Memorial Day

I recently heard a radio discussion championing the restoration of Memorial Day to its original date, May 30th, rather than the last Monday of the month and the convenience of three-day weekends.  The dialogue caught my attention because I admit I do enjoy the advantage of lengthy Memorial holidays and for many years this particular weekend has been a travel opportunity for priceless family reunions.

I carefully listened to the argument because the person speaking had the only credentials in this discussion that merited attention. As a veteran, his concern was that the original intention of the holiday had shifted to some kind of season opener to summer activity. Although I gratefully acknowledge the sacrifice of men and women who have lost their lives defending our nation, I certainly know that I do not carry the same level of awareness as those who have experienced active military duty. And that goes for their families, too. I recently learned that a good friend of mine is awake long into the night, unable to restore restful sleep patterns now that her son is home from Iraq.  During his lengthy deployment she couldn’t sleep knowing he was in continual danger.  He returned without injury, but the pattern of fear  left anxieties that continue to interrupt her sleep. I wonder if that is a forever change.

I am going to think a little more about the veteran’s request that we petition elected officials to return the Memorial Day observance to its original date, but while I wait for that potential change, I can be a little more mindful, and a lot more grateful. Although there have been members of my family who have served in military conflict, they have returned home. I want to honor those who did not.

CNN featured the story of a young man, I believe still in high school, who started Project Preserveand Honor, “A virtual place for loved ones and friends to both locate the graves of the fallen, and reflect on the memory of their sacrifice.”   I’ve been reading the biographies of some of the young men and women who recently lost their lives in service, and offering up a prayer for those they left behind.

It’s kind of nice that this year Memorial Day is actually being celebrated on the 30th.
I really should be more continually aware of the sacrifices others have made in contribution of national defense, but I admit I am not.  Certainly they deserve specific attention and honor one day a year.

…Debra

One thought on “Memorial Day

  1. Wow!! That is the first and only word that comes to mind. I have always attempted to shake the hand of someone I meet that I know has served, or is serving in the military, but I have never thought of the sacrifice and the consequences to their service in quite this way. Truthfullly, I have never really thought of those that are left when these young men and women put their lives on the line 24/7. It is time we see all sides. Prayers to not only the soldiers, but the families.

I always enjoy hearing from you!

