Zena the surf dog…refreshed without a worry in the world!

We have returned from our trip to Santa Barbara County wine country and although we had a wonderful, relaxing time–a definite boost to our overall well-being– it’s time for us to return to normal duty and resume our regular daily activity–emphasis on the word active.

However, someone else isn’t finding it necessary to resume any activity at all. Zena had a very rewarding experience, and is undoubtedly still dreaming of the surf. She returned home without a care in the world.

DSC_7114

Oh how she played and cavorted with her cousin Obi!  She discovered she enjoys the ocean as much as her humans do.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Perhaps from now on we’ll just call her our Zen dog.

55 thoughts on “Zena the surf dog…refreshed without a worry in the world!

    • Hi Virginia. We did say that Obi took to the waves like a seal. He was very sleek in the water. And Zena was more like a porpoise kind of leaping in the waves. They were so much fun to watch. You are so correct in seeing their zest for the experience. :-)

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the photos of Zena and her time in the Pacific Ocean, Kathy! We really got a kick out of her exuberance. We are hoping to find some beaches even closer to home–either that, or we will be forced to return to the lovely Santa Barbara beach. :-) Thank you for the hug from Ecuador. ox

  1. yes, fantastic photos Debra, I can imagine you laughing as you watched the dogs play, they look so exuberant … no wonder she is resting up now :) so glad you enjoyed the weekend away … as did I with mine :)

    • That is exactly what we did, Christine. I giggled and giggled watching Zena play in the waves. She was so happy and in the moment! I’m really glad to hear you, too, enjoyed your weekend. I’m eager to get back to reading what everyone did while I was away. I’m certain I missed lots of action. :-)

    • Thank you, Koji. We just loved watching her play! We are going to be investigating to find all the dog beaches we might be able to visit. I know of one in Malibu and Long Beach, and possibly Huntington Beach. If you know of any, I’d love to hear! :-)

  2. I love seeing the dogs playing in the surf. What gorgeous images. They look so happy. I’m glad you had a lovely break but yes, all good things come to an end and then it’s time to get back into reality! xx

    • I was really pleased to see that the photos of Zena weren’t too overexposed, Charlie. The light was very bright and the glare on the water made it difficult to judge the quality of the shots. When I downloaded them it was a delight to see that I had captured some of Zena’s playfulness. She really was at home in the waves. I hope we’ll be able to repeat this activity again before too long. It was relaxing for me, too. :-)

    • She is such a fun dog, Kate. She loved the ocean. There aren’t many off-leash beaches in the entire state, but this one, although two hours from home, will probably be one we visit more often now that I see how much she enjoyed herself!

  3. What magnificent captures of the dogs in the sea… I can watch them play there all day… now how about the photos of you and Hubby doing the same, or do you also need a tennis ball to entice you in… love this post…

    • I love your comment, Jacqueline. It was pure delight to watch the dogs playing in the surf. They were so entirely free and completely in the moment! I really do need to get one of the photos framed and placed somewhere prominently visible so she can serve as a good reminder that this is how to live. :-)

    • Thank you, Cathy. We think she’s pretty special. She was very happy in the water. She’s seven years old, and as a rescue dog, still very new to us. My son took her to the beach one time before she was officially ours, so this is a very new experience for her. I hope we can take her often. I loved watching her play! :-)

  4. Pingback: A boost of “Happy” for your weekend | breathelighter

    • I’m so glad you caught the photos of Zena and Obi in the surf, Tricia! They were just wonderful! I think any time I need a boost taking Zena to the beach would be the best possible activity for us. She was completely playful and in the moment, and it was amazing to me how much fun we had just watching her! The joy was indeed contagious! I’m so glad I could share the experience with you. ox

  5. Pingback: A Road Trip to Santa Barbara County Wine Country | breathelighter

I always enjoy hearing from you!

