so thoroughly enjoying the idea of Andra’s adventure, but like you, if I ever could have done it, and that’s questionable, it certainly isn’t now! Maybe that’s why I’ve decided to be one of her cheerleaders. :-)

  2. The reservoir looked more enticing and inviting than the swamp.

    The order of Andra’s videos had gotten a bit discombobulated ~ after #9 came #12, then #11, then #10. Hope she’s NOT walking backwards. :D

    • Andra-ism…that’s a perfect way to say it, Kate. I love the adventure factor of this walk. I’ve always loved the Trace, but admit that even in my much younger years it never once occurred to me that it could be walked. I think this must be a fairly unique feat. :-) All is well with me, Kate. Thank you for stopping by. ox

  3. Dear Debra, you and Penny and Kate Shrewsday have all found this book intriguing and written reviews. I’m on the list for it at the library and each time I read one of these reviews it whets my appetite for the story. As to the 444-mile walk: I’m remembering the man who walked across America with his dog and published a book about that. I can’t remember his name but I so enjoyed his book. When I was teaching in New Hampshire back in 1973, I found myself longing to walk the Appalachia Trial. That never happened, but sometimes when I walk here to get my exercise I think of myself as an explorer and look for new things I haven’t noticed before. Life is good. Peace.

    • I hope you’ll enjoy Andra’s book, Dee. I am fascinated with Andra’s drive to walk this trail. It fits so well with her book, and I am reading a book about the Natchez Trail right now, because of the interest she’s inspired. I do relate to your comment about exploring as you walk. I am not traveling too far right now, so most of my own adventures are locally based. I don’t feel at all let down by that…there’s always something! Thank you for stopping by and sharing, my friend. I do hope you’re doing well. Life IS good. ox

I always enjoy hearing from you!

