It’s exhale Friday and I’m preparing for sky-watching–again.

I guess by now you have figured out that I’m a sky-watcher.  I don’t know enough to be an astronomer, and probably the most I can claim is that I pay attention.  And although I could luxuriously sleep in  Saturday morning,  I do have a strong urge to witness the morning twilight lineup of the moon, Jupiter and Venus.

I don’t know that this is all that rare an occurrence, certainly not a never-again-in-my lifetime-moment, but I think my natural sense of order simply likes to see the other planets stand out a bit! I think it’s spectacular just because! The celestial three line up will be in the east Saturday morning, June 16th,  and whether you observe from the Northern Hemisphere or the Southern, the moon is at top, Venus bottom, and Jupiter in between.

My daily guide, earthsky.org, informs me I will need a level and unobstructed horizon, and possibly binoculars, to spot the low hanging Venus. There’s a bonus. With binoculars I may expect to catch the earthshine on the dark side of the crescent moon. Might that be worth seeing?  Well, my favorite quote at the moment comes from Jon Kabat-Zinn: “The little things? The little moments? They aren’t little.”

So before I commit to waking early, I took a little walk around the premises to assess maximum viewing potential.  If I can’t find that unobstructed view, I’m not sure that earthshine alone is going to get me out of bed.

Residential  properties are lined with century-old trees. I wouldn’t want to sacrifice a one of them, but it is difficult to “look out” and see the horizon from anywhere on our property.

Can’t see too much sky through these trees next door…

Look who I spied! The neighborhood predator.  If I hadn’t been looking to the west I’d never have seen him–he’s in a different tree this time.

Oh, and look at that! Remember the exterior shots of the church in the 1991 Father of the Bride? That’s the bell-tower and church filmed in the movie. The house across the street from us is being rebuilt…so while the lot is empty I can look straight through to one block over and just  look what I can see!

So often we humans go about our business as though everything we do is SO critically important. I love the joke, “When they discover the center of the universe, a lot of people are going to be shocked they’re not in it.” My looking up and appreciating the planets and the vastness of sky is one solid way to be reminded that I occupy just a very little bit of space in this vast universe. It’s all perspective!

Sophia and Karina are spending the night with us tonight, and by the way, they ARE the center of OUR universe, so something tells me that sleeping in Saturday morning may not be as big an option as I might like anyway.  Maybe I’ll have a couple of binocular carrying companions staring up at the sky in the middle of the night morning twilight. They would make the adventure complete!

Enjoy your weekend, and if you get the chance, don’t forget to look UP!

Breathing lighter…Debra

28 thoughts on “It’s exhale Friday and I’m preparing for sky-watching–again.

  1. Your sense of wonder for life is contagious! The vastness of the sky does have a way of reminding us that we are occupying a little space in the universe. It’s awesome and humbling to me. Have a happy Friday!

  2. What a beautiful church and of course I recognised it from the movie (one of my favourites) as soon as you told me its history. I’m so glad it’s a real church and not something created for the movie by a studio. Have a lovely weekend with your grandchildren and I hope you don’t get too exhausted. May they sleep! xx

    • There are so many places near where we live that appear in movies. The funny thing about Father of the Bride is that we kept hearing the church bells ring. After a good 30 minutes we walked over to see what was going on and it was obviously a movie. They had covered it with fake snow. But we didn’t know which one until we later saw the movie! One day maybe I’ll go around town and snap photos of particularly well-known movie sites and share them just for fun! I did get up to see the night sky…we were all fogged in! Nothing! LOL! Back to bed! Debra

    • The little ones were a lot of fun, so thank you! Sophia graduated from Preschool yesterday…off to Kindergarten soon. LOL! I am going to lose some of my scheduling flexibility, so I will need to front-load summer time with the girls. :-) Hope you are having a wonderful weekend! Debra

  3. Thanks, Debra, for the heads up. I’ll most certainly be awake. Like the sun, Max rises a few minutes earlier each day this time of the year. The horizon will be obstructed by my neighbor’s homes, however, and how much of this I can see will depend upon how high in the sky they’ll appear. Won’t hurt giving it a look-see, though, now will it?
    Have a great weekend!

