Summer is over, and I’m not having it!

Where did it go? It was just here yesterday!

We’ve had a wonderful summer and I’m not at all that ready to move on to fall. Some people just LOVE fall, and I do think it is a beautiful season. But I love the freedom of summer. And it’s all but over!

You’re my friends and I trust you won’t judge too harshly, so I’ll admit it! I cried–just a little bit– when Aimee sent a text with photos of a smiling Sophia as she entered First Grade! Today.

It's all about the backpack!

It’s all about the backpack!

Yes, I am one of those. I also cried every year when my children returned to school. I wasn’t a great big sobbing mess, but I always enjoyed the summer with my children and I wasn’t ready to give over our freedom. There was that…and they always looked a little more mature. Time has always moved too quickly for me.

And I guess if I’m going to be honest I’ll have to admit these tearful transitions weren’t just about grade school. When Jonathan moved to San Francisco for Law School I couldn’t go into his “old” room for a couple of weeks without tearing up. You can roll your eyes. I understand.

I really am “one of those.”  I try to hide it. I keep most of my thoughts to myself, but occasionally I reveal my fantasies and suggest to my children we form a family compound. “Let’s all live together”–you know, like the Kennedy’s on Hyannis Port?

So far–no takers.

So I will shift out of summer mode and be pleased as punch that Sophia loves school!

For weeks she has been proudly announcing “I’m a First Grader,” very excited she has graduated to the “big kid” playground. Life is good when you’re almost six!

Since school does cut into our jaunts quite a bit it’s a lot harder to find time for our little field trips.

But  we did have some really enjoyable times this summer, and I have the photos to prove it!

So my next few posts will include the summer in review. If I get a little blue I may need to remind myself of the many things we were able to do together over this short summer! I’ll have to focus on our good times while I wait for Christmas vacation.

Classroom Ready!

Classroom Ready!

Yep! Summer went too quickly!

54 thoughts on “Summer is over, and I’m not having it!

  1. You’re not alone, Debra. I know other Moms who teared up when their kids left for school at the start of every school year, too. I would imagine their houses were painfully quiet for a few days until a sense of normalcy returned. That Sophia sure does look eager to learn. May she never lose that enthusiasm. :)

    • I think the hardest thing about the school year is that although I get plenty of time with the girls, I’m very fortunate, I arrive at the end of their school day, and they are tired! Sophia puts all she has into school and I recall last term walking home with her and it took her almost an hour to revive and be ready to talk! I miss a more relaxed schedule with built-in breathing room! I do remember that it never took me too long to get over the back-to-school blues…once I adjusted to that quiet, I liked it! LOL! I’m a little inconsistent–probably about a lot of things relative to my children. But hey! You understand the family compound idea, don’t you? Didn’t it work out well when we were kids? What’s wrong with my children and their independence? :-)

    • Don’t you think part of the letting go of summer is losing the ability to spontaneously get out and go? I really enjoy the wonderful outings, hikes and adventures you enjoy with your little guy, Linda. I’ll be watching to see how you “take on” fall, and the school schedule, still keeping him engaged with the outdoors! I’m sure he’s excited. I hope they don’t lose that enthusiasm for school anytime too soon. I do understand those mixed emotions! ox

  2. My goodness, I didn’t realize some school children already are starting school. In my time it was always in September, not the middle of August. Sophia look adorable, and with all the mental stimulation that I am sure you give her with your trips, she will do well in school. :)

    • I think the school districts are trying to solve some of their educational problems with overcrowding and targeting higher state standards with adding in more instructional days. I’ve been really impressed with the curriculum in Sophia’s school–which is state curriculum–and the students are working about a year above what I recall from when I was teaching. I think it’s taking more school days to get through it all! I would just slow us all down if I could…it’s probably a good thing I’m not in charge. :-) Thank you, Marie–she is such a sweetie!

  3. I’m always happy to see children who enjoy school…. I remember my first day too; Jumping out of bed raring to go! (My older sister could not understand my enthusiasm!) I hope Sophia continues to enjoy it! Time flies, but your photos can help you remember the holidays, and this time of year is also wonderful. I personally love autumn as summer gets too hot for me, but the thought of Christmas and winter is really scary!

    • Thank you, Cathy. I am also really so pleased that Sophia enjoys going to school. I look forward to seeing her on Friday and hearing all about week one! And we did have a very happy and enjoyable summer, so I am just wistful. I miss being a bit more spontaneous with our schedules, but I do plan well…so that’s what I’ll be doing. Making plans! For us, autumn is really our hottest season. We are just not ramping up! We’ve had very mild temperatures and all of sudden we’re heading into triple digits. Maybe subconsciously that’s some of my dread! Each season should be celebrated–that’s what I’m telling myself all day. LOL!

