A New Way to Think About Eating

My almost two-year-old granddaughter has a marvelous way of letting us know when she isn’t receptive to the corrective messages coming her way:  shut the eyes and plug the ears.  I think it’s very practical, and quite cute.  Sometimes I have the same urge to tune out information, even well researched data provided to give me options supporting better health and overall well-being.  New frameworks can be not only confusing as I replace previous research (who are we supposed to believe?) but then, shifting from old habits to new patterns of behavior.

I am not sure that I am happy to have been introduced to the work of Michael Pollan, (Food Rules, The Omnivore’s Dilemma), and the book that changed everything I previously thought about our food supply, In Defense of Food,  I like to think that I have become a MP fan, but not fanatic, still I find myself frequently referencing his work in conversation with friends who may not be all that interested in hearing what I think about their personal food supply.  There really is a lot to think about…or you can shut your eyes and plug your ears.  I admit that sometimes that is a reasonable response!

If you have the energy to critically examine what you know or think you know about making better food choices supporting optimum well-being, I recommend reading Michael Pollan.  Word of encouragement to all meat eating friends, MP is not a vegetarian!  The book review I’ve posted is three years old, but I greatly admire the way the contents are succinctly summarized.  The link to Pollan’s website is worth perusing, and perhaps linking to for daily challenges.  http://michaelpollan.com 

…Debra

Reviews of In Defense of Food

A New Way to Think About Eating

The New York Review of Books, March 20, 2008

The subject of Michael Pollan’s fine new book, “In Defense of Food,” is the technological abyss toward which humankind with its tacit consent is being driven by the industrialized American diet. Pollan’s critique of the American food industry and the plague of obesity, diabetes, coronary disease, cancer, and untimely death for which it is largely responsible is comparable to the work of Rachel Carson as a contribution to the history of human self-destruction, for the food fabricators could not have done their work without our complicity any more than the environmental polluters could have done theirs. One might go so far as to say that these calamities are themselves the outcome of a species failure, an evolutionary maladjustment of the human brain implicit in the triumph of ingenuity over wisdom.

One thought on “A New Way to Think About Eating

I always enjoy hearing from you!

