One week later and I’m a lovely shade of purple!

A full week has passed since I experienced an unfortunate mishap where the road literally rose up to meet me.  

Thank you for sharing your concern for my well-being. I am healing well. The swelling is slowly subsiding, but I think the various shades of purple and green may linger a bit longer.  The good news is there are fewer instances of strangers averting their eyes when I’ve caught them staring, so that tells me my appearance isn’t as troubling as it was.

For the past few days I’ve been drinking a warm turmeric tea in an attempt to soothe my very sore mouth. You might not immediately think of turmeric as a calming component, but mixed with honey, it really is! I’ve read about the healing properties of turmeric for many years, but this is the first instance where I’ve been enticed to test the claims.

This bold spice is purported to have broad anti-inflammatory and anti-cancer effects as well as taming the inflammation leading to Alzheimer’s. Studies also indicate turmeric may have a more positive effect on arthritis than many pharmaceuticals.

My central nervous system certainly took a violent blow, so I have reasoned I might want to find a way to calm my own inflammation. I have developed quite a taste for this warm, spicy liquid! I can’t swear that it’s providing healing properties, but it is somehow very comforting.

Just mix turmeric and honey into a paste and add a dollop to hot water. Don’t forget to top it with a little black pepper–I know, it sounds improbable, doesn’t it? But the pepper somehow enhances the properties in the turmeric. Curious? Read all about it.

I’ve also tried to compensate for my body’s intense jarring by resting a bit more than usual. Slowing down doesn’t come naturally to me, but I’m practicing. Resting meant some disappointment.

I was VERY unhappy to pass on our final Hollywood Bowl performance for this season.

All summer I’d looked forward to a major party at the Bowl. Earth, Wind & Fire has been performing for more than four decades and they do know how to pull out all the stops and entertain a very enthusiastic crowd. I enjoyed them at the Bowl two years ago, and they’ll probably headline again. This time it wasn’t wise for me to brave the energy of the Bowl just one day after the accident–but I’m still sulking just a little bit.

Fortunately we did have a special time at the Bowl just one month ago and I’m glad the season ended with a personal favorite.

Yo-Yo Ma, perhaps the world’s most famous cellist, is known for his musical versatility. Many months ago I wrote about an exclusive event broadcast LIVE from Boston’s House of Blues to hundreds of theaters across the country. “The Goat Rodeo Sessions featured Yo-Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer and Chris Thile.

I enjoyed this performance from a theater, and that much more to see the artists perform LIVE at the Bowl.

I was sorry to miss out on a long-anticipated event, but it was a wonderful summer and I did enjoy other Bowl events.

For now, I think my best course of action is inaction.

I’ll take good care of myself and be ready for the next time. I don’t stay down very long!

73 thoughts on “One week later and I’m a lovely shade of purple!

  1. Well I’m glad to hear there is progress to full recovery… sometimes the bruises last longer than we want them to, but I have often used Anika oil for bruising, not sure if you get it there,,, the Turmeric tea sounds interesting and I’m going to look into that one…

    • I hope you’ll give the turmeric tea a try, Rob. It’s quite good, and the more I read, the more I think I’ll make it a permanent part of my diet. I wonder if Anika oil is the same as Arnica (how it’s spelled here)? Or different. I’ve been using the Arnica and it is soothing, too. Sometimes it’s hard to tell if these things really make a difference, since I can’t compare this episode to anything I’ve experienced in the past. I’m going to post about the Arnica lotions/creams/pills/gels soon, and invite others to share their experiences. It is an interesting natural remedy. I’m curious to hear what others might say. Thanks for your well wishes. I’m feeling very encouraged that my healing is going well. :-)

  2. I’m glad you are healing, and that you have slowed down a little for now. What a shame you missed Earth Wind and Fire, old favourites of ours too. I shall take a look at that page about turmeric… doesn’t it taste a bit odd with honey? I usually add it to curries! I just read a list of German household remedies for bruises and one involved wrapping the bruise in curd cheese, another was rubbing on herbal schnaps every few hours (no doubt with a swig in between!) and the best was putting a kilo of cooked, mashed potatoes in a sack and wrapping the hot parcel around the bruise for twelve hours… Have a relaxing weekend! ;-)

    • I don’t know how to describe the taste of the turmeric tea with honey, Cathy. I think the honey is probably the more predominant taste. But I was reading about “Golden Milk” which is a milk infused with the turmeric, and that sounded good, too. Almond milk, soy milk, coconut milk, cow’s milk…each had different qualities to add to the benefits. I think I need to learn more, but I’m definitely enjoying just the simple tea. I love the German remedies you listed. Now mashed potatoes! That’s simply wonderful. LOL! I will have a quiet weekend, and I hope you enjoy yours, too, my friend. Thank you!

