Am I talented? Just ask a preschooler.

I was talking to Sophia the other day about her upcoming preschool talent show. She and one or two of her friends are preparing to sing and perform in some way…the particulars are going to be a surprise, but in our conversing on the subject I was bold enough to ask my granddaughter what she thought my particular talent might be. She didn’t hesitate long before answering, “Washing dishes!” As happens all too often, I managed to suppress wild laughter, but I thanked her for noticing how much I enjoy preparing meals for others and yes, washing dishes usually follows!

So what are my talents? I’m very musical. I can hear a song or musical theme and remember it without any effort. I play the piano, taught beginners for many years and also enjoyed the pleasure of conducting several small children’s choirs. Music is indeed a passion. On the other hand, I can’t draw worth a lick! I love art on the level of appreciation…but I am never happy to see someone bring out the game of Pictionary. No one welcomes humiliation!

Talents often require practice to keep in shape. Interests and activities don’t necessarily require the same level of dedication.

It’s birthday month, in case I haven’t reminded you of that in each and every post, and it’s a very fine time to think about talents and creativity. It’s easier to contemplate getting older as part of such a large cohort. 10,000 U.S. Baby Boomers hit age 50 every day! Dr. Caleb Finch, the ARCO/William F. Kieschnick Chair in the Neurobiology of Aging and professor of gerontology and biological sciences, writes, “Now it is really clear that if you don’t have a specific disease that causes loss of nerve cells, then most, if not all, of the neurons remain healthy until you die.” That’s a big change from previous thought. And isn’t that good news?

In addition to maintaining good overall health, numerous studies strongly support brain exercises. More than puzzles and mental arithmetic, evidence strongly supports the claim that individuals maintaining creativity and a variety of interests across the lifespan are even better prepared to offset dementia-related symptoms in later life.  So, I’m feeing good about that. I DO have a great many interests.

And my cornucopia of eclectic interests has garnered some very nice attention! Kate Kresse, the creative mind behind Believe Anyway, has shared the Kreativ Blogger Award, and what a lovely birthday gift. Frank at A Frank Angle and Dave and Aly of Algarve Blog tagged breathelighter, and we want to thank them, also, for the added attention. Kate, Frank, Aly and Dave are all wonderful blog contributors. Checking them out will be good for YOUR brain health! :-)

.

For the award I have a few simple things I must do.  I gladly link back to Kate, and hope you’ll make a point of visiting her site. She is  full of optimism and spirit and you will definitely want to make her acquaintance. We are also supposed to list seven interesting things about ourselves. Remember? This is my “all about me” month. I have been doing a lot of sharing, so I’m going to let my blogging partner, Beth, accept the rest of this challenge. You know all about Mae-be and Ruffles, but it’s time for her to share seven interesting things about herself. Won’t she be surprised when she reads this?

I’d also like to pass the award along to other very worthy bloggers. Let’s begin with Kate, at Views and Mews by Coffee Kat. Kate is very clever and humorous, and also quite eclectic in the best of story telling. Perpetua, of Perpetually In Transit is very deserving of additional attention.  Writing from the beautiful landscape of Wales, Perpetua shares from her life as a former librarian and retired parish priest, with stories of  family and her very rich and colorful life. Then there’s Roseanne at Wondering Rose, another delightful blogger. Her tagline is “Wonderings, Wanderings, and meetings at my Museum cash register.” Aren’t you just a little bit curious?

The award recommends more nominations, but I like to parcel them out so as to guarantee you won’t overlook a one! I’ll be back with more recommendations in the near future.

I enjoy sharing bits and pieces of myself in my blog posts and look forward to each and every comment returned. But far beyond that, I truly look forward each day to “checking in” on the lives of the most interesting people! Each person I visit via reading a blog post has become a friend,  and I learn so much from each one. Thank you all for going with me into my “new decade” and contributing to my many interests. I really feel quite fortunate.

…Debra

36 thoughts on “Am I talented? Just ask a preschooler.

  1. Little Ones really do cut to the chase, don’t they? No mincing of words or hidden meanings. You asked she answered. I chuckled.

