The Rose Parade on the 2nd? No, It just doesn’t feel right.

English: Image of a float in the 1922 Tourname...

Image via Wikipedia

Jay frequently refers to us as a couple of fireballs! Yep! That’s us.  Our big New Year’s Eve revelry included a late afternoon matinée.  War Horse is a quality movie and I highly recommend it. It wasn’t a particularly festive movie, however.  Jay also frequently compliments that I’m a cheap date. That’s also true.  We returned home from our afternoon movie to an evening of Pad Thai and Netflix.  It works for me!

And as I post, most of the world, including New York City and Chicago, has already rung in the New Year. Denver is about to cross-over and California still has more than an hour of 2011 left to count down. But here’s the thing.  It doesn’t FEEL like New Year’s Eve.  You see, we live a stones throw from the Rose Parade route, but the typical buzz of activity we always anticipate is noticeably subdued to downright non-existent. For the 18th time in Pasadena history the Rose Parade is pushed to Monday. More than 100 years ago, when horses pulled the floats, it was feared that churchgoers would be disturbed by tethered horses and the “Never on Sunday” rule was put permanently into place.

Despite the change in schedules, we still kept a few traditions of our own. On Friday we took Sophia and Karina to see some local float decorating, but we failed to factor in the delay and the project was barely underway.  Then today we drove down the parade route and with the exception of scaffolding and bleachers the streets were oddly absent the tents, portable grills and street campers holding spots for the parade.  Parade watchers aren’t even allowed to being gathering until sometime on the 1st.

Nope! It just doesn’t feel right.

No flowers yet! But lots of grass.

Volunteers were slowly gathering on Friday to apply flowers, seeds and grass to the Sierra Madre Float.  The progress was barely underway making it a rather abstract visual experience for the girls.  A picture would have to do!

It is hard to believe that by Monday morning’s parade the float will have 10,000 Chrysanthemums, 10,000 Carnations, 10,000 Roses as well as Iris, Gerbera Daisies, Germinis, Liatris, and Bells of Ireland. The Sierra Madre Rose Float Association dubbed the float a rolling flower box!

And then today’s view of the parade route was significantly lackluster.

Just an ordinary Pasadena day! I missed the waving out-of-town campers.  No, it couldn’t be New Year’s Eve!

Holliston Ave Methodist Church

Sunday worshippers won’t have horses to contend with, but I wonder how they like the portable “facilities.”

Everything is ready and in place.  Now sometime tomorrow, the 1st, people will begin to congregate for January 2nd revelry.  It just doesn’t feel right!

But warmest wishes for a Happy New Year…even if I don’t celebrate much before Monday! Debra

22 thoughts on “The Rose Parade on the 2nd? No, It just doesn’t feel right.

  1. I spent many years staying overnight on the parade route saving places for our out of State relatives wanting a close view of the parade, always in front of the cameras so that we had the bands playing and the best of the best. Before they put so many restrictions in place I did camp over the weekend for a Monday parade and it was usually cold. Now I enjoy watching from home in the warm comforts with clean bathrooms and cocoa. Happy New Year friend!

    • You are so right, Pam. I don’t have it in me to brave either the night cold or the crazy crowd…but I suppose if Aimee and family decide to go sometime in the future I’ll want to participate. Happy New Year to you my dear friend. oxo Debra

  2. I love watching the Rose parade, so it is really interesting so see how it unfolds from your point of view. And thanks for mentioning that the parade will be tomorrow, too. Great post, and Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year to you, too, Meg. With your very impressive travel schedule maybe you can put Pasadena on your list someday. It is a phenomenon of sorts! It was fun to share our local perspective. I didn’t even think about how particular my point of view was until I called a friend on the east coast and in speaking to her about how it didn’t feel like the 1st I realized she wasn’t really understanding. I guess I thought everyone was feeling the same. Isn’t that silly! My best to you, and I look forward to more vicarious traveling with you ;-) Debra

  3. I don’t think I could ever adjust to having weather that nice on New Year’s Day. Oh! Who am I kidding? Yeah, I would! Although the view might not be the best, having worked along a parade route, those port-a-potties may keep people from using the church’s facilities during the parade.

