If you’re going to visit the Sierra Nevada Mountains, be prepared for tranquility!

We were away this weekend…REALLY away! Friday afternoon I took a little gulp as I watched my iPhone gradually losing connectivity, but then we replaced that habit with a heavy dose of tranquility. The Eastern Sierra Nevadas are breathtaking, and it may take me a few days to come back down from the mountains. While I wait for an altitude adjustment, I will share a sneak peek.

And yes, for those of you following along, I did fill in some gaps in my quest to better understand how Eastern Sierra water feeds Southern California. I will share more from our field trip soon. For tonight, I am too relaxed to do a bit more! Now that’s breathing lighter…Debra

75 thoughts on “If you’re going to visit the Sierra Nevada Mountains, be prepared for tranquility!

  1. I look forward to reading about what you learned. Gorgeous photos! I wish I were there right now, but maybe I will be in a couple weeks!

  2. Such a spectacular place to experience, Debra. Your photos are beautiful but I bet they’re nothing in comparison to the real sights and sounds. I’m glad you were abe to get away and enjoy this wonderful place.

    • I had quite a time finding some lakes and mountain spots I didn’t even know were close enough to visit on a weekend. Quite a surprise since I have lived here my whole life! I’m still blown away by how beautiful it is. I’m glad I could share some photos. I don’t think it was possible to take a bad one! :-)

  3. What a beautiful part of the world. Thanks for sharing it with us. I’ve never seen Sierra Nevada. I would initially be panicking if I lost connection with my phone and lap top but after a few deep breaths I think it would be just as you say – a very necessary and therapeutic and tranquil time – something we should all experience a few times a year xx

    • I actually did experience a few minutes of anxiety, Charlie. I didn’t know that we were going quite o deep into the woods. But once I began to relax I couldn’t believe how beautiful the whole landscape was and I’ll gladly go again without a worry about connectivity! We all ought to pull the plug once in a while, just to remember what it was like BEFORE! Ha!

    • Thank you so much. The Sierra Nevadas are just majestic. I haven’t spent much time in that region before, and the lower range is within 5 hours of home. I had no idea they were so close to home. Now I’ll be visiting more often, I hope! :-)

  4. Oh WOW, big mountains! Now you know I love being in the mountains Debra, and I know I’d love being in those particular mountains!!
    tranquility – I could do with some please, and I like the idea of being out of range too !

    • I do know that you love mountains, Claire! I think even with your experience in the Alps you’d find this mountain range really lovely. And the unplugging? I had a few initial moments of discomfort, but the feeling passed and then relief. I was surprised at both reactions! Ha! I may need to practice routine disconnecting even if only for a day or two once in a while. We don’t want to forget that we can! :-)

  5. Pingback: If you’re going to visit the Sierra Nevada Mountains, be prepared for tranquility! « IAmOneWeAreThree

    • I don’t think I’d been completely without a cell connection in more than five years. It felt a little strange, I admit. But it would have been a distraction, and you’re right, Meg, it was too beautiful to be distracted by anything.

    • The amazing thing about this particular weekend was that I’ve never spent any time in these beautiful mountains and had no idea they were within 6 hours of home! We explored a whole different quadrant of the state and I’m almost overwhelmed with how much history I’ve uncovered in just a couple of days. I now need to find a little time to sit down and sort it all out a bit. Thank you for asking about my little research project, Kate! :-)

    • I really had a wonderful time exploring some trails in the mountains, Kristy. It’s a good thing we went early in September, though, because these “hills” get very cold and snowy soon! I’m not THAT adventurous! Ha!

    • I don’t think I can take any credit for the beautiful photos, Marie. Everywhere I pointed the camera there was the most beautiful scenery! I am so glad I could share them with you, though, and sometime when you have an interest in coming south, you can avoid the chaos of Los Angeles and focus some time on these gorgeous mountains. I know you’d really enjoy the peace! :-)

  6. Now those are what I call real mountains, Debra! Your obvious withdrawal symptoms from iPhone connectivity made me smile. My mobile phone is for emergencies only and is never switched on unless I need to use it, I LIKE being out of reach sometimes. :-)

    • I so admire your resolve not to buy into needing a phone attached to your hip, Perpetua! I am afraid I have a bad habit of checking my email through the phone entirely too often. So being away from it all was really good for me, I know, and also made it possible to just sink into the beauty of the mountains and lakes! I did my best with the photography, but there was no way that I could really capture those absolutely majestic mountains!

  7. I long to spend more time in the Eastern Sierras, Debra. One of the places pretty high on my list is Kings Canyon: approach from the eastern side through the desert and hike. I’d also love to see Mono Lake. I love the drive from Tahoe down into Nevada.

    • It’s funny, Andra, but I think you are more familiar with the route we traveled than I am! We have always traveled more through central California. I have family in San Francisco and above Sacramento and we either go coastal routes or straight up the middle! We have virtually ignored this particular Hwy 395 route, and I can’t believe what we’ve been missing! Now I have to make up for lost time. And I saw your other response about the Getty…you come, and we must do that together! :-) D

    • I am so glad I could share the Sierra Nevada Mountains and Convict Lake with you! I was experiencing this particular area for the first time, and I was just stunned with the beauty. I have a lot to learn about photography, but I want to return soon and spend more time maybe in a different season with a whole new light. It’s a gorgeous part of Southern California!