    • I hope you’ll enjoy the tea! It’s quite comforting and I plan to continue drinking it even after all the wounds have healed. The properties in turmeric sound very interesting to me! I am doing well…thank you so much!

  3. I’ve taken tumeric before but never tried the tea. Though I’ve tried many teas with pepper in them and LOVE that addition. I hope the healing continues and sorry you missed your last bowl event. But glad things are healing.

    • Adding pepper to the tea is a completely new idea to me! I have read about turmeric’s healing properties for a long time, but somehow just never jumped in personally! I’m fully on board now, though. I’m doing well overall, and now I’m mostly in the “inconvenienced” category. :-) That’s not too bad! ox

    • Yo-Yo Ma is such a gentleman! I was so impressed with the way he wanted to be sure the other artists were given full credit for their contribution. He isn’t an egotistical artist, and I simply love his versatility. And thank you for your warm thoughts. I’m really do well. ox

  4. I’m glad to hear you are healing well, and that the tea helps to calm you. Of course I will have to try this tea as well, and thank you for sharing that with us
    Be well, and be safe…no mufti-tasking while walking.
    Hugs xxx

    • Yes, Deb, I’m healing well, and being very mindful of my actions. I’m trying to really train myself (retrain?) to do one thing at a time. Mindfulness! And the tea is really very comforting. I’ve been drinking it at least twice a day, and I find I look forward to it! I hope you have a good weekend, my friend. ox

  5. We seem to be in competition, I had another ground kissing episode on 10th September, sprained my ankle and half the leg is forty shades of green purple through green and yellow. Do you think we should form a club?

    Happy healing hugs to you. >—-(*_*)—-<

    • We need to start a different club, though, don’t you think? I hope you’re doing well now, too. Do you think we just move too quickly or we don’t rest enough? I refuse to mention “age” anywhere in this topic, don’t you? oxo

  6. Glad to hear you are improving. I must say that I always thought turmeric was used in curries. Never occurred to me to drink it, but now having read about it, I shall give a go. Thankyou for sharing that bit of information with us.

  7. I’m sorry to hear you missed the event you were looking forward to, but I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better. Bruising does take a while, but once it starts fading, it seems to move along at a faster pace than at first. Thanks so much about the info on turmeric, I’m heavily into a natural anti-inflammatory diet, so I’m going to add this tea to my list of things to try. Sending healing thoughts your way.

    • It was such a shame to miss the concert, but at the same time, I really didn’t have it in me! I did realize I’ve been very fortunate to have had so few of these episodes in my life, so I’m also practicing “not complaining”–too much! LOL! The turmeric is fascinating to me! The site I linked to was one of the best at really breaking down all the potential benefits, and I am planning to make it a permanent addition to my diet. I hope you enjoy it, too. Have a good weekend…I know how busy you’ve been. I don’t know if the weekends give you much relief right now! ox

    • The turmeric tea is really a fascinating new addition in my life, Nancy. The more I read the more I’m convinced it has some amazing properties that would be good for almost everyone! So far I’ve been generous with the honey, but I think as I drink it more I could probably cut back on so much of the sweet. The palate begins to adjust! Enjoy your weekend, too, my friend. Recharge! :-)

  8. I had surgery a year ago and the surgeon had me use arnica for the bruising. It seemed to work. In fact, within a week, the bruising (which was minimal because he was a great surgeon) faded enough to brave the crowds. Glad you are recovering.

    • I’ve been using the arnica, too, Kate. I have no idea if it’s really helping, but I do seem to be healing quickly! I am taking arnica pills, too. I thought after a bit I might post about arnica and invite others to share their stories. I have such a limited “test” of the benefit and others may know a lot more. We are enjoying some fall weather–long, long overdue, and it should be a good weekend to just continue resting. Thank you for your well wishes! :-)

  9. What a bummer, Debra. I am sorry that you had to miss the concert. I know how much you look forward to attend them at the Hollywood Bowl – and Earth, Wind, and Fire. Here’s hoping that next year will be minus life’s bumps. I’m glad to hear you are healing. Takes awhile, I know.

    Thanks for the information on tumeric. I’ll need to do some investigating and try some tea. Leave it to you to find such methods to show us all how to breath a little lighter, no matter what. Keep healing, my friend, and thanks for Yo Yo Ma.

    • It was a bummer, Penny. I’ve had a little trouble accepting “what is” for now…and yet, my injuries are temporary and I can’t for one minute really complain. I’m mostly inconvenienced. This will pass, and I am very aware of how fortunate I really am!