    • You know, John, I always say that our weather is God’s compensation to us for putting up with California–politics, tinsel town, and horrendous congestion. But we do have weather!! :-) Happy New Year to you and yours, and I’m looking forward to more glimpses into your wonderfully expansive family. Debra

    • I think your children would enjoy the parade, Kate. More than a million people come to Pasadena each year and line the route–it does make it a little crazy! And of course, all of this is prologue to the big Rose Bowl football game. That’s where I bow out…make a nice go to the movies day for me :-) Happy New Year to you and your dear family. Debra

  4. Happy New Year, Debra, et al. While I don’t live as close to the parade route as you but travel the freeways through Pasadena, I am all too familiar with the potential parade/bowl game traffic influx around the area. I’m glad you and JJ “fireball” your way into the New Year with the gusto I know you both possess in your traditional fashion. The photos you post of the “andy-gumps” remind me that the last time I was actually at the parade in my college days and stayed overnight on the street, those facilities were not available. The parade organizers have greatly improved much of the essentials, even though the magic and spectacle still draw me back…well, at least to the television and comforts of home on parade day. Happy New Year today and on to the parade tomorrow! Ellen

    • Do I want to know how you handled the loo without the portables? LOL! It is a spectacle, all right. I think we now are waiting to see what the “Occupiers” may introduce. Good year to watch from the comforts of home!! :-) D

  5. Really did miss the parade this morning. Getting up on New Year’s Day and watching the parade was a must do in our household. Even when the girls got older, I would force them out of bed turn on the TV, fix cinnamon rolls and hot chocolate and we would sit around in our PJs until the parade was over. This year I was looking forward to sharing the tradition with Hannah (she stayed with Grandma last night) but it was not to be. No parade no cinnamon rolls, and no hot chocolate (this morning was way to hot out for that). Instead Hannah and I had a very nice tea party on the living room floor. We were joined by Princess Tiana and Boo from Monsters Inc. Such a fun time. Maybe it’s the start of a new tradition. Next year we may have to have a tea party while we watch the Rose Parade. Sounds good to me.

    Wishing you all the best of the New Year.

    • I think your tea party was the perfect way to usher in the New Year, Catherine! And what fun “invited” guests to have with your little imaginative Hannah! I wish you a very happy new year, too! It’s going to be a busy one for us all, isn’t it? Debra

  6. If it is any comfort to you, Debra, it doesn’t seem like New Year’s Day here, either. We usually watch the parade from the comforts of home, but, there is usually a foot or so of snow on the ground. Not so, this year. So it goes. I would love to see how a float is made someday, more, I think, than actually watching the parade. Our daughter was at school at Fuller for a time and I do so wish we could have gone out there for the parade, but, the timing was never right.

    Our New Year’s Eve was much like yours. I’m the midwestern “cheap date” and I’m fine with a quiet evening. Happy New Year, Debra, keep writing and encouraging us all to be better. Penny

    • Oh my goodness! I would love to know more about your daughter’s Fuller experience. When would that have been? I have “Fuller faculty friends.” The float production process is such a big deal around here that every school child has opportunities to participate. It’s one of the very few ways that we can sometimes feel like we belong to a smaller and more intimate community. I hope you do come out sometime! I’d love to meet you. So for you, absence of snow on the ground made it less like New Year’s Day. It’s funny how we grow accustomed to particular visuals to trigger the memories. From one cheap date to another…Happy New Year. :-) Debra

  7. The Governor of my Rotary district has been in your neighborhood building the Rotary float for the Rose Parade. She has been over the moon about it, and I’ve enjoyed looking at the photos of the progress.

    All the stuff happening today just doesn’t feel right to me, either. You are so right, Debra. :)

    • Is that right! Rotary has a very large presence at the Rose Parade. I’m so glad she’s enjoyed herself! I thought it was just “us” out here thinking it didn’t feel quite right, but I have heard the same thing from across the country. Isn’t that funny! I wonder if we’re all just a little reluctant to close out a year because time seems to be so accelerated. Maybe we’re trying to slow down a bit…that’s what I keep telling myself!! I’m always happy to see your name in our comments :-) Happy New Year, from whatever day we started counting it! Debra

  8. I love your pictures and especially your gravatar which always cheered me up. I hope this will be a magical year for you too! :-) ♥Happy ♥New ♥Year ♥ & TY for the blog love! :-)

  9. I love your photo’s and Happy New Years to YOU. I did not have a clue about the Rose Parade and all that. For years I did not own a TV. I also do not wish to hear bad news so I tend to stay away from the news even in 2012. I am glad I stopped by I see Eliz was here…too…she is an inspiration to all of us. Stop by anytime…~Jackie

    • I’m so glad you stopped by Jackie. I will be very interested in your site, too. And you’re so right about Elizabeth…she’s quite the “unifier” and such a dear. I certainly support anyone who can find the resolve to stay away from negative messages which seem to even find a way through the cracks! You do have to be quite vigilant to support that aim. I’ll be interested to learn more about how you do that :-) Debra

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Wishing You a Happy New Year with a Photo Year in Review. | breathelighter

  11. I simply could not leave your website prior to
    suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard information a person provide for
    your guests? Is going to be back continuously to investigate cross-check new posts

I always enjoy hearing from you!

