A little diva has her 4th birthday today!

Today’s post is primarily for the family. I try to avoid falling into the trap of being one of those grandmothers– going on and on about my grandchildren. I do happen to think they are perfect–grandmothers can feel that way–I advise against that kind of thinking if you’re the parent. But fortunately for my friends, my mom and I don’t get tired of swapping stories, thus sparing others the need to listen to endless cute and entertaining anecdotes.

But today is special. I hope you’ll indulge me.

Our youngest grandchild, Karina, is four years old today.

From the time Karina was no more than about 18 months old I have been calling her Sarah Bernhardt. I could probably benefit from updating my list of famous actresses by about 90 years, but somewhere in my youth I read a biography of the French actress, and remember, “The Divine Sarah,” as “the most famous actress the world has ever known.”

On stage and unsure

By and large we aren’t a limelight seeking family.  In fact, we tend to be comfortable in our supporting roles–behind the scenes players. Karina, on the other hand, was made for the stage.

Karina with an attitude

From the time she was teeny-tiny she’d make eye contact with strangers, batting her eyelashes and charming anyone who’d notice her. And if they didn’t notice, she’d make any necessary adjustments, including throwing a fit–Aha! They’d notice then, and with the skill of a seasoned actress, as soon as heads turned, she’d quickly be all smiles.

On stage and walking off

Before she was two she copied dance routines seen on television. I remember her mommy calling to tell me that she had tried to “dance up the wall” like the performer. I’ve also caught her studying an actor’s facial expressions and trying to copy them in a mirror.

She loves to tell stories, embellishing them with hand motions and wild facial exaggerations. Her creativity in story telling frustrates her sister. Sophia pulled me aside the other day to suggest, “Don’t listen to her. She tells folk tales.” I think she meant tall tales, but you get the point.

At a recent preschool talent show we were entertained by the Divine Miss K. She topped all previous performances.

As soon as she took the stage with the other children she turned on the attitude–and also turned her back on the crowd.  She channeled her inner diva, making sure she got the laugh. She did.

Karina with her back to the audience

As one of the group songs came to an end, she did a hair toss, turned on her heels and to our surprise, made an overtly dramatic exit.

Diva in trainingI’m not sure what others thought, but I’ve watched her study other performers and become absorbed in a character.  And if you’re on a stage, don’t you become someone else? It’s hard to know what role she thought she was playing, but it was a stand-out performance!

This weekend we celebrated Karina’s birthday and she wasn’t playing a role. She was just one happy little girl. She’s been anticipating her 4th birthday for months, even choosing her own birthday cake from a children’s cookbook.

Happy Birthday, Miss Karina. You are one precious little girl.

Oscar Wilde  coined the nickname “The Divine Sarah,” so I will use another of his famous quotes as my birthday wish for our sweet Karina. “Be yourself; everyone else is already taken,” and if that includes being a little diva…well then,shine!

51 thoughts on “A little diva has her 4th birthday today!

  1. Grandchildren are such a joy. Thank you for sharing yours with me. Please give Miss Karina and great big Happy 4th Birthday from me.

  2. Debra, I cannot believe it’s been four years since Karina was born. She is definitely a very special and loved little girl. Thanks for posting this moment with us. Happy Birthday Karina!

    • That birthday cake was a hit. Karina’s eyes nearly popped out of her head. Perfect for a four year old with a HUGE sweet tooth. She’d eat cake with every meal if she were allowed to! LOL!

    • Did you like the tons of sugar frosting on that purple castle cake, Kate? LOL! Karina insisted on that particular cake, and we had the girls spend the night with us so her mommy could put it together and surprise her. She was thrilled. She’s a funny little girl. Left-handed, right-brained in a family that for the most part leans in the opposite direction. :-) I think she may have a lot to teach us!

