On the birthday road, but not without my crown!

It may be because Sophia seemed to be born talking that I haven’t focused quite as closely on Karina’s precocious verbal capacity. It’s also probably because Karina distinguishes herself from her older sister by being the comedian.  She harnesses all her “cute” energy and is more actively funny.  She works it! Not yet three, she sings and dances through life, deftly stealing attention whenever  she spies an opportunity to make heads turn. I think there’s a stage in her future! It’s not uncommon to find her whirling and twirling to her own dance–even in the middle of a mall food court. Then once in a while, with a glint in her eye and a very clear expectation that I’m going to laugh, she’ll say something surprising!

In December, quite out of the blue, Karina referred to me as “Your Majesty!” Where in the world did that come from? We aren’t sure. Perhaps she picked up the “royal assignment” from one of the many princess stories she enjoys. Of course I laughed, which to a performer means, “Oh, you liked that? Then I should repeat this often.”  She has indeed again referred to me as “Your Majesty,” complete with a slightly demure bow and hushed tone to match. Her eyes sparkle with humor, however.

And yet she doesnt even know– I have a thing for royalty!

Many, maybe most of my been-in-my-home friends would be completely surprised to know that I am an ardent Anglophile. I’ll take it one step further. All things British interest me, but in particular the monarchy. Not just the long history of Kings and Queens, but the current Royal Family. I don’t talk about this much–I’ve noticed that when I do, eyes glaze over.

My interest started as a very young girl. My paternal grandmother was born in Scotland and came to the United States in her teens. I have very early memories of sitting in my grandparents’ living room with the television on and my grandmother commenting very favorably, almost reverently about the Queen Mother. This was often repeated, with her saying, “She’s a grand lady!” or “She’s a lovely woman.” She was also extremely fond of the hats! I had to ask her on more than one occasion to help me keep all the players straight. Who was the Queen? Why is she married to a Prince, not a King?  Now we’re calling him a Duke? Who are her children? Where are the princess dresses?

She did her best to teach, and the more I learned, the greater my interest in the Windsors.

Nana kept buttons and small pieces of yarn in imported candy or cookie boxes with the Queen’s image smiling back–a bit like the Mona Lisa smile, I think. When my grandmother passed, many of her commemorative items came to me, starting me off on a modest collection. Thanks to the easy accessibility of  Ebay, along with the fact that apparently I’m in a small minority of Americans collecting royal memorabilia, I’ve added quite a few pieces, many connected to the Queen’s coronation celebration. While adding to this collection I honed in on the date, 1952, on many of the china cups, pitchers and commemorative plates. Queen Elizabeth is celebrating her 60th year (her Diamond Jubilee), and as I’ve been heralding all month, my 60th birthday is next week. Since I’m such an admirer, I think this is a very lovely coincidence. Or is it a sign?

I just finished a newly published biography of the Queen as well as the official biography of her mother, my grandmother’s favorite Royal. To my disappointment, but not surprise, I don’t find many opportunities to share with others the interesting things I’ve learned by reading and studying about the House of Windsor. My brother likes to remind me from time to time that although we share a grandmother, he does not share my interest in the monarchy. More than once he has said,”You did hear we were in a little war, right?”  I usually respond with, “Yes, I think I’ve heard of it!”

So there you go! It’s a good thing I can keep myself amused.

Next week I’ll share more about another  of my British interests…you may have heard of them. The Beatles? I’m gearing up to take my celebration party on the road and good for me! I’ll be spending time with the Beatles. Now where might that be? You’ll have to wait to hear more.

I have a full weekend of revelry planned, but I’m NOT going without my CROWN.

I'm SURE I won't embarrass my children, aren't you?

It may come in handy later when I’m not feeling all that regal. Right now? I’m pretty full of myself. I’ll be back in balance after next Tuesday, however. I’m just about ready to return to being “good old dishwashing” Nan!

Cheerio, Debra

32 thoughts on “On the birthday road, but not without my crown!

