Our four legged grandson comes for a Father’s Day visit…hide the other pets!

Our son, Jonathan, came by to spend some time with his dad today, but he didn’t come alone. He brought Obi. Now Obi has been to our home before, but every time he comes we find there’s a little extra excitement.  Jonathan did ask first if we were up to the added measure!  Technically speaking, this four-legged friend  first belongs to Jonathan’s girlfriend, but she is out-of-town on a work assignment and he is functioning as a step-in parent. He felt responsible to provide weekend attention and companionship so didn’t want to leave  Obi home alone all day. Did I mention? He’s a lively and curious dog!

Obi is a four-year-old Vizsla. A Viszla is the smallest of the all-round pointer-retriever breeds and this lively companion dog is also a natural hunter with an excellent nose! I learned today that the Vizsla is also particularly known as a bird hunter. I learned this fact as Obi jumped and barked to the point of frothing at the mouth, sensing that Kramer was in the kitchen window. We relocated Kramer the cockatiel to the laundry room safely in the back of the house.

Do you remember Pinky’s condo safe house? We specifically chose this model because it has a bunny panic room. If Pinky senses danger she can scamper up to the top floor and bolt through an opening into a completely private hiding space.

We thought perhaps Obi would be fooled and Pinky would be left alone. But OH NO!

This picture was taken while Jay ran to another part of the yard to retrieve the portable rabbit cage. Pinky was hopping inside her safe house but we could hear her little head hitting the top of the wood roof, obviously very distressed. I was afraid she would have a heart attack. I wasn’t too happy either!

Stealth maneuvering created enough distraction to move Pinky indoors, too. No need for Kramer to be alone. Obi continued to check out the condo. His nose told him that Pinky might still be in the safe house. Several minutes of heavy-duty investigation gave us a brief respite in which to eat lunch. Did I mention that Obi is lively?

Perhaps Obi felt badly for his previous behaviors and wanted to help out. He found some potted plants with a few grassy weeds. But apparently eating out of the potted plants wasn’t enough. He found a decorative bowl with seashells and helped himself to a starfish. The crunching was a little disturbing even if it was only decorative.

Here comes trouble! Darwin rounded the corner to find his mid-afternoon snack had been tossed carelessly about! He was having none of this nonsense. I am not sure who needed rescuing first, Darwin or Obi! Obi was very eager to make acquaintance with Darwin, but Darwin has powerful jaws and we weren’t planning to find out how the match would be settled. So Darwin was carried back to his house, too.

Mellowed Out!

Obi was now worn out, but doesn’t he look just a little forlorn? He just wanted to play and we took away all his playmates.

Wikipedia tells me that Vizslas thrive on attention, exercise, and interaction.

After today, I can attest to the veracity of this fact!

Did I mention that he’s a lively dog?

Here comes Monday! Hope you have a great week. Obi plans to have a good one, too!

…Debra

34 thoughts on “Our four legged grandson comes for a Father’s Day visit…hide the other pets!

  1. It would have been such a treat to have been a fly on the wall and watch the two of them play together. How gorgeous and ‘human’ looking is the Hungarian Vissler xx

    • I think if Obi visits more frequently he will definitely calm more easily, although I don’t know how a dog with hunting instincts can resists rabbits and birds. And I think Darwin would have hurt Obi! We were hopping around almost as much as the bunny, Charlie! He is a beautiful dog, though, and extremely sweet! Debra

  2. When I read “Visla” I knew 2 things. 1) They are a handome breed and 2) They’re an active breed. Max has his Visla buddies at the dog park and together they run from one end of the park to the other, nonstop the entire time we’re there. I’ve wondered what they must be like when at home. (I’m sure their owners would say something similar about Max.)
    I can just see you shepherding your “children” to safer quarters. I don’t know why, though. Obi looks positively serene in that last photo. :)

    • Obi is a beautiful dog and really has a sweet temperament. I really enjoy being around him, but next time I absolutely must prepare ahead of time! I can picture your dog park experiences and that would be really fun to see! There is a dog park close to where my son and his girlfriend live, and I must ask them if I can accompany them sometime! I’d love to see that. There’s something wonderful about the joyful exuberance of dogs in play! And as for my children, yep! I’m really protective. I get teased a bit. This morning before I could leave for work I had to go back to the rear of the yard and check on Pinky. I was still a little concerned that maybe she wasn’t okay. But she is apparently resilient! :-) Give Max a big hug! Debra

    • We did have a great day! I think I need to figure out a faster lens speed on my camera! I lost a lot of the real action. Or it might have been that I, too, began running around and shrieking! LOL! Debra

    • He is beautiful, isn’t he, Jen? His other grandparents are good sitters, so I don’t think with our animals we’ll be asked…but he is welcome any time! He’s a good dog and very sweet. Despite his rambunctious nature he is really gentle! I just need to prepare better next time. It wasn’t fair to him or the others, really! :-) Debra

    • The first time he visited about a year ago I was a little undone! I think now we know he will eventually calm down…he just has to make the rounds first. I do think he’s beautiful. And his mommy and daddy really love him! :-) Debra

  3. My stepdaughter has a breed that I can’t pronounce and is ginormous! and did I say he was active too? She has 5 cats and another dog besides the active one. We never stay there when we visit and we think it should be zoned as a zoo. Hope you got time to visit with your son.