    Congrats on receiving this award, Debra. The timing is perfect for your “Me Month.” YAY! Now, I’ve got 3 blogs to check out before bed time. :)

    • I am frequently very humbled by the comments of the children, John. When I think back to my grandmothers I know I didn’t see them in their abilities or talents–I mostly have memories of shared times in the most ordinary of things, and I will always miss them. I’m glad I haven’t turned you away with the “All About Me”–it’s rather out of character for me and I think I may have turned something on! I hope you will find the other blogs intriguing. Each is different, and they all appeal to me very much! Have a wonderful day! Debra

  2. I just love your granddaughter, Debra. Such insight in one so young! :-) Ask her next week and you may get a completely different but equally perceptive answer.

    Thank you SO much for thinking of me when you were deservedly given the Kreativ Blogger award. Gosh, i’m really going to have to think hard about this. Seven interesting things, eh….?

    • I wanted my other friends to “know” you, Perpetua! I am sorry that time zones got away from me and you didn’t get a proper announcement from me! I’ve left you a few more thoughts on your blog! I hope it gets to you…I don’t think my last comment was posted. Sometimes I seem to have technical problems :-) Blessings on your day, or night…or wherever this finds you :-) Debra

      • Debra, just to reassure you that your comment on my last post (the bird one) did get through, though it was posted as breathelighter, rather than Debra. No problem about not having let me know. You went to bed very late and I woke up very early, probably before you’d even gone to bed. I’m 7 hours ahead of you at the moment and it will be 8 hrs once our summertime starts at the end of March. :-)

  3. How beautiful that you can play piano by ear! A wonderful gift! My grandfather also could just pick up a piece by listening, and I’ve always got to have the printed music in front of me… But I’m sure any preschooler who considers dishwashing a special talent is a thankful and contented girl, and for sure, she is a blessing!

    • You are right, Natalie…my two granddaughters are my biggest blessings! Always! And the simplest of things does delight them. I hope we can keep that alive in them a long, long time! I’m not sure where I got my ability to play by ear, but I think Karina, the not-yet-three year old is very musical, and I’m wondering if we’ll see the playing by ear come through her. I played by ear so easily that I could fool my piano teacher. I’d have her play something first and then I could mimic pretty well…I actualy think this weakened my ease with reading music. The main thing is that it’s rich to just have a keen enjoyment of music, whether listening or playing! I hope you have a blessed day today, Natalie! Debra

  4. First of all, CONGRATULATIONS on the Kreativ Blogger award; well placed in the hands of Breatlighter and I’m anxious to read your nominees (well, accept for Perpetua who I already read with great appreciation). What a birthday month you are having.

    Out of the mouths of babes. You will surely smile, often, whilst washing dishes.

    • I am having fun with this, Penny. I do hope you’ll enjoy the other blogs as I do. I “found” Perpetua from your site, actually. I know we both really appreciate what she writes about, and the fun is finding so much commonality in thought and even experiences sometimes, yet such a totally different landscape! I’d like to experience hers, but I’m not sure she’d like a thing about Southern California. LOL! I did laugh at the washing dishes comment…so often after we have the family gatherings I am indeed “stuck” in the kitchen. I may need to think about what message I’m giving! LOL! I hope you have a wonderful day! Debra

    • I’m very glad to have had the opportunity to share your blog with my fellow readers, Frank. You have such a vast number of interests and are so personable, I know they’ll be interested in coming back! Thank you for the link to your previous post, too. I often think I’d like to take the time to go back and read from the previous posts of those I enjoy…alas, that’s a hard one, isn’t it! I hope you have a wonderfully “creative” day! Debra

  5. Dear Debra,
    Congratulations on the award. It is so well deserved for your blog introduces all of your readers not only to you in your birthday month but to the vast number of interests you have. I find myself always learning new things from you.

    Peace.

    • Thank you so much, Dee. It’s been fun to share even the smallest of personal stories. It is nice for me to realize how comfortable with sharing I’ve become over the last year. When I first started out I wouldn’t have expected that to be true. You are a wonderful blogging friend, Dee. Peace to you, also! Debra

  6. Many felicitations on your award, Debra!! Well deserved.

    I sing and played the piano competitively for years, though I don’t know how well I do either anymore. Some people tell me I have a talent for listening and pulling out the nuggets of truth in what the other person is saying. I think I talk too much.

    It is nice to have talents or to feel talented. I guess I’m too hard on myself. I seldom feel talented. I always see something I could do better or differently.