      • I didn’t realise it gets hotter in autumn in your region…. triple digits is not good at all! The season for iced drinks and as little outdoor activity as possible I’d say!

      • It’s very warm this weekend, Cathy, but since I’ve complained about summer going too quickly I can’t then complain about the weather. LOL! I seem to want a lot of things that contradict each other. Hahaha!

  4. Debra… I rolled my eyes so far, I could see myself… Just kidding. I can sense your emotions of this time… but really, summer is still here. Temps will inevitably soar again (a few times, at least) so be happy! That was an adorable picture of her literally entering 1st grade. :-)

    • It’s fine, Koji! I can hear myself! LOL! I also work in a university and the students are back today…so it just feels like summer is completely behind me, albeit you’re correct–now the temperatures go up? Every year…fall is so hot! As I’ve thought about it further, I realize that what I miss is the ability to be very spontaneous. Schedules keep that in check. Oh well, I can sure complain, can’t I? :-)

  5. it does seem early for your schools to recommence! here we have strong signs of summer, but winter might pop back to visit in a few days, meanwhile no lighting the slow-combustion stove tonight, our passive solar house is as warm as can be!

    • I always love it when the seasons begin to shift, Christine. Even if I’m lamenting the activities I associate with summer, we’re seeing signs of fall and I enjoy watching for subtle signs of change. There are so many lessons in nature about life and seasons, and I’m missing my “summer schedule” but we have warm outdoor weather for many weeks to come. I’m just a little greedy when it comes to time with my granddaughters. :-) It’s their mom who may be rolling her eyes! :-)

      Your “passive solar house” sounds wonderfully efficient! Have you ever posted about it?

  6. Aww my friend, it is amazing how quickly our winter has gone by (though to tell you the truth, it was mostly extended autumn :P)
    I am sure you will have plenty of winter fun too!

    Glad to be back!
    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • It’s great to see you back, CCU! I do like autumn, and once I get over the shock of how quickly summer passed, I’m sure I’ll settle in nicely! And you have summer coming…I must be a kid at heart, because summer is always my favorite season! I hope you’ll liberally share about yours. I’ll enjoy it vicariously! :-)

  7. No eye rolling here! Complete understanding. Years ago when I was back to school shopping I had a cashier tell me she was so sad school was starting again, it meant less time with her children. I remember standing there feeling very sad. And now I get sad at the start of every school year. Thinking of the rushing years and the parents not having as much time with their kids.

  8. How quickly time flies when we are having fun. Your outings might not be as long or as often but I know you will still have enjoyable times together.

  9. I catch your drift, Debra. We would not want to retard the development of our loved ones by keeping them small forever. We enjoy watching them learn and grow and strive and achieve. BUT . . . we know that these precious moments, so fleeting, will only come by once.

    So we want to hold on to them as tight as we can for as long as we can, while whispering into the wind, “Not yet. I’m not ready to let go.”.

  10. I didn’t realise that schools have gone back in the USA. Another year begins! Sophie looks thrilled to be back at school. It’s very strange for me to see her not in school uniform! I don’t know how the parents cope in the US without a uniform. Buying clothes for school must be a nightmare. I’m sure you have some warm weather still to enjoy before winter really sets in xx

  11. I hate letting go of summer. It’s a wonderfully free and easy time. My granddaughters are here now so I will enjoy them. They go back to Denver this weekend and then back to school in two weeks. Next time I see them, they will have grown another foot.

    • I hope you had a wonderful time with your granddaughters, Kate. It must be very hard to have them go all the way home to Denver! I’ll bet they thoroughly enjoyed their visit, too! Time is such a fleeting commodity for all of us, isn’t it! We do our best to make the best memories we can with what we’re given, and when we can share with the little ones that’s a very special gift we can give to them. I’m not quite as gripey as I was last week. LOL! ox

  12. What a cutie! and excited for school! We don’t start till after Labor Day here in MN–so have a little time to enjoy yet.
    Excited when I saw the weather report and some warmer temps are coming back next week–for this Summer lover who barely survives our Winter–I say–Bring it on!!! :)

  13. Oh, Debra, I sympathise, I always feel exactly the same way. All that freedom and time for exploration on hold! I am glad Sophia feels so positive about school….she does look so grown up!

    • I’m having a very hard time with how quickly my grandchildren are growing up, Kate. I don’t like working around their school and extracurricular schedules very much. I’m a bit greedy! :-) My daughter is really absolutely wonderful with providing so much time with them…I ought to be a little more grateful and less complaining. LOL! Perhaps I could work on that.

