Another collection, a great vocabulary word and a recipe for eggs you might want to cut down to size!

Jay is still in the recuperation zone, but he is doing well and we are heading into a big Easter gathering at our house. We don’t stay idle very long.  I’m not sure I’ll have time to polish all the details I usually try to address before a home event and certainly with the handyman out of commission our backyard may not be all we would want it to be, but that’s fine, at least I have my priorities in place…I decided to squeeze in a quick post!

I wasn’t thinking of sharing anything in particular, but when I read Just a Smidge today I found my writing prompt! Smidge shares her delicious cookie and cake recipes, but first introduces them with some unexpectedly simple, yet exquisite Martha Stewart inspired egg cup centerpieces—Smidge calls them tasses à fleurs! Do click this link and see how simple, yet pretty they are!

In March I shared some of the items I’ve collected commemorating Queen Elizabeth’s coronation. My paternal grandmother inspired that collection. I have another collection courtesy of my maternal grandmother. She started a collection of egg cups when I was very young. Why egg cups? She liked them. And through the years I have added to the collection, receiving them as gifts from friends and family brought home from travels all over the world.

Egg cups have been used since prehistoric times, with some of the earliest recovered at the Bronze Age palace of Cretan Knossos  dated as early as the 18th century BC. An early silver egg cup from 74 BC was found in the ruins of Pompeii!

And here’s a good word for you to pull out sometime–Pocillovy. Derived from the Latin pocillum for small cup and ovi for eggs–you’ve got it! Collecting egg cups is called Polcillovy. Who knew?

I was an early childhood educator for many years, and I get my ostrich and other large bird eggs out of my curriculum boxes every spring. Now I have preschool-aged granddaughters to enjoy them.

And you haven’t yet met Kramer, have you! Yes, Kramer…Jay didn’t watch Seinfeld, but I did! You can’t see his crazy top-knot of feathers very well in this picture. She was actually a rescue bird. My sister-in-law found her in the parking lot while picking her son up from school. I’m the bird lady, so Kramer’s been a part of our family for about eight years. We took a guess at gender, and it was only later that we discovered Kramer was a she… see the little eggs at the bottom of the cage?

Kramer at the bottom of her cage...egg laying time!

Just two eggs this time. Usually there are three.

This time of year eggs are certainly part of Easter celebrations all over the world, both secular and religious. The egg is widely used as a symbol of new life. In the Christian tradition there is symbolism representing the resurrection of Christ, and in popular culture, colored eggs are hidden by the Easter bunny for children to find on Easter Sunday, certainly as signs of spring. My husband and I bring a Christian perspective to our family Easter traditions, but after church we gather with the our much larger family and have great fun with dyed eggs, egg hunts and yes, chocolate–there are some members of my family that can’t resist the lure of Cadbury Eggs (fortunately they’re not my favorite).

After a weekend of possible over-indulgence, it might be good to simplify the diet just a little bit! Research published in The Journal of the American College of Nutrition determined that eggs lend a greater sense of satiety than more carbohydrate-laden breakfasts with a similar calorie count. Eggs provide the essential vitamins and minerals recommended for a healthy balance, without contributing an excess amount of calories.

What about cholesterol? A major risk factor in cardiovascular disease, for sure, but a Harvard School of Public Health study found no relationship between egg consumption and cardiovascular disease in a population of over 117,000 nurses and health professionals followed for eight to fourteen years. If you are at high risk for heart disease and have elevated blood cholesterol levels, certainly your doctor will help you determine the best diet, but often the recommendation is simply to beware of too many yolks.

I like eggs for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I link eggs with comfort food!

For fun I thought I’d share a recipe I found on the American Egg Board website. I enjoyed reading recipes intended for large school populations. You may need to do a little portion readjusting.

Frittata Pocket

Ingredients:

2/3 cups olive oil

6 lb. sliced leeks or coarsely chopped onions

2 TB Thyme leaves, dried

100 large eggs

¼ cup salt

1-/1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

6-2/3 cups Parmesan cheese, shredded

4 lbs. diced tomatoes, seeded

50 Pita pocket bread, halved

Directions:

Heat oil in large skillet. Add leeks and thyme. Cook, stirring occasionally until limp, about 5 minutes, adding water if necessary to prevent scorching.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray-coat five 12x20x2 inch pans.

Beat eggs, salt, and pepper.  Pour about 2-1/2 cups egg mixture over leeks in each pan. Bake 12 to 15 minutes until puffy and firm in center.

Sprinkle 2/3 cup cheese over eggs in each pan.  Bake an additional 3 to 5 minutes, until cheese is melted.

Slice eggs in each pan into strips, cutting each pan 2 x 10.

