Belated Saturday Paws–I’ve been busy with some new connections!

You may have been wondering what Ruffles and Mae-be Baby have been up to.

Just chillin'

Tug the flip flop!

I am sorry to have been off-the-blog (my own term) while attempting to “go wireless” in my mountain area home. Not so easy I’ve discovered! Several years ago I decided to give up my home TV set-up with exceptions only to include selected Videos and DVDs. I have my radio for news and music, plus a collection of CDs and even LPs that would impress many. I simply found the commercials and cable prices offensive! So, I cancelled all the hard-wire potential– often in Altadena the cable TV access was still fuzzy and limited anyway! I also gave up the home computer for a while. My jobs kept me more than busy, and I had Internet at work which was more than enough.

But then two years ago, after my devastating car accident, I came to understand what a help home access to a computer could be.  While recovering at my friend’s home I appreciated using her computer and I realized the benefit of connecting to my work sites and clients, used e-mail communication with my insurance company and attorney, and discovered the time savings of on-line searching for a replacement for my crunched-up car–what the Jaws-of-life do to a vehicle is not pretty! 

On top of my physical injuries, I also lost my older rescued Boxer, Buster Brown. The computer provided a safe grieving spot.  As I looked at the new to me furry faces, I cried because my recovery had taken me away when Buster passed. Dear friends and neighbors took care of his remains for me and then respectfully kept the news from me so I could have my birthday without that knowledge, but I felt something was amiss when I called to ask how my boy Buster and Mae-be were doing. I guess even a Doggy Mommy knows in her heart.

It is amazing to me how many animal rescue sites are available on the web! And various Humane Societies have some really nice E-zines with very helpful information. This was especially good for me since my legs were immobilized, my car no longer drivable, and I had days of pain and shock to just get through. But, once again, the computer helped me to search for a new furry family member.

Surfing the web also meant surfing through some of the worst pain, panic, and fear in the isolation of those first days and nights during my recovery period. Add to the situation that the rain that winter was really something!  But I could still escape while enjoying computer images of sunny “more hopeful” places and warm environments everywhere. And most of all, I could anticipate a possible new rescue!

So, two years later it’s birthday time again, and here I am going “WIFI”—Yup!  I’m trying a wireless connection for my laptop. It’s still been a challenge synching everything and getting it all to run smoothly, but I am writing to you right now on it and what a wonder this is! Maybe one CAN heal from sad passings, broken bones and bruised brains, and start new beginnings with a new-to-us furry family member!

Mae-be and CoCo Puff! Two BIG dogs! Ha!

(We’ve been a doggy day-care recently, with CoCo Puff visiting.  You can’t tell him he isn’t a big dog!!)

If you know someone who is going through some tough times and might be feeling disconnected and isolated, perhaps you can help them with the steps to go WIFI, too. Remember that often someone recovering from illness or injury may not have the capacity to do this for themselves and could use a little helpful assistance! Remaining connected to others and to the outside world aids healing and often provides an important  distraction from pain—And the Internet is accessible at any hour of day or night!  I now think it is very much worth the investment!

Goodbye for now!

Blessings, Beth & the Girls

28 thoughts on “Belated Saturday Paws–I’ve been busy with some new connections!

    • You are so kind Marissa (and I love your photo!). I am not the type of person who can say “Oh goody- I went through something awful but I am better because of it”. Yet, I do see myself really more in tune with my life and making more healthy choices! The Mindfulness breathing has really been a help also- and I’m glad I already knew about it. Yes to more happiness & joy! Like today! Beth <3 <3

  1. So true! I haven’t gone through what you have but am housebound due to health issues. and I would be lost without my son and DIL keeping me online. It has made all the difference when I am home almost 24/7 and I couldn’t have done it myself. Wonderful post! :)

    Love the pictures of your furbabies! ;)

    • Oh thank you Rita!! There is something about knowing that you are out-there right now for me and my furbabies!! And the smiles this connection brings makes this moment good! Blessings to you and your son! The girls really wag their tails when I tell them someone likes their photos!! Beth & the girls

  2. Pingback: Belated Saturday Paws–I've been busy with some new connections … | Make Money From Home

  3. I can so sympathize, Debra, having gone through a bad patch myself a few years ago, including the loss of a pet while I was in hospital. That Summer, had it not been for some close friends, I do not know how I would have managed. That was then, however, and today things are vastly different. As they say, that which does not kill me makes me stronger. You may call me Superman and I’ll call you Wonder Woman. :)