  14. I’m one of those too Debra. No judgment from me. I’ve been tearing up for a week knowing what’s coming. Looking forward to your summer in review. :) (and they do look a little older each year in the back to school pics)

    • I suppose we’re a bit hard-wired for that holding on to those little chicks and not being ready for them to leave the nest. I’m glad it comes at us in stages. Aren’t we fortunate to have so many good times with our little ones that we aren’t just celebrating that they’re out of the house and off to school. I think of that often. What would it really be like if I weren’t always eager to spend time with them! I’ll be thinking of you as school begins! Hugs!!

  15. Summer is always over too quickly, Debra, particularly when we often only get a very few weeks (or even days) of real summer weather. I know what you mean about those transitions. DD and her family left yesterday after their visit and I felt such a pang and a hollow place inside me for a while. Sophie looks so pleased and proud to be a first-grader. Long may she enjoy school.

    • I really feel for you with the transition time when DD and family go home! We enjoy our families and those times of togetherness are so sweet it isn’t that easy to let go–we do, of course, but maybe it’s our feelings that remain attached for a while. :-) I also hope Sophia continues to enjoy school. I was able to see her for awhile after school on Friday and she was one very tired little girl. I think she gives it her all. And I need to remember not to lament summer in front of everyone in colder northern climates! We do hold onto the warmth of summer for quite a bit longer. Today it is just plain old hot! LOL! It’s so good to hear from you, my friend.

  16. I can’t hardly believe it’s already time for the kids to go back to school. It seems like it was only a few weeks ago that they started their summer vacation. Before you know it, all the winter holidays will be here too.
    To Sophia! Have a great day! And of course you too, Debra!
    Hugs

    • Thank you for such a thoughtful comment, Deb. It has occurred to me that if no one around me is slowing down and I feel like time is moving too quickly, maybe I need to slow down a little bit so that I have more available time when they have a day off now and then! I’m trying to figure it all out. LOL! ox

  17. Sophia looks like just the kind of young girl I would have loved to have in my classroom way-back-when I was a first grade teacher. Look at her smile and seeming eagerness to get on with the business of learning. How exciting for all of you. I’m “one of those” as well, Debra, and have often tried to stem a few tears from leaving my eyes. Passages are always mixed with joy and nostalgia, aren’t they? I can just imagine Sophia, all full of new knowledge, hopping into her beloved grandmother’s car, full of things to tell.

  18. We are with you on the desire for a family compound (we also share the lack of takers)! And summer is the best- we miss it already. The kids start school next week- ugh.

  19. I’ve never cried when my Son returned to school except perhaps at the cost of the new uniform each year! Walking him to and from school was a daily event in term time for me after year one when Epi returned to work. It just seemed a natural part of our being to gether and even inspired one of my poems. Call me old fashioned but I think the discipline of that return to school is every bit as important as the lessons learnt once there :-) I’ll be glad of the peace and quiet once the new term at the new school begins – interruptions in the middle of conference calls are a real pain (I like to pretend) ;-)

  20. Summer is over and the kids are back at school ALREADY? Given your reaction, you are obviously French deep down- our kids get a whopping two months off, which means that any temptation for the parents to get nostalgic disappears… urr.. around two weeks ago. Parents here are so happy to get their kids back over the school threshold that they have to refrain from jumping up and down with joy right outside the school gates. I prefer to sit in the kitchen with Murphy and Smelly Dog and listen to the clock tick for a few minutes. I have another week to go, then we return to life as normal. I’ll post the pic of me leaping for joy at the bus stop :-)

  21. I’m happy I’m not the only one who feels this way! Even though all our children are grown and out of the house, I remember the rush to get the kids out the door in time for the bus or to walk to school on time. (I have another quirk: I love hot weather!) Yet, it’s been my experience in recent years that all of a sudden I wake up and realize that the school year (I am a school librarian) is almost over. Perhaps I’m just getting older…
    Thanks for once again liking my blog.

    • I don’t mind the heat, either, and I think I really feel a little more energized in hot weather. I sometimes reflect on the fact that the sun is a powerful source of energy, so perhaps some of us really do respond to that. :-) I think working in schools, as I do, also, really makes the year go quickly. An academic year has a cycle of rhythms that become smaller periods inside of the larger seasonal block of time, so we are always aware of propelling forward. I have always worked in schools, and so even when much younger I felt each school year was just a blink! And I don’t think age helps that either. LOL! Our children grow up so quickly, and now I hear in you the same delight we’re experience in grandchildren. I really don’t want these years to fly by, but I also don’t hold out much hope that they won’t. So we’d better just be there for each moment we can! Right? Hope you have a wonderful weekend, my friend. ox

I always enjoy hearing from you!