For each serving, portion 2 strips and 1-1/2 tablespoons tomatoes into each pita half.

Serve immediately

Yield:  100 pocket sandwich servings

Now you’re prepared if you are called upon to serve breakfast in a mess tent!

However you celebrate Easter, I hope it is peaceful and healthy, shared with family, friends and reflections that mean the most to you this spring.

…Debra

56 thoughts on “Another collection, a great vocabulary word and a recipe for eggs you might want to cut down to size!

  1. Omigooseness Debra, all this talk of eggs has me feeling one right now! What a wonderful post — I think you’ve run the gamut on eggs this morning, and I’m honking and flapping about that Frittata recipe…getting out to the store today to stock up on a few eggs. :-) Easter blessings on you.

    • That’s quite a large Frittata isn’t it, Mother Goose! If the recipe had used goose eggs it might have been a more interesting recipe! Yes, I like eggs, too, and I think they are also one of nature’s beauties…I KNOW you must have admired them :-) You have a wonderful Easter, too. I’m sure you’ll have a wonderful family day! Debra

  2. I enjoy eggs anytime as well, Debra, and am glad they are back in the news as good eats!

    What a heartwarming post of possibilities and joy. You made my day, Debra.

    Is Kramer a cockatiel? We have one. Maya. We thought he was a she. Who knows with birds? He has quite a vocabulary and keeps us entertained with his repertoire several times a day. I love seeing those little eggs from Kramer.

    • Isn’t that another fun coincidence, Penny. Yes, Kramer is a cockatiel! She doesn’t have a vocabulary, but she does have a lot of personality! I don’t know anything about her history before she was rescued, but I think the window for training had narrowed considerably. I have been collecting her eggs for a few years now…it’ a bit odd. I don’t even know why I keep them, but I haven’t been able to just throw them out. Oh the odd things my children will find one day! Ha! I hope you have a wonderful Easter, Penny. I’m sure you will! Debra

  3. Thank you for the shout-out today, Debra. I really enjoyed seeing your egg cup collection and your huge ostrich eggs are gorgeous. We have more in common than you or I knew.. I, too, was a school teacher (Grades K-4) for many years.. and had boxes of special objects for all of my teaching units. We had a class pet named Kramer.. a Guinea Pig with a “flourish” of hair on top:) Have a wonderful Easter!! xo Smidge

    • I am going to insist that all of my friends get over to your beautiful site…now that I’ve provided a link, they will! It is so lovely, Smidge! Kramer the guinea pig! That’s too cute. I wonder how many pets have been given that name for their flourish of crazy hair :-) I stopped teaching ten years ago, Smidge, and moved up to working at a university. I don’t miss all the prep work, but especially at holiday time, I do miss teaching and working with young children. I hope you, too, have a wonderful Easter. Debra

      • i have an M.A. but most of our professors have Ph.Ds and unless I had experience in something very specialized I wouldn’t be able to teach. I work with evaluation research and accreditation data analysis. A very big departure from early childhood education! Ha! It is a great environment and I always feel challenged, I would definitely encourage considering university or college career paths. For one thing, often children receive tremendous tuition benefits! That alone is good incentive these days! Stay in touch on this if you make some inquiries…Debra

    • And a Joyous Easter to you, too, Frank. Those Cadbury eggs are expensive! My adult son just loves these and it isn’t Easter to him without a fresh stash! I always laugh at how much money I spend on Easter candy for my family…they aren’t really candy eaters except at this time of year. Memories, I guess :-) Debra

  4. I’m having out-of-state family here for a week (!) at the end of April, and this recipe would be great for a breakfast….although thank goodness I’m not having THAT many guests here at once! LOL

    Little Kramer is so pretty, and how cool that she laid eggs! We had a cockatiel at an office where I used to work – pre-Seinfeld days – and we named it Fonzy after the Happy Days character because of that look the bird got when he raised his head plumage. He looked like he was saying, “Heeyyyy, I’m cool, man!” :)

    I love your egg cup collection. I have a collection of pressed glass (and a few porcelain) Victorian toothpick holders. I think it’s so fascinating how the Victorians had a tableware piece for every little function. I have a particular love of small, pretty things, and pressed glass is among my favorites.

    Happy Easter to you and your family! We’re having a small, quiet Easter this year, for which I’m VERY grateful!