    • Hi John! Beth here– thank you for sharing about being in the hospital when your pet crossed-over. That is so very hard- and yes, Thank goodness for those friends! You are a SuperMan and I am sure that if you wish to call Debra, or me, a Wonder Woman from the strong soul surviver that you are- we will take the compliment!! Stay strong and talk with you soon! Beth and the Furry Girls :-)

      • Sorry Beth, for my confusion. My insomnia claims another victim. I should just drop the names and revert to “You there”, “Dude”, “Dear”, and the ever-popular “Hey!” Names are this Superman’s kryptonite, to be sure.

  4. Glad to hear that you are healing from all of your trauma and loss. Kind of you to think of others. The internet can indeed be a valuable place of connection for many of us — especially for introverts who like to write.

    • Thank you- in the world of positive healing they say one must claim and pro-claim the wishes and dreams we have–like a complete healing! It is so good to connect with others- through the words, photos and images, music and cartoons– and that extra sense of ‘reach out and touch someone’ ESPECIALLY when we are introverts or shy. I don’t know if I have mentioned this Sharyn- but Mae-be is shy and Ruffles the extrovert!! Funny, huh? Have a blessed day! Beth

  5. WoW Debra! What a long road to recovery you have taken and thank God you are doing better. Yes, the internet is a blessing in more ways than we know, and while it has its downside, many of us depend on it for access to the rest of the world… Welcome home to your connections and furry pets. Beautiful post. :-)

    • Hi and how sweet of you to connect with us. Just so that others won’t think Debra was in a car crash– it was me, Beth – the ‘co-blogger’ but I thank you and take healing from your kind words! Yes- I did experience God that strange night and always since! It is a surprise to me how many positives there were and are to be found via the internet! At Home now it is a plus! Blessings from Beth & the furry girls-ha!

    • Thank you Kate!! And you can see how totally shy they are of the camera-right? hee hee It is so fun to share their joys and activities with you! <3 and lots of :-)s Beth & the Girls (plus one visitor!)

  6. This was a post coming from the bottom of the heart. I am sorry for the loss of Buster Brown – and think at the same time it’s nice to have friends who care enough to respectfully take care of love one’s remains. I don’t think we ever get over the loss of someone close, but we come to a peaceful term with the unavoidable. They will still always be with us in our hearts. By the way I stopped watching TV long time ago – but couldn’t do without a computer…

    • So good to hear that someone else gave up the TV! People sometimes look at me as if I am from another planet when they hear no TV! The computer is really something though. Like right now I am leaning in bed and writing you- amazing! Thank you, Otto, for sensing how much Buster Brown meant- and is missed! He was such a sweetheart- and I remember his smile. ;-)

  7. Dear Beth,
    Thank you for sharing your story of loss–of Buster Brown and of your own. And also for leading us through your journey back to a fulfilling life. We all need, at some time in our life, trailblazers like you to help us regain our equilibrium. Thank you for reminding me of this.

    Peace.

  8. Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry to hear about all you’ve gone through. How awful! I think you’re right about staying connected and distracted – it’s an important tool in healing and the internet is a great source for that. I hope things stay on a positive track for you from now on! :)

    PS- The pups are all so cute!

    • Thank you so much! And yes ,-I learned so many things from that event- and have so many new healers on ‘my’ team-that I must say life is very positive! Your raisingdaisy is just so sweet also! What a face! Blessings, Beth

  9. I’m sorry to read that you are facing some trying times. As for cutting the TV cord (so to speak), I can totally empathize with you there. We did it for the first two years of our daughters’ lives, to reduce their exposure to commercials. It’s amazing how much entertainment you can find on the internet, as well as information and connections. If you have a webcam, you could also consider using Skype or some other web chat program to keep up with distant friends (that’s how my parents and siblings talk to my girls). It’s fun, and you can make it feel like they are right next to you (make it interesting, ex. eat breakfast “together” on the web cam).

    • Oh that sounds like a fun idea! My friend’s daughter who is away at college does that and instead of speaker phone we have a Skype group conversation. It can be very fun and lively -and no one feels left out! Even their cats walk through-ha ha! I think your ‘cutting the cord’ could be the rally call ! :-)

  10. Pingback: 02/04/2012 Photo of the Day | ♥ Project 365 ♥ Challenge ♥

I always enjoy hearing from you!

