Spring and All…

I will return next week to include a few more stories from the La Brea Tar Pits, but as I move towards a family weekend and Easter observances I can’t seem to hold my enthusiasm for methane and prehistoric swamps.

Perhaps my lack of focus is partially due to the time I spent this afternoon making cookies with Sophia and Karina.

Or you could say that I supervised them as they slathered frosting and liberally sprinkled!

Nothing says “home-made” like icing and sprinkles with a five and three-year-old. They have been on spring break from school and I’ve enjoyed more time with them.

And our family will gather together on Sunday as we have been doing for as long as I can remember.

But I’ve been mindful of the similarities as well as differences in all of our circumstances and experiences this time of year.

We may not all observe Easter, but we are all observing a change in seasons–just a bit differently perhaps.

While I have been gushing over the beauty of springtime, I’ve also been reading posts written from around the world leaving me spellbound at our often dramatically different interpretations of March.

Several have commented that weather has been so harsh Easter will be spent close to home. Families accustomed to traditional church services are not so sure they will brave the ice and snow this year.

Others have said they won’t be gathering with friends and family, instead opting for the warmth and safety of staying close to home.

I’m also hearing from friends in the Southern Hemisphere remarking that the summer landscape is changing into its fall clothing.

I went on a search for a poem I recall first reading in school long, long ago.The poem by William Carlos Williams describes spring from a point of view that’s a bit foreign to my experience.

I found it again tonight and thought I’d share it for those of you watching for signs of spring. Because you have shared with me, I now read this poem with a much fuller understanding.

Spring and All

By the road to the contagious hospital
under the surge of the blue
mottled clouds driven from the
northeast — a cold wind. Beyond, the
waste of broad, muddy fields
brown with dried weeds, standing and fallen

patches of standing water
the scattering of tall trees

All along the road the reddish
purplish, forked, upstanding, twiggy
stuff of bushes and small trees
with dead, brown leaves under them
leafless vines –

Lifeless in appearance, sluggish
dazed spring approaches –

They enter the new world naked,
cold, uncertain of all
save that they enter. All about them
the cold, familiar wind –

Now the grass, tomorrow
the stiff curl of wildcarrot leaf

One by one objects are defined –
It quickens: clarity, outline of leaf

But now the stark dignity of
entrance — Still, the profound change
has come upon them: rooted they
grip down and begin to awaken

William Carlos Williams
As the weekend begins, I share Easter greetings with those who observe Sunday as a religious holiday, and I similarly wish my Jewish friends a Happy Passover.
bird at Arlington Garden
Enjoy a peaceful weekend wherever you are and whatever your plans. We will enjoy our Easter Sunday, and ironically may experience a little rain. That would be different!

38 thoughts on “Spring and All…

  1. happy weekend debra, we are blessed with family visiting here too … they have just gone fishing with such great enthusiasm i really hope they bring back a fish or two for dinner … there are lots of vegetarian options on the go so we don’t mind :)

    • I’m glad you’ll also have lot of family activity this weekend, Christine. The family fishing expedition sounds like loads of fun. :-) I’m sure you’ll enjoy spending time together. We have four generations gathering, and for that, it’s very special. ox

  2. Sounds like you had a wonderful day with your assistant bakers. Frosting and sprinkles for me please. Wonderful poem for the season. We are having several warming days, but with Monday’s Opening Day, oh boy … probably returning to cool. Have a wonderful Easter Sunday.

  3. A wonderful poem, Debra, which is, indeed, describing the slow emergence of spring in much of the world. I find it so amazing that we can share, among many things, our climates from afar; the isolation with snow and ice in Wales, autumn arriving in New Zealand, and even here in the states, you on one end, me somewhere just beyond halfway, with such opposing weather, and we can express and talk about it in an instant.

    We will actually be celebrating Easter in snow. Heading up north for not only the Pascal holiday, but, our little Kezzie’s third birthday!

    Now, if only I could bite into one of those cookies. Don’t you love the way children decorate cookies? I can almost see Karina and Sophia’s little fingers working these sweet creations.

    • I’m glad you liked the poem, Penny. I had a fairly clear memory of it from a long time ago, and it was fun finding it again. I thought it really did a good job of breaking away from the springtime poems I’m more accustomed to enjoying, but matched the early spring you’ve been describing! :-) How wonderful to be with your babies this weekend, although three years old is a big milestone! She’s a big girl now! Enjoy every moment, but I already know you will. I hope you’ll share some pictures. :-)

  4. I’ve yet to experience the delight of making cookies with my grandchildren ~ it looks like fun! Have a great time with your family ~ I’ve just heard that we’ll be having visitors, too. Happy Easter! :)

    • I’m glad you, too, will have Easter visitors! Busy times, but they are special, aren’t they? Our cookie decorating was very fun. You can pass a lot of time with icing and lots of sprinkles! Ha! Happy Easter to you! ox

  5. Happy Easter, Debra! I get to see Cayleigh next week, and we have reserved egg coloring for Monday. We used to make cookies like those. Such fun things to do with little girls.

    The poem is lovely. We are in full Spring mode here, but the cold still lingers at night. A tanager couple decided to build their nest right under my window, and I am enjoying greeting them every day.

    • Hooray for Cayleigh time! I think that’s exactly what you need, Andra. You will have a great time, I’m sure, and I know she will be so glad to have you with her. I think the cookies can be easier than egg coloring–I left that up to their Mama! :-) I hope you have a lovely Easter. ox

  6. (Pssst. Don’t react too loudly. I noticed 2 crocus in bloom in my front garden. Shhh! I don’t want to spook them nor scare the others bulbs back into the ground.)
    I’ve heard (ahem) that Spring is starting to make an appearance around here, Debra. Now that will be a welcome sight! I hope you and your family enjoy a wonderful Easter together, Debra.

  7. Dear Debra, those cookies, decorated by Sophia and Karina look delicious! I hope they will be part of your Easter meal together. It is chilly here on this spring day and I am wearing a sweat shirt, a thick robe, and my down-filled vest. Yesterday I had chills and they continue today. Maybe that’s my mind/body reaction/response(?) to the reality that William Carlos Williams so evocatively captured in his poem. He is one of my most favorite poets, so thank you for sharing his poem with us today. Peace.

  8. Wishing you a very Happy Easter, Debra, with your darling family and those delicious-looking cookies. :-) I love the poem, as the landscape which is so gradually emerging from the snow over here looks very like that. But spring WILL come!

  9. Happy Easter, Debra, to you and all your family. Yes, our seasons are changing and for the colder. The weather was wonderful right up until Easter but now it has turned. Your cookies are so cute. Lovely that you will be gathering with all your family as you have done for years – a great tradition xx

  10. Happy Easter and what fun to decorate cookies with your grand children. It doesn’t get better that that! Take Care, Thea

  11. Debra, thank you. Just thank you. For the wonderful loving words of spring and Easter, for the pictures of cookies and flowers and birds. You’re just so special! <3

I always enjoy hearing from you!