    • I’m chuckling at the name Fonzy for the office cockatiel! Another perfect name! My grandmothers and my mother always collected glassware, crystal and they were very fond of Victorian decorating. I love pressed glass! I’m sure you have some lovely things. I have inherited some nice items through the years and I really do enjoy remembering them on my grandmothers’ tables, simply part of my childhood. We live in Southern California and have experienced earthquake damage in the past. In the late ’80s we had a very bad shaker and we sustained a lot of damage. It is very sobering…I enjoy what I have, but since that time I don’t add to my collections much. I might one day post about our earthquake experiences. I hope you enjoyed the egg recipe. Ha! I am very glad you aren’t hosting a crowd quite that big! We will have kind of a big group, but we are keeping things as simple as possible! Have a wonderful, Easter! It’s a lovely time of year, isn’t it? Debra

  5. That’s quite the collection you’ve got, Debra, and thanks for the lesson on Polcillovy. My parrot, Lucy, laid 2 eggs a couple weeks ago. Diplomat that she is, she laid one on St. Patrick’s day and the 2nd on St. Joseph’s. Thanks for the recipe. Now I need to find 49 people who are free for brunch on Easter and I’ll be all set. Wishing you and yours and wonderful Easter, Debra.

    • Lucy the parrot! I love the name, John. You are a Lucy fan like I am :-) Isn’t that funny about egg laying on two special days! I am so amused at how much personality birds can have. Kramer begins shrieking “hello” if she hears my father coming up the driveway. When we are out of town he takes care of her and she greets him. She also hears my car pulling into the driveway and gets all excited. It doesn’t take much to amuse me :-) I had to post that recipe. I was so delighted to see the recipes on the website, many of which were very creative. Then I realized it was for school districts and each recipe was huge. Someone responsible for a camp or large fraternal organization might find it useful…I don’t think I will! I hope your Easter is peaceful and enjoyable, John. Debra

  6. Well, I think I could contribute the six pounds of leeks for the recipe, but 100 eggs might be a problem! Happy Easter! We don’t celebrate — I’ll be having Passover with a good friend tonight and Mom will make a yeasted coffee cake for Easter morning (I made almond paste for her yesterday).

    • A few years ago I was a regular volunteer in a community kitchen for the homeless, and we worked with recipes this large, but I wasn’t in charge of the planning. I usually had one assigned task, like chopping one ingredient, and I was fascinated when the end result all came together. The woman in charge of the kitchen was impressive in using ingredients that had been donated and pulling together wonderful meals. It is an art to cook for a huge crowd! I am sure the Passover Seder will be very lovely! I would enjoy the experience very much. I was listening to a commentator on the radio this morning reminding that Passover has been celebrated for 3,000 years–I truly value the importance of ritual. I trust it will be a lovely evening for you. And I would love a taste of that coffee cake, Sharyn. You made your own almond paste! Wow! Debra

  7. I love eggs! My dad always made a large very fluffy egg dis where he would fold in the whipped egg whites and then bake. it would be very large and fluffy and he would sprinkle sugar yes sugar on it to this day love just a little sugar with my eggs. My grand kids think this is so funny! Thanks for the new recipe Debra!
    Easter Blessings to you and your family!
    Deb

    • That’s so interesting, Deb! Sugar? I’ve never heard that, but on a light fluffy dish I’ll bet it is good! How unique! I hope you’ll have time with those precious grandchildren on Easter? Or soon? Miss you! Deb

    • That is funny, Nancy! I have known others who don’t like eggs, and I am sure it must have something to do with the consistency? But then I’ve never liked milk, and just can’t get passed that! We are funny with our tastes! :-) Debra

    • I never did before, Andrea, but after seeing them displayed so beautifully on the site I referenced, “Just a Smidgeon” I realize I’m not that creative! They are so simple and it never once occurred to me!

  8. What a lovely Easter post, Debra. You got me on Kramer: I am a Kraner groupie and have been ever since he swam in the East river (or was it the HUdson?). The man is a twisted genius. I am sure his namesake has some of his charismatic qualities. Lovely recipe too! Have a wonderful Easter…

    • Twisted genius! You’ve got it! I am completely fascinated with the way the Michael Richards can get the body language of his character completely central to the character :-) I hope your Easter is lovely. D

    • I enjoy sharing little things from home…my little collection is such a simple pleasure. I doubt any child would be that interested today! Ha! My Easter was very blest and meaningful…I really enjoyed the “touchstones” you provided, Perpetua! Lovely, meaningful sharing. Debra

  9. The egg being a new beginning as Christ is each day to all of us. To glorify him in all we say, write and do. The love you show in your post is amazing, heart warming. As this 2012 Easter is a celebration I want to celebrate YOU. You are really an inspiration to me. Thank you for being my friend, commenting on my blogs, and for simply being YOU, Debra I admire you.
    As I work 14 hours a day bare, with me as I will post my comments once of twice a week, as this is the love of my life, to visit blogger I love to share with.