  1. Happy Birthday Miss Debra! Thank you for sharing your life and interests with us. You are sure a sweet lady and I’m so glad to have met you. :) Enjoy your big birthday and allow yourself to be a bit spoiled by those around you. hugs, Corri

  2. Oh, what a lovely post, Debra – such fun and another bond between us despite the distance. :-) I have a huge amount of respect for our Royal Family, especially the Queen, and although I’m not a collector, I do have one claim to a royal connection. Both my parents had royal birthdays, in that the Queen was born on my mother’s birthday and the Prince of Wales on my father’s. As children we loved the fact that we heard the National Anthem played on these special family days. :-)

    PS I do hope you don’t mind that I’ve posted about your kind award in my own particular way….

    • I am so glad we have this in common! The interest has been strong for years, but after reading these recent biographies I have even greater respect and admiration. The books also helped me better understand the role she has played in British life as sort of a thread that runs through decades, offering unparalleled continuity. See? I want to talk about it. LOL! My American friends just aren’t too interested. And yes, Perpetua, I’m thought you handled the award just beautifully…actually, very creatively! It took me a month, so I was very impressed with how quickly you pulled it together! :-) Debra

  3. Happy Birthday your majesty! This one is indeed special!
    I don’t collect stuff but I have an interest in the old monarchy. I have read biographies about Henry, Elizabeth I, Mary Queen of Scotts, and a whole bunch more. I find it fascinating.

    • I’m so glad you are sharing my birthday with me, Kate. There are so many wonderful biographies written, and much more history than I can ever really hold onto, but I just keep reading. How nice to learn that you do, too! :-) Debra

  4. It’s so odd, the particular things people are interested in: first the boulder and now The Queen (I never would have guessed). I look forward to reading what you have to say about The Beatles.

  5. Your majesty, may I say how much I enjoyed this royal post. If my knees weren’t stiff from trying to garden, I would curtsy. Alas, to do so would put me in a most un-royal position, so, instead I will ask if you’ve ever read Sunday Taylor’s blog, Ciao Domenica? She is an Anglophile as well and shares such lovely words and pictures about England, especially one of the Queen’s diamond jubilee, which can be found here:
    ciaodomenica.blogspot.com/2012/02/queen-and-her-diamond-jubilee.html

    Check the rest of her posts as well. You won’t regret it.

    I inherited my mother-in-laws silverplate, Coronation by Oneida. I think for the coronation of Elizabeth’s uncle, Edward.

    • So you spent today out in the garden! That warm weather was just too enticing, I’m sure! Thank you so much for suggesting Sunday Taylor’s blog. I was not familiar! I’m eager to look up the silverplate pattern, Coronation, too! It must be quite special–I just love the name of it :-) Thanks for having some fun with my silliness, Penny! It’s been fun for me :-) Debra

  6. Oh no … I’m a day late to the party … Happy Birthday Day Debra….. and on Buzzard Day to boot! So keep learning more about what interests you!!! … and I’m looking forward to your Beatles post.

  7. Well, Happy Birthday, Your Majesty! You’ve not only laid claim to a month but a crown, as well. Now, that’s how to celebrate! Perhaps you could direct me to Ye Royal Gift Shoppe. Christmas will be here before we know it and I’d like to purchase commemorative plates for those friends and family members who “have everything.” Ha! They’ve not one of your plates, that’s for sure.

    So, while I wait for one of Your Ladies-in-Waiting to contact me with the purchasing details, please accept my heartfelt wishes for continued happiness and good fortune throughout the remainder of Your Majesty’s birthday celebrations.

  8. Your Majesty,
    As I bow low before you, I wish you a belated 60th birthday. Yesterday I was the March hare, running here and there. Today I have come into your royal presence absent my hat, which blew off in yesterday’s wind. I carry no gift except a real delight in your presence! And oh, please do lay your royal scepter upon my shoulder so that I may become a dame. And please do take your royal keyboard in hand and write more about your love of the royal family. . . . and about your grandmother. Many happy returns of the day, your Majesty. Behold I leave your presence, bowing.