      Do take a close look at the article on turmeric, Penny. I’ve been reading about this for years, and add cumin and some of the curry spices into food frequently, but that’s not a regular dosage. I’m really quite convinced there are positive gains in drinking this tea and I actually found the website I linked to really informative. I know it can’t hurt, so at the very least it’s a very warm, comforting drink. I hope you have a good weekend. There’s a touch of fall in the air and I’m really enjoying the change. :-)

    • I just played the Bach Suite and I recall the West Wing episode! I can’t be certain, but I would imagine that episode probably influenced me, too, when I consider how my appreciation for Yo-Yo Ma’s amazing talent has grown over the years. Last night when I was putting my post together I got lost in youtube clips for a while. When live concerts are out of the question there is a wealth of videos to entertain. We are so fortunate to have so much to enjoy. So for now, my entertainment is more home based. :-) I am definitely mending. I’m so much better than I was…very lucky!! Thank you.

  10. I am glad that you are feeling better and getting well. Some colours still hanging on is only cute or interesting… Sorry you are going to miss the Hollywood Bowl, though, I remember you have written about it before, and it does seem like a great event. But hopefully more chance will come again. Wish you all the best.

    • I’m resting a lot, Otto, and hope that this time next week I’ll be even more myself. Thank you for your well wishes. I didn’t know a body could bruise like this, quite frankly. So how I could have an arm that is totally black and it didn’t break…I’m very thankful I did miss my concert, but I’ll be ready the next time I have the chance to attend. Thank you for your kind thoughts!

  11. Glad to hear you are on the mend, Debra. You’ve been in my thoughts a lot in recent days. I hope you’ve felt that energy. You know how much I love Yo Yo Ma. I’ll be totally inappropriate and put up a link to one of my newer discoveries.

  12. The best healer is always sleep Debra. I’m pleased to read that you are finding your feet again – I suspect that the shock is probably worse than the actual physical effects of your trip. Turmeric and Garlic are both excellent herbs / spices that are good for you. I believe that Chilli and Paprika are also good in moderation.

    Earth, Wind & Fire would have been good – enjoyed some of their music in between the Budgie and Stray ;-) Currently recapturing soul fusion bands like M People to fill in some gaps in my largely heavy rock collection :-) Still loving Eddie Grant – living on the Frontline :-) !!!

    • You’ve mentioned some musical artists I don’t know, Martin! I’ll have to google them and see what I learn. I always enjoy discovering artists new to me. I was really disappointed, REALLY disappointed not to enjoy our concert with Earth, Wind & Fire, but perhaps another time. I do enjoy cooking with garlic and I do think it’s very good for us. I’m a bit of a chemist in the kitchen at the moment, trying to find new poultices for the open wounds, and soothing brews for the inflammation. I am learning a lot, so that’s a nice side note! :-)

  13. Hey Debra,
    OMG I’m so sorry to hear about your fall. Belated get well wishes from me.

    I also believe in using arnica for bruising, and think visits from friends are a vital ingredient to help speed the healing process. I’m free all week and would love to pop over and try some of your Turmeric tea. Let me know.

  14. OMG Debra…I knew about the anti-inflammatory benefits from turmeric and had just told friends with knee issues about the turmeric tea…I read about it here…http://101cookbooks.com/ I’m glad you are on the mend. I may even try the tea even though no serious injuries recently, however, since I eat cheese here and there I think it will counter the inflammation caused by diary in body.

    • Thanks, Christine. I’m doing well. I appreciate the added link to the turmeric tea, also! I’m really quite “new” to the addition of Turmeric in my diet as a regular supplement, but I’m trying all sorts of new herbs and homeopathic remedies. I’m in my own learning lab here. I’m fortunate that typically I don’t have many injuries, aches and pains. I think combined with rest, aloe and turmeric and arnica gel are my new favorite staples. I’m hoping they speed the healing process along. Stay tuned. :-)

    • Yes indeed, Tom. No more tipping over! LOL! I took a nice walk today, and I don’t think I’ve ever walked as cautiously and slowly! It wasn’t much exercise in the traditional cardio-vascular sense, but it was a lovely day. I enjoyed it anyway…and practiced being more mindful! I couldn’t handle another fall right now, I’m quite sure!

  15. So glad you are recovering Debra .. and I also grow and use Turmeric … in fact I am taking capsules as well to help quieten my agitated brain … a very useful herb … now I will have to try the tea following your instructions!

    • I’m encouraged to hear about your use of Turmeric, Christine. I must do some research to learn more about growing it. That’s something I hadn’t considered. I think I will look into the capsules, as well. I’m pretty badly shaken and feel that my entire Central Nervous System has been affected, and that it might take me a while to feel myself. I am eager to see if I feel some of the benefits of Turmeric. This is all quite new to me, and I’m learning new things about some of the natural herbal remedies. I am encouraged by what you have to say. Thank you!

  16. Debra. so frustrating for you. I hate to miss out on things. Yesterday I went to a key Quaker settlement in Britain, Jordans. The most lovely woman showed me round their meeting house, and she talked compellingly about silence and how important it is to our health. Just like turmeric tea, it soothes and calms us- used as we are to hurtling through life at a pace, surrounded by stimuli. I hope the quiet does every bit as much for you as the tea, and that it becomes a little less onerous.