    • Jackie, You are so kind! I enjoy sharing, and I’m not nearly as bold as you in your personal reflections on Christianity. I admire you very much in your very personal sharing. I enjoy reading each one. I, too, fall behind and then catch up. I don’t think blogging should ever become a burden to any one of us, and life as we are living it is the most important part. We don’t speak to our lifelong friends every day either, but when we get caught up it’s always so pleasant and enjoyable. That’s what we need to feel with our blogs. I do understand how hard it is to sometimes stay away…but I, for one, completely understand that we are NOT machines :-) Be very easy and kind with yourself on this…I’m of the tortoise and hare variety…if we do too much we just flame out! Ha! I hope you have a wonderful week…and I’m thankful you have work. Why is it always feast or famine? Whew! Debra

  10. Oh I absolutely agree about the egg thing and even though the whole cholesterol humbug is being outed. (Heart surgeons are saying now that the lack of a good fat diet (which frankly is ancient) is much much worse than a processed food diet,) and then they say oh sorry we made a mistake about cholesterol but the drugs make so much money that … blah blah blah.. WELL we all knew eggs and butter were good for us!. What a gorgeous little bird, I bet he gets out and flies around the kitchen every now and then! now I am sorry to hear that the handyman is under the weather.. hope that sorts itself out soon.. c

    • Thanks, Celi! Yes, Jay is doing better…we do trip over one another a little bit more, but I think we’d better learn how to do that dance anyway! I completely agree with you about the diet, too. There is so little common sense in what we are told about nutrition and overall diet and health. We really need to do our own homework here, don’t we? I always think of how my grandparents ate…well! They didn’t cut out fat and they lived to ripe old ages. Of course they worked hard physically, and used a little moderation–two things absent in most people’s lives today! I so enjoy your encouragement in the direction of good common sense! Even your feeding the animals yogurt once a week…somehow the intention and deliberation behind the nutrition for the animals just delights me…families could learn a lot about feeding their “flock” at home just by reading your description of healthy animal care! :-) Debra

    • Thank you, Kate! Can you imagine a frittata for 100? LOL! I really appreciate your thinking of me for the award! How nice! I’m backed-up with one other award, too…it’s award season, perhaps? :-) I think I will respond publicly the first week in May when it is my “one year anniversary”–seems like that would fit in so nicely! So I’ll let it sit just a couple of weeks, and tell you now how much I appreciate it. Blessings on your week, Kate! Debra

    • Thank you! Easter was lovely, and I hope yours was, too. We had wonderful weather which made navigating really nice! Kramer is a character…she just demands to be appreciated! :-) I hope your week begins and ends well! Debra

    • Thank you so much, Claire! It is fun to pop into all the wonderful posts and get inspired from so many different directions. What makes it most enjoyable to me is learning so much about every day life in different parts of the world, sharing ideas and just enjoying the fact that we can! I do hope you have a wonderful week! I’ll look forward to reading about it! Debra

    • Ha! Ha! I am glad you took a look at that LARGE recipe, Karen. I had fun reading the recipes on the Egg Board site…all of them were for very large crowds. We did have a very nice Easter, and I certainly hope you did as well :-) Debra

  11. Sending healing light and love to you and Jay… The recipe looks good. Will try it.;-) I’m finally catching up but will have to come back and comment later on other posts. Thanks for your patience! :-)

    • He is doing very well…thank you, Elizabeth! I hope you don’t feel ANY stress about keeping up with posts and reading…there is too much life to live to get bogged down. I think you do a very good job…better to pace yourself than to hit a wall and burn out! :-) Be well!! Debra

  12. Debra, please forgive me for missing this post. Signals on the Trace were not very reliable, and I struggled to catch up on my reading when I returned.

    The big joke last Christmas at our house was that MTM asked for porcelain egg cups. I got him two to match the two we already had. I even asked him how many he wanted before I placed them into my cyber cart. When we opened our gifts, he gave ME four egg cups that matched my china. So, we’re a house of two, and we have eight egg cups. Obviously, the man likes him some soft-boiled eggs………..

    I’m going to have to try this recipe. Thank you for sharing it. I hope you and Jay had a Happy Easter, and may he continue to recuperate with speed.

    • What a funny story, Andra! I guess in your own way you’ve started an egg cup collection, too! I don’t know how you keep up with the posting and reading that you do even from home, so you certainly aren’t expected to maintain that level of attention from the road! :-) I enjoy sharing, so on that level I am always very happy to have comments and find that friends have read what is posted, but I do understand we just can’t always keep up…I’m struggling, too. We had a very nice Easter, Andra. Thank you so much! Debra

I always enjoy hearing from you!