    • I didn’t see a thing, John! We were socked in with fog! Perhaps that is true more often than not and I just don’t know it because I don’t go outside to look! LOL! I hope you might have had better success! Oh well! I just had to give it a try! It IS a good weekend, and I hope for you, too! Maybe some Farmer’s Market time? Max must enjoy that, too! Debra

      • I couldn’t see a thing either. Clouds/haze blocked my view. Yes, today was farmers market day. Max comes with and starts crying about a mile from the place. He absolutely adores the crossing guard. By the time I turn onto the street, he’s making so much noise you’d swear I was beating him. Everything stops at that end of the market as people watch me park the car, Max crying and baying the entire time. Debra will rush over and he quiets right down. We, or should I say, “He” is very well known at that end of the market. Debra introduces him as her “friend Max.” Once she greets him, he never makes another peep. He sits patiently while I go shop and Debra gets back to work. The following Saturday morning it starts all over again.

      • I could just envision Max at the Farmer’s Market! These are the kind of social encounters that really give me a boost! You can almost get a small town feel, can’t you! And since Max wants to go each week, it gets you on the road regardless of other plans! :-) D

  4. The trees around your property are magnificent, they must be wonderful to look up into – I’d definitely be a tree watcher with those around.
    And I just loved the joke!!! Hope you have a super weekend

    • I hope you, too, are having a good weekend, Claire. The trees didn’t end up being the reason I couldn’t see the stars, but we had so much fog I couldn’t see a thing! Oh well, I tried! :-) Debra

  5. I hope you catch more than a glimpse, Debra. We have so many trees, I doubt that even if I’m up I will see it, but, then again, I may just hop in the car and drive to where I can get a view. Isn’t life grand?

    • I did manage to scootch out of bed with reasonable enthusiasm, Penny, but we were so socked in with fog that I couldn’t even see the moon! Oh well! I enjoyed just being aware that it was occurring. Then I went back to bed! LOL! I hope you’re enjoying your weekend, Penny. I suspect that you are! :-) Debra

  6. Lovely plan for the night, Debra. And I love all the other little tidbits you throw in: Father of the Bride is one of my favourite movies and I’ve always loved that church; and you have a neighbourhood predator. Fabulous. Enjoy your star spotting!

    • One of these times I might take a little tour of Pasadena and post some additional shots of other movie sites. It is one of the more unique aspects of where we live. When Father of the Bride was being filmed we didn’t know, of course, but the church bells were ringing at odd times and for so long we walked over and when we saw snow on the ground we knew it was a movie. We didn’t know anything more until a year or so later when we saw the movie! It’s always just a little fun. I’m just glad I could share it with you! :-) Debra

  7. Dear Debra, I so enjoy reading your postings because of the depth and breadth of your interests. I think that Sophia and Karina should be the center of your universe right now. Every child–every child–deserves to be the enter of someone’s universe when growing up. Later we become the center of our own universe but so much of our self-love and self-vaulation comes from having been the center of the universe for parents or grandparents or aunts or uncles. It is perhaps out of being that center that ultimately we come to recognize the deep, dark compassionate center of ourselves where Oneness dwells. Peace.

    • Thank you, Dee, for finding my eclectic interests noteworthy. I think I’m a bit all over the place and sometimes that doesn’t translate to a very deep knowledge of the subjects. I went back to school as an older adult and I recall how much trouble I had choosing classes…I thought I’d really like to have at least one course in everything. Ha! It’s a good thing we can learn across the lifespan, isn’t it! And you’re so right about the girls being the center of our universe. My heart hurts so much for the children (in the billions) around the world who don’t have the luxury of grandparents who are simply placed in their lives to dote and build up self-confidence. Your words are once again so beautifully encouraging to not lose that focus! oxo Debra

  8. Hoping you had a great weekend Debra! :) I love star watching too; although I usually have no idea what I’m looking at. ;) I did share the Venus transition with the kids last time though and they were very excited – especially Mr. N.

    • I’m sure that Mr. N is at the perfect age to begin to absorb some bits of astronomy, Kristy! If I didn’t have apps to help me along I wouldn’t know what I’m seeing either. LOL! But it’s amazing how I learn a little bit along the way. Try, try, try again! I did have a good weekend, and hope you did also! Debra

    • Hi Meg! I think I learned to observe the sky from my dad, too. He has always held an interest. I use a NASA app and some daily reminders from noted websites to help ease me into an awareness. I use each nudge to try to learn just a little bit more. It becomes a nice way to close out a day, or start a new one! :-) Debra

  9. I was so frustrated to be reading this late after the weekend because I would’ve loved to see the line up! I felt so much better to read your comment that although you got up early you couldn’t see anything for the fog.
    Love the trees in your garden!

    • We had a bit of “June gloom” that morning, Rosie…way too much early morning fog, so I didn’t see a thing! You didn’t miss out at all. I know you also enjoy that kind of thing. I was really envious of your wonderful Supermoon photos! :-) We do what we can, right? :-) Debra

I always enjoy hearing from you!