    • Isn’t that a “sugary” birthday cake, Cathy? Karina was insistent that her mommy make just that very one. AImee warned us to be prepared for a major sugar hit! It was held together with tons of frosting, but the cake itself was good and the birthday girl was thrilled! That was the main point. :-)

  3. Oh my goodness what a happy post! Happy, happy birthday to Miss K! It sounds like she, Miss A and Mr. N could put on one fabulous show together. :) Don’t ever apologize for sharing about your grandchildren. You have every reason to be a proud grandma!!! Loved the story about the talent show and her cake looks perfectly fitting for a big 4-year old girl! (I’m assuming she is in the “I’m not a little girl anymore” phase that Miss A went through when she turned 4.) Well, here’s to a year that is nothing short of fabulous and happy for your little – strike that – big girl, princess! :)

    • Thank you, Kristy. The “big girl” thing with Karina is hit and miss. I think that Sophia, only 19 months older, seems much, much older. I think Karina is making big headway remaining the family baby. She’s funny, cute and clever…she works it! LOL! I’m wondering if she’s going to play “baby” as a way to distinguish herself from Sophia. I think even that is a role, however, and there’s a lot going on inside that little head. Ha! I am proud of them, so I really appreciate your encouragement to just be proud. I am! :-)

    • Thank you for the birthday wishes…I could go on and on about my grandchildren, but maybe if I get tempted to go in that direction I’ll start another blog we grandmothers can enthuse over. LOL! I know you understand! :-)

      • Oh my! What a great idea! I will follow that blog as well if you do that!!! :) What a happy blog that would be!!!!!!!!!!!!! Bragging rights are birth rights for Grandma’s and Mamo’s.

    • Thank you, CCU…I think Karina is a very creative little thing. Going forward who knows where that creativity will lead her, but it’s going to be fun to be her grandmother and cheer her on! :-)

  4. What a gorgeous looking cake! And your grand-daughter is very talented. You’re either born with it or you’re not and when you are, it just flows from you without any endorsement or encouragement. She’s so cute and I look forward to seeing what she does as she grows. She’s adorable! xx

    • Wasn’t that birthday cake just great? Ha! Aimee tried to encourage Karina in another direction, including a nice fancy bakery cake! But oh no! She’d seen this in one of the children’s cook books they have on the shelves and she wanted this one! It was held together with tons and tons of sugar, but we were surprised that the cake itself (minus tons of icing and candy decoration) was quite good. She’s a funny little thing. Thank you for your warm thoughts. Grandchildren a so much fun!

  5. A very happy birthday to Karina. 4! Wow! What a darling girl she is, Debra, and you can shout our your grandmotherly joy all you want! I love the “attitude”. My sister was often referred to as “Sarah Berhnhardt”, at times by family members when she was young so, I chuckled a bit on seeing it here, today, which just happens to be her birthday.
    Love the cake.

    • Isn’t that funny that your sister was the family Sarah Bernhardt, Penny. I have referred to the Divine Sarah with Karina since she was a toddler, and it did make me laugh when I realized that my daughter probably has very little connection to the reference. I’m not sure anyone under 50 would choose Bernhardt for a reference. Ha! Aimee made the cake, which was amazingly tasty. She warned us all in advance that it was completely held together by tons of sugar…but this was the cake Karina wanted, and she’s been showing mommy the picture for at least two months. On top of being an actress, she’s a party girl. She is going to drive her sister crazy. I am sure you and your sister have lots of stories if she was the family actress! LOL!

    • Thank you for the birthday wishes, Perpetua. Karina is a funny little thing. She is a left-handed, right brained artistic little soul and she does think differently. It’s so fun to watch them grow up into their unique selves, isn’t it? ox

  6. Not sure I could handle a ‘Little Diva’ – It’s hard enough dealing with our Son and his moods ;-) Great set of photos – hope she had a great time :-)

  7. I know the headlines 4 years ago following her birth: “A star is born!” Well, if not they should have been. Belated happy birthday greetings to the Little Diva. I bet it was a fabulous time — anything less would have been so undiva-like — and that cake was really something.

    • Thanks for the really sweet things said about Karina and her birthday! She is our “baby” and that makes her all the more prone to getting the attention, but she knows how to work it, too! Her sister goes to Kindergarten and tows the line. She stays on task and is always at the top of the “good behavior” list. I have a feeling that when Karina starts school in a year she will be the one chatting with everyone and having a wonderful time, certain that school is a social event. She is her own unique person, that’s for certain. :-)

I always enjoy hearing from you!