  8. Dear Debra, those photographs are remarkable. I’ve never seen the Sierra Nevadas and so this came as a surprise. Actually,I’ve seen few mountain areas. Right before entering the convent I traveled with my family to the Rockies in Colorado but I have little memory of that. The clarity of your photographs makes me feel the coldness of the water and smell the air and hear the wind in the trees. Thank you.

    • Dee, the funny thing is that this particular mountain range is less than five hours from our home and I don’t recall ever seeing them myself! I suppose somewhere in time I drove through…how it didn’t make more of an impression really stuns me! But I fell in love with this area and now can’t wait to plan a return trip! I’m glad I could share them with you…maybe sometime you really will make it all the way out here and I will make sure you see some of these better parts of California–there are few areas you can skip! Ha! Debra

  9. Your pictures were amazing…I’m sure all you could do there was rest and be at peace. I’m glad you had time to get away and slow down a bit!

  10. We are out of cell phone range at my parent’s cabin too, Debra.. and I agree, it can feel unnerving at first. I guess I’m so used to being plugged in and that has become a bad habit at times.. always checking different blogs and Facebook, almost compulsive I think. (At least that’s what my daughter tells me.) I do love it once I’m used to it.. but I have to say, I’m excited to come back and see what everyone’s been up to.. like your photo series today. They were just stunning and I have now got a glimpse into an area I’ve never been! Excellent! xx

    • I am glad I’m not alone anyway, Barb! Ha! I really did struggle a little bit with letting go of the phone reception, which was of course the internet, too! I guess I need to practice breaking that habit! How wonderful that your parents have a cabin you can get away to, and I hope you are able to do that often. We all need to get our rest so we can keep up with all our social media “obligations,” don’t you think? :-)

    • I think I would probably have a more difficult time in the extreme quiet if we stayed as long as a week, but for just a couple of days it’s great. And we weren’t completely isolated. There were other “campers” who also came from the more congested parts of Southern California, and I think it really was a little helpful to have them at least nearby. Total silence might have felt too extreme! :-)

  11. Debra~What grand and spectacular photos! WOW! I keep switching back and forth. Impossible to pick my favorite, that is for sure! I bet the air smelled all pine-y and the birds were trilling away in song! Oh I love whenI am in a gorgeous setting like that. The memories stay with you in your mind forever. I’m so glad you got to get away!!

    • We did enjoy the get-away, Kate. Thank you. This particular mountain range is exceptional. I hope to share a little bit more about it at some time in the future. It fits into the history of the rest of the United States with westward migration and the Gold Rush. We started uncovering so much history we finally just had to make a pledge to ourselves to return! We only had the weekend! :-)

  12. (((sigh))) just looking at the beautiful photos I feel calmer. Mr F and I are thinking of going somewhere next month but as beautiful as it looks, I think a 5 hour drive is a bit too far to drive for the weekend. Were you near June Lake? We spent a lovely weekend near there a few years ago.

    I keep going back to look at your photos one more time. Especially love photo #2…

    • Yes, we were close to June Lake. Not quite as far up the road, but close! We don’t seem to mind long road trips. We go San Francisco for the weekend to be with family from time to time, too. One more day would be a little better, I admit, but we are good road warriors. Give me something good to listen to on the radio and I can drive for hours! I hope you can get up there again. With your hiking skills you’d be set! We did a small portion of the John Muir trail but we saw many very experienced hikers all decked out for a whole day of hiking! What we saw, even in our limited scope, was just wonderful! Check out Rock Creek on the internet and see where that is. I still think I’m going to post a bit more on it. I have to post a few more pictures since I took so many! :-)

    • I was quite amazed at how close the Sierra Nevada Mountains are to Los Angeles, yet I really haven’t spent much time exploring them! This last trip was so enjoyable I think I need to return and get to know them much better. Nature is indeed truly amazing! :-)

    • I am absolutely trying to figure out how we can spend a lot more time in this Sierra Nevada region, Carl. I was completely in awe of the beauty, and maybe next time I’ll take more photos of the towns themselves. They are very rural and modest, and I’m sure at one point in my life I wouldn’t have appreciated them. I do now! The slower pace sounds, lack of noise and traffic is very appealing to me!

  13. Breath taking…. what a rugged place so close to your base! Now this might be a little off topic, but here’s my question: we have heard of a certain small rodent in the Yosemite area whose droppings contain a deadly virus, and that there have actually been recent tragic mortalities connected to this little carrier. Has the hantavirus been much in the news out that way, or is it just us midwesterners who get overly-concerned with the droppings and urine of the deer mice? And by the way, I don’t think we have any deer mice in my back yard… so why am I so concerned?

    • Yes, Natalie, it’s a very real concern. The fatalities occurred in one particular Yosemite campground, not the entire National Park, and I don’t think they’ve determined precisely why this occurred this year. One thing for sure, it appears that the fatalities occurred in people who ignored the symptoms far too long. Believe me, I have my antennae alert to learn more. It is very disturbing. It makes me a little fearful of camping too far into these gorgeous areas. I think I prefer staying outside the camps and driving in for the day. I’m so susceptible to suggestion. No matter how rare the incident, once I know of it, everything the creeps, flies or crawls will have me just sure it’s a threat. I do think we’ll be hearing more about the Yosemite deaths, though, and what can be done to prevent them in the future. It was such a tragedy!

  14. The Sierras display a variety of scenic backdrops. The Sierras have small crystal clear lakes concealed in valleys, massive red trees (sequoias), granite mountains, cascading waterfalls,
    and old mining towns. The rugged mountains and exquisite beauty of plants and animals draw many people there. The Sierras offer tranquility to all who visit.

I always enjoy hearing from you!