    • Ha! Yes, we did eventually get a good visit in. We also mentioned that maybe the next visit will be at his place. LOL! Your stepdaughter does have a house full! I don’t know how it works to have so many…I can barely feed the ones I have! :-) Debra

  4. Such a beautiful dog! I’d never heard of that breed before. I’d love watching him expend his energy and curiosity, but for our home, a more mellow dog is more our speed right now. :)

    • Oh yes, for sure, more mellow would be necessary for me, too! I commented on that yesterday, telling my son that a Vizsla is a young person’s dog! They are a Hungarian breed, and I will say he is beautiful. And I love watching the way he looks up in total adoration of my son or his girlfriend! There is true love going there…both ways! He’s also, for such an active and curious dog, kind of timid if confronted. I think Daisy might actually stand up to him quite well! LOL! Debra

  5. Oh you had your hands full this weekend! obi is a handsome chap, I don’t know this breed, but I take it he’s a bit lively :) and thank goodness you got everyone else out of the way, poor pinky – I’m guessing extra treats are in order for all of you!

    • Yes, Claire, it was funny to watch us all try to figure out what we needed to do first! Fortunately after all other animals were in a safe spot Obi did calm down. I think in fact we kind of teased him with the other pets, although I didn’t see it that way at the time. I held Pinky for a while after Obi went home…and checked on her again this morning before I went to work…just to be sure she was okay! LOL! Debra

  6. Hi Debra,
    Thank you for another great post. I always come here knowing I’m going to have a fun read but this was really hilarious. The dog is beautiful – I’ve never heard of the breed. I love the picture of him on your garden sofa. Does your son’s girlfriend have a huge yard for him? Talking of yards I love yours – your succulents look so good in their pots and remind me that I’m way overdue to re-pot everything on my patio. Though I’m back home from my travels I don’t have time for gardening because I have so much blog catching up to do … Always an excuse…

    • I hope to sit down tonight and get caught up on some blog reading, too, Rosie, so I am eager to har more about your trip! It must have been really an amazing experience! You should have blog “material” for weeks, don’t you think? :-) We do our gardening in spurts! I’ve been working a bit harder the last few weeks because we are going to host a backyard baby shower next weekend for my niece. Nothing like having company to get me in gear! Obi is a sweet dog. I need to remind my son that I wasn’t complaining about him! I was mostly in awe of that much energy! I’d like some of that! So glad you’re home…Debra

  7. Lions, and tigers, and Obi – oh, my!

    Such a handsome fellow, isn’t he Debra? I can just imagine you and Jay, hopping about, up and down and all around saving the others.

    One year, many years ago, my sister decided to give her children a puppy for Christmas and wanted it to be a surprise come Christmas morning. Talbot first went to my aunt’s house. He only stayed one night. “Dottie, come get your dog”. We were next. After Talbot ate some Christmas cookies, chewed through a few items of clothing, and then chewed Tom’s electric racing car set, well, Talbot ended up being an early Christmas present.

    • Oh my goodness…Talbot was indeed a hand-full, wasn’t he? Love the name! There’s something a little magical about children getting a puppy on Christmas morning, but I can only imagine the chaos. Poor Obi was with us last Christmas and got into his mommy’s beautiful gingerbread. She’d created a very special recipe that was just gorgeous and Obi got into it…ruined the gift and he got very sick. These poor pups need a lot of supervision and attention. That’s one major reason as much as I think I’d like a dog I couldn’t handle the responsibility! :-) Debra

  8. Dear Debra, oh and did I mention that cats have lots of trouble with lively dogs! I feared for Pinky and was so glad to learn that you took her to a safe place. Obi is lively. Will he calm a little as he ages? Is four considered adult for this breed? Peace.

    • I can’t imagine a cat around Obi, Dee, except that maybe a cat would have good natural defenses and could teach Obi how to proceed with a bit more caution! I think that four years old is still considered young for this breed, so it will be interesting to watch him mature. In the meantime, I do need to look out for the other pets. Fortunately he’s very gentle with humans! :-) Debra

I always enjoy hearing from you!