    • What a lovely encouragement, Kate. I don’t cultivate much silence in my life, that’s for sure, but feeing a little fragile at the moment, it does feel like a necessary component to a healthy life! thank you! Your outing sounds like it was wonderful. I hope you have shared about it. I’ll be ’round later to see. :-)

  17. Poor Debra. Such a shame you had to miss a much-anticipated treat, but you were very wise to rest instead. Rest and stillness are great healers and your turmeric tea sounds like an excellent idea. I can well imagine your rainbow-coloured bruises, but thankfully, from my experience, the change in colour tend to mean they become much less painful.

    Take care, dear Debra, and go on healing.

    • Thank you so much, my friend. More and more I begin to realize how fortunate I am not to have been more severely injured. I am pulling out all the stops with every kind of homeopathic remedy I can find, but I am sure rest is still the greatest healer! ox

  18. I thought of you twice this week. First, I saw a sign in the elevator at work that gave stats on walking and texting injuries…some people have even fallen off bridges! I’m very thankful you weren’t on a bridge! Then this week (the day before picture day) Miss A fell in the street walking (running) home from the bus stop and skinned and bruised her face! Her little friend did the same thing this week and she has stitches! Perhaps gravity was extra strong this past week??? I’m glad you’re feeling better and I’m looking forward to reading about turmeric.

    • I am SO sorry to hear about the childrens’ injuries. The facial injuries are really painful! Poor little things. I must say that I have really learned a huge lesson. I’m healing, but it is going to be a while before I’m completely restored, and that is going to continue to reinforce the importance of being mindful of what I’m doing! Thank you so much for your very kind thoughts. Be careful yourself. :-)

  19. Well, now I have been away far too long! Dang that work!! You poor thing, am I correct, you were on your phone and fell off a curb?? I almost walked into a pole doing the same thing. I’m so sorry to read this Deb.. and to miss that concert, what a shame. BUT you did see YoYo Ma so now I have a new color.. green with envy:D Get well my dear! xx

  20. A while ago I was in an Indian cooking mood and bought all sorts of Indian spices including turmeric. I read that it was good for arthritis and started putting it on my collie dog’s rice and kibble each night. I am not sure if it worked but I will add a little of it to our dinners sometimes as well. Haven’t tried the turmeric tea yet but will do so soon…Thanks for the info.

  21. I’ve been wondering how you are. Such an awful injury. I hope the bruising and swelling are going down. I keep hearing about all the health benefits of tumeric. Such a shame you missed some great events xx

    • I’m learning more about turmeric all the time, Jo. I’ve had several readers tell me how to use it even in capsule form, so I’m giving it a good go! Recovery is coming along, but is slow. The more I take care, the more rest I seem to need. All that adrenaline that isn’t pumping, you know! Thanks for the well wishes. I’m getting there. :-)

  22. Dear Debra, in the intervening time since I read your first posting on falling and today when I’ve just read about your recuperation, I realize that I’d forgotten exactly what happened and what parts of your body suffered most from the fall. When I had the out-of-the-car automotive accident that I told you about in a comment, my face was purple and green and yellow also. And people do stare. And yes, one of the signs that the face is healing is that they don’t stare as often or as much! I’m glad to learn about the turmeric tea, and I’ll try it for arthritis and general health. I’m doing all I can in the hope that I’ve live a long life with my wits about me.

    I’m so glad you are better and that you are being patient with yourself and gracious to yourself. Missing out on things you want to hear or see is hard, but your body is sending you a message and you’re listening. That’s great. Peace.

    • I am doing okay, Dee. I’m a bit impatient with the progress, but it’s only been two weeks. I have really been considering how important rest is to our overall health. I am really recalibrating and adding in a lot more rest to my week, and I think perhaps I need to make that change a permanent one! :-) Thank you for your well wishes!

  23. thanks for the info and glad to hear you are on the road to recovery. I have to try your tumeric tea recipe to help my arthritis symptoms, especially as the cold weather is coming…

    • The turmeric tea is really nice, Lori. I am sorry I had to jump start my introduction to it with an accident, but I think I will continue to enjoy it from now on! I think it has some lovely healing properties. I do hope it gives you some arthritis relief!

  24. Very informative. I’m particularly interested when you said anti-cancer. I wonder why this isn’t as known and broadcasted heavily than it should. Thanks for the information. I’ll keep this in mind.

    • I’ve been reading claims about the health benefits of Turmeric for a long time now, and this is the first time I’ve been making tea and taking capsules. I don’t think it can hurt me, so I’m adding it into my diet and hoping it is beneficial. :-)

  25. Pingback: It’s been two months since my accident! How am I doing? | breathelighter

I always enjoy hearing from you!

