Six little moments that made me happy this week!

Some simple moments are just memorable. I had such a wonderfully simple day with my granddaughters Monday, and at the end of the day as I motored up the freeway from their home to mine the mid-19th century Shaker hymn Simple Gifts started ringing in my head.  ‘Tis a gift to be simple, ‘tis the gift to be free…

After opening up an avocado and finding it already had a large, strong root, we simply had to put it in a jar and start a new little plant.  Toothpicks, a jar and water…a simple science project!

How long before we have a tree?

Then off to the library!  When I was young I held the fantasy that I’d someday read every book in the library. I think I still kind of harbor that fantasy.  My grandmother always took me to the library, and while we still have books in print to enjoy, Sophia and Karina can also have the simple pleasure of unlimited discovery.

 Somewhere mid-adventure Sophia stopped and asked, “So tell me how this works again?”  She was amazed that she could take ten books home!

Then on to the park.  I have to admit that I enjoy the park experience so much more when their mommy, an emergency room nurse, is present and on duty.  If you’re familiar with the movie A Christmas Story, I’m kind of a “you’ll shoot your eye out” kind of parent/grandparent.  I apologize for this, grit my teeth, and try to let the tether out.

Then there were the natural wonders.  I couldn’t resist stopping for a picture of the fog rolling into Long Beach.  As I went over the bridges connecting San Pedro to Long Beach, the sun was setting behind me in the west, creating a compelling effect as the fog rolled in.

I decided it was worth a few minutes delay in getting home.  I drove into Long Beach just to explore! It was such an interesting micro-climate I had to experience it.  The ocean was completely invisible!

And then there was the hawk!  I am NOT a morning person, nevertheless I leave home by 6:30 a.m. to be at work by 7.  This time of year the sun isn’t even up yet.  This week I have been greeted each morning by a hawk.  I first become aware when I hear him calling out his loud, plaintive greeting and I realize that the only way to experience this special connection is to be outdoors nice and early.  It may even be worth the lack of sleep!

My final simple pleasure for now? A food item! I wanted some yogurt for lunch and walked from the office to the local grocery.  On a hunt for the yogurt I spied the largest apple I’ve ever seen.  I broke my own rules.  I try to eat organic and choose local (as local as you can get for apples…) but this beauty was irresistible.

How gorgeous is this? It’s called a Honeycrisp.  the Honeycrisp (I had to look it up) is a 1960 cross of Macoun and Honeygold–part of the University of Minnesota apple breeding program. It was delicious…

…and  huge.  I hoped this picture would lend a little perspective on its size.  After I ate it I realized that to give the best perspective I should have held it next to someone’s head! This is one BIG apple!

I’ll share more simple pleasures another time.  If you have some of your own you’d like to share, please let me know.  I’d love to feature them in a future post!

Cheers!  Debra

4 thoughts on “Six little moments that made me happy this week!

  1. This is a beautiful post and what gorgeous grandchildren you have, Debra! Spending time with children is such a great balancer(I’ve been with Al today). I do love those pictures close to the beach too: so totally alien to what I know, and surrounded by that sea fret. I learn something new every day in the world of blogging and today, it was what Long Beach looks like. Most envious of your hawk!

    • Thank you, Kate. I think by now everyone can see that my two little girls have captured my heart. Sophia turns four this weekend, and I’ve been thinking about how much my life has changed, priorities completely shifted, since her birth. I love your stories with Big Al…so I’m presuming that he, too, is going to provide some good material! It is fun sharing different parts of the world with blogging friends, isn’t it? I’m so pleased when you take the time to stop by!! Debra

  2. Oh, they are such precious little darlings those girls are. Isn’t grandparenthood sweet bliss?

    I love the honeycrisps and can’t wait to eat them up each fall. We stopped at an orchard in Wisconsin coming home from Minnesota a few weeks ago and bought a 10 pound bag of them. Sad to say, they are nearing the end. Be on the look for Sweet Tango, Debra. It is just starting to be seen and comes out of the same MN program as honeycrisps. Okay. I’ve just written myself hungry and have to go eat an apple.

    • Yes, Penny, grandparenthood is wonderful. I’ve sometimes wondered if it would be a good thing to create an entirely separate blog devoted to the grandchild/grandparent relationship, simply to avoid overdoing it when I talk about them :-) I’m so glad to hear more about the Honeycrisps as well as Sweet Tango. I have never previously seen these varieties in California, and I think perhaps if I spread the word there will be more incentive for the groceries to carry them here! How great to have some orchard time!! Have a full weekend…I’ll look forward to your posts that come from your experiences! Debra

I always enjoy hearing from you!