    Peace.

    • Oh you are so fun, Dee! Thank you for being part of my celebration. I have learned so much from you and I couldn’t possibly be more appreciative that you have enjoyed my company! I’ve been having fun! Debra

  9. Happy, happy birthday Debra!
    So an Anglophile eh? And a fan of the royal family? I always find it fascinating that other people could be interested in my Island’s history and goings-on. I guess what I’m trying to say (rather clumsily) that as I grew up with it, it’s not something I give a great deal of thought to! Besides history at school was never a particular favourite, probably more to do with the teachers than anything else, as I’ve got older I’ve come to appreciate history for what it is – how it shapes us etc, my big gaps are modern history so I find myself focusing in on that more than say the Tudors etc. I’ve been watching a programme about the British Empire and Colonialism, and boy does it make you cringe!! It’s strange isn’t it, but I tend to see the Royals caught up in history as opposed to something in the now (which I know isn’t so)! So sorry your Maj and all that…. :) But I do love finding out about my fellow bloggers, and I’m imagining you wearing your crown and your washing up gloves. Ha ha!

    • Claire, the funny thing is that to understand U.S. history well it is a good idea to understand British history! But I doubt you need the context of American history for much! Ha! I read and study out of interest, but there are many gaps in my understanding! Reading about the socio-political structures of another country is a bit like doing a puzzle. I have fun filling in the gaps of all thatnI don’t know! Debra

  10. A belated Happy Birthday Debra. And fun to read about you special interest. Of course I live in a country with a king and queen, but I don’t pay much attention. All the more fun to read about your little “obsession”. Now I look forward to the Beatles.

    • I have to admit that I understand my obsession is a little different, but I know that if we all go back far enough, we really are all connected! :-) Tonight I’m in the city where I will have my Beatles encounter…I will enjoy sharing more about it! Thank you for sharing my birthday celebrations with me, Otto. Debra

  11. Who knew you were such an anglophile! :-) Happy Birthday greetings to you Ms. Debra! :-)
    Happy Birthday to you! :-)
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜
    ¸¸.•*¨*•░H░A░P░P░Y░(¯`’•.¸ *♥♥♥* ¸.•’´¯) ░B░I░R░ T░H░D░A░Y░ (¯`’•.¸*♥♥♥*¸.•’´¯) Hope you enjoy YOUR special day!
    ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦╦═╣╚╣╚╦╝╠═╦╦╗
    ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║╬║║╔╣╔╣║║╬║╬║║║
    ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚═╩╩╝╚═╩╩╩═╩╩╩╗║
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Birthday .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥Happy Birthday to youuuuu ♪♫•*¨*•.¸.•*¨*•♫
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜

  12. Ah, Debra. You know I love this one. What an incredible collection to celebrate QEII and her family. I hope you are safely in Las Vegas, having a glorious birthday weekend. I hope this year is your very best one yet. Please wear that crown for me.

  13. Greetings your majesty,
    I also enjoyed your royal post. I love your crown and the photos of the commemorative items. I have one item – a teatin from Charles and Di’s wedding.

    • Thank you, Rosanne! Collecting these items is simple fun…no real value other than to my imagination, I suppose. I sometimes wonder if my little granddaughters will one day enjoy them. Hope someone does…of course, if not…there’s always E-Bay! :-) Debra

  14. Debra… I think this is the best one yet!!!! I dearly LOVE your sense of humor…. After working together for ten years, you can still make me laugh out loud… and that is just wonderful! Thanks for sharing you! Judy

    • You are so kind, Judy! Thank you! I think we need to keep polishing our sense of humor! There is so much that can drag us down, and we need to keep finding ways to laugh. It is good for us! Thanks for your tremendous generosity, Judy! Debra

I always enjoy hearing from you!