    • I understand what you’re describing, Andra, and I have spent many years thinking very similarly. You are multi-talented and I encourage you to listen more carefully to the positive feedback, and minimize anything that comes back to you that doesn’t intuitively seem true! If I could do-over my thirties and forties, that is precisely where I’d concentrate! Don’t wait until you’re 60 to appreciate yourself! Is that preachy enough for you! LOL! I just think you’re great. I’d listen to me :-) Debra

  7. Congratulations (very well deserved) and thanks for sharing your award with me (especially during your birthday month!). I love the things that come out of children. They are honest as they see it. I remember my young niece telling me my house stank one day as I cooked cabbage. She is in her 30s now and we still laugh about it.

    • That’s so funny, Kate. I do laugh often, having been told I have “coffee breath” or worse :-) Funny how I never mind! I was glad to share with you…grateful, actually. It’s been hard to keep up the focus on “me” in quite this way, so sharing seemed very comfortable. I do enjoy reading your posts–always! You give me a lift, and there’s nothing better than that! Debra

    • Thank you, Elizabeth. I always appreciate how positive you are in responding and showing interest. No, I didn’t make the cupcake, and in fact, it didn’t occur to me that the picture might be misinterpreted as of my own creation. I hope all my friends are just as impressed as you were. LOL! I do aspire to be a better baker, but somehow I don’t think I’ll ever have the time for much :-) Debra

  8. We do what we want to do and can develop talents by making efforts. You know this because you persevered at playing the piano until you could play. I’m sure you could master Pictionary if it became important to you. There is no need to do everything, just the things that call to you and the things that you need to do. Happy Birthday Month!

    • You are right, of course, Sharyn. I think there is a time in life to let go of a lot of “I coulds” and just concentrate on the things that bring pleasure and feel satisfying. Although I’m not sure I could really summon up much in the way of Pictionary prowess! I may have exaggerated the humiliation part, but I didn’t exaggerate my inability! The good thing, though? I can sure make people laugh when I draw :-) Thank you so much for your wise thoughts. They are that! Debra

  9. Congrats on a well-deserved award! And I love your granddaughter’s idea of your talent. I’m fairly certain my son said the same thing of my mom. LOL. ;)

    • Thank you, Kristy. I’m so glad you frequently stop by! That is so funny if your son said that of his grandma! I think we provide the gathering place for families, and with it comes a lot of cooking and washing up afterwards! LOL! I think I’m happy to be associated with the kitchen. Probably better than a lot of other places I frequently clean, right? :-) Debra

  10. Congratulations on the award Debra. I am honored that you chose to pass it on to me. An award given by my peers means so much more to me than anything else I could’ve achieved.. Muchas gracias.

    Dishwasher eh? oh lord I’m still laughing … Many thanks to Sophia. I came home from work feeling really blah and there’s nothing as energizing as a good laugh :-)

    I’m always jealous of people who can just sit down at the piano and play… Am I allowed to say that?

    • I enjoy reading of your adventures, Rosie, so you are most deserving. I’m glad my little Sophia could just lift a bit of weariness from the day. The girls do that for me so often! I used to teach beginning piano to adults, too, and it was always surprising to me how many people had wanted to play the piano for years before they finally took lessons. That might be a relaxing pastime for you to think about one day! I have a secret desire to learn to play bagpipes. Really! Some day I will! :-) Debra

  11. I loved the washing dishes comment ….very cute! I was interested to learn that you play the piano. Hopefully you will tell us more sometime! Congratulations on the award!

    • Oh, Jayme! You’re too kind…I’m not so sure about the charisma! As to being a force…ha! Perhaps! And sometimes I do see myself and wonder about taming that force. Do you think it’s too late? :-) Debra

    • Oh, thank you so much! If anyone other than my granddaughters pigeon-holed me in a dishwashing role I’d more than likely be offended, and yet when I break it down, my duties directly correspond to being hospitable. We often remark that we are running an unofficial “bed and breakfast”–so maybe dishwashing is a gift I can give! Hmmm. I’ll have to think about that! Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by. It is appreciated :-) Debra

  12. Pingback: Homepage

  13. Pingback: Excuse me, have you said thank you? | Wondering Rose

I always enjoy hearing from you!

